We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for budget travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Erawan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erawan House
Ranked #313 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for budget travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed there on two occasions and it did meet my expectations both times. Inexpensive, good services, AC worked, bathroom was very clean, two water bottles and clean towels everyday. The staff was very friendly, they helped us with a map of the city and made of us aware of various means of travels to prevent us from being fleeced.

Also, one important thing, I kept my luggage with them for a week while traveling away and it was safe, just as i had left it. I had a few stuff in the outer pocket without being locked and it was as I had left it. :). This, trust me, might not surprise many but I stayed at Rambuttri Village Plaza, just around Erawan and they had boards all over the hotel stating "Do not leave your valuables in the room! " Really!!?? Erawan really saved me! Thanks.

The location is amazing coz its a 5 min walk from Khao San and I found this alley a better location than Khao San itself.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    215
    118
    28
    12
See reviews for
36
190
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just stayed at Erawan house and loved it. Its location was perfect, staff was great, and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhdevaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place met both of those needs very well.

The whole place was spotlessly clean. The room was not large but had plenty of space including some benches and a mini wardrobe with hangers. They also provide waters and soaps. The AC unit was good, but the power is all shut off when you take your key out of the room (out of the key holder).

The staff was friendly. The location was great. It is near Khao San Road but not too close. It is actually on an alley connecting the main drive-able street to the extension of Khao San Road. The 'extension' section of KSR was (in my opinion) better than KSR itself. We enjoyed our stay here very much, but we found cheaper down the street (more simplistic room but prefer to pay less).

One annoying thing is that you have to walk through a tailor shop and travel agent to get to the hotel. They never stop asking if you want a suit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Part of me wants to keep this place to myself, as I still want it to be affordable and available on my next visit! But in any case, let me give credit where credit is due. I just returned from my latest visit to Thailand and my Bangkok base - home away from home - Khaosan Road area - where I have been close to 10 times.

A bit about what I am looking for: I am no longer at the Hostel staying level, but still in the budget/backpacker level. I prefer to stay in the thirteen to twenty dollars a night range. Erawan House in May fit the bill with all of my reservations done through Agoda and Paypal but you can reserve directly with the hotel and pay in Thai Baht.

Even in the Budget traveler mode i look for a good value with the following amenities if possible: 24 hour hot water, Air Con, TV with at least CNN or BBC in English, WIFI either in rooms or lobby, quiet rooms/no drama, good secure location and clean room with proper toiletries and room cleaning. That's a tall order for under twenty dollars US!! But if you do your research you can get close!

The good news is The Erawan House met most of these requirements! With a BIG PLUS - They were pleasant, courteous and conversant in English! Now you might think that's a small thing, but in the Khaosan Road area the norm these days is surly treatment by staff who show little concern or knowledge about customer service.

Now the rooms are small, simple and clean (the walls could use a cleaning or painting), they have air con, screened windows, a good size TV with with a few channels in English and French etc., toiletries (TP, soap, shampoo, and complimentary bottled water(2!) and dead bolt lock on the door with a night latch, and some communal seating areas on the floors.

You can communicate with the front desk staff, who were very impressive for their proactive concern (More than once I was asked if I needed more water, TP, towels etc. WOW!

Now the location is about a 7 minute walk from Khaosan Rd, off of Rambuttri Rd, across from the Wild Orchid guest house and restaurant, Everything you need is right there. Many eateries, food carts, 2 - mini 7/11 stores etc. and as all guesthouses do there, there is a travel "agent" in the entrance along with the obligatory custom suit maker (I did not use either of their services).

I did use the laundry service - for the reasonable a typical rate of 35 Baht per kilo (aprox. 1 dollar) and their "Left Luggage" area for ten Baht)

Bottom line: I recommend it as a great value for the price! Enjoy your trip to Thailand, it is simply one of the best countries to travel to on a budget! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I find it helpful to always ask in writing for a room on a higher floor, towards the rear of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medschoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Room and bathroom are clean. Staff is helpful, and free wi-fi also in the room. It's just a stone away from Khao San Road, and ten minutes walk to Chao Praya Pier. Good choice for backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here to be able to go to Ayutthaya. The rooms are small but clean. Nothing luxurious for a budget hostel. The location is near khaosan road where tourist from around the world rubs elbows. Convenient stores, restos, markets, travel agencies and spas are just around the corner. Coffee is open for all 24/7. Recommended for people who loves the night life, bars, beers and the likes. I do not recommend this for people travelling with little children. Beware and double research about the travel agencies because they might rip you off. Overall, not bad for a budget hostel.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for rooms at a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

There are a lot of choices in the Khao San Road area and I spent a lot of time checking them out because I come to Bangkok often. This one is not anything particularly special but it's clean, not too pricey, wifi in the room, and the staff are OK. If I'm in town for only a night or two and I want to be in the KSR area, I stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#196 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#319 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#295 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#538 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erawan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erawan House

Property: Erawan House
Address: 17 / 1-2 Chanasongkhram Phra-artid Rd | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erawan House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erawan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erawan House Hotel Bangkok
Erawan Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing