We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflict of Emotions”
Review of True Love Cafe

True Love Cafe
Ranked #12 of 136 Quick Bites in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
Neighbourhood: Phaya Thai
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Phaya Thai
Reviewed 22 August 2016

While it is fun and lovely to see and be with so many huskies at one place, it was disturbing to learn that the dogs are actually imported from overseas for the purpose of the cafe.
I would be more ok if they were rescued dogs or something like that but there cant be so many of them.

the cakes and drinks were not too bad, try the ice cream cakes, perfect for a hot day.
Probably will not be back to visit again.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank fongcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 188 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It's a fresh idea to have dessert drinks and a meal while seeing cute furry huskies roam the area.

Huskies are all well groomed and friendly and a great fun to interact with.

The establishment still needs to fine tune their customer service though.

There are specific "show" times, and guests are not allowed into the cafe outside of these show times, which is not made explicitly clear.

Therefore, it's advisable to be there around 30 mins before the show time, as tickets around THB$350 for a drink and commercialised dessert cakes are sold. Being there anytime before that meant that you have to loiter in the car park of the cafe as the establishment is located in the heart of a residential area with no shops or Malls nearby. It's advisable to take a cab from where ever you are to this place as its quite deep inside the residential area.

Everything else is spiffy including the general staff who are nice warm and friendly. Except for probably the male owner who seemed to exude a certain aura of arrogance and had a "you owe me money" face, this seem to be contagious amongst select workers not all.

Basically a place worth visiting if you're into huskies, but definitely a miss if you ain't an animal lover, because bad vibes, mediocre food as well as the stench of animal excrements isn't going to be easy to "swallow".

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank derekang1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I prefer to BTS over Ari station, then catch a TukTuk into a smaller alley. Bear in mind to pay roughly Thb50, not higher range. As I not having lunch over there, i choose a tea time to arrive there at 3.30pm slot as dogs time is 4-5pm. Register & payment first of Thb350+. Set of ice cream cake & a drink. We relax around & taking pics of the cafe, can buy their plush husky if interested. They will pass us sanitary footwear prior before the play time & clean hands in order for interaction with huskies. Its was so exciting seeing so many huskies at a time & got 3 area to interact with diff group of dogs. Its a gd time to bomb pics with them especially they got ice time to eat given by the staffs. The female boss is friendly & passionate! Lastly she want us to standby in a row to get ready on video to film them speedy run back to their home for meals. We feel really happy throughout! To end, staff will help patrons to call for tuktuks to go back short distance to main road. If prefer go other location better call for Grab taxis. Its quite hard to wait for cars.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ekinling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This establishment is the pinnacle of a dog lovers dream! I second another reviewers suggestion of taking uber or grab as it is in a secluded area.

For 350 baht you recieve 1 cold beverage or soft drink or water and a cake (either cheesecake or ice cream cake). I had the apple tea as well as cookies and cream ice cream cake as recommended by the staff and really enjoyed them.

There are ALOT of dogs to interact with after you watch a 5 minute informational video advising of the dos and don'ts of interacting with the huskies (don't get in their face, no outside food etc).

The dogs themselves seem a bit jaded towards the guests, but this doesn't really hamper the experience. They dont really play, but you can get some awesome
petting and cuddles in.

One thing that we were concerned about is that some of the dogs appear to be de-barked as only a raspy woof came out when they tried to bark.

Overall a fun experience if you have an afternoon to spare in Bangkok.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The travelling there can be difficult because it is located at a secluded area. the best way to get there will probably through Grab or Uber. Upon reaching you will have to register first before going into the cafe . we went for the 3.30 time slot which means you can play with the dogs from 4-5pm. the food is just ok but i don't think if you're there you're really there for the food.

the dogs will keep moving around at first but then will slowly tire and lie on the floor and thats when you'll be able to take photos or videos. don't expect them to be attracted by your calls as they will pretty much ignore you. they don't bite and are really tamed

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed True Love Cafe also viewed

 

Been to True Love Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.