We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for airport and Eastern bus terminal”
Review of HI-Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Sukhumvit
Ranked #207 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good option for airport and Eastern bus terminal”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Nice enough hostel, only about 250 bht taxi ride from airport (inc premium), assuming the traffic isn't too bad. Also 1 min walk from sky train. Additionally only a 10 min walk to Eastern bus station for connections to Koh Chang and other destinations. The flipside of this - it's pretty far from the major sites. Even the taxi drivers were raising an eyebrow when I gave the hotel address. However, just ask to be taken to the nearest sky train station instead... it's much quicker anyway.

About the hostel... friendly communal areas, roof garden and mini garden area out front. A sociable place. People were singing and partying up on the roof garden until pretty late whilst I was there. Be warned: the private rooms are just underneath the roof garden, if you're a light sleeper. However, the place was pretty quiet by about 1 - 2am and the hostel's on a quiet street too, so lots of sleep still to be had.

The rooms were small, basic, clean. Although the bedding was pretty smelly, unfortunately. Free daily water, towels, toilet roll and soap come with the room. Free wifi is also meant to be available, although I couldn't get the room wifi signal. However, there's a general wifi account which worked fine in the ground floor communal area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    72
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
42
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed there, and don't regret it. One of best places I stayed. If you want to chill out they have a very nice rooftop with chairs etc., just be careful with mosquitoes during day (don’t know why at night they gone). It’s also great place to chat, and meet people. Single room was small but ok just for go to sleep and keep your stuff safely. Breakfast was simple (toasts, jams, coffe, tea, milk). They have book exchange, free internet (wifi in rooms, computers downstairs), washing machines for 40/60 thb and a lot place to dry laundry. Really good place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed there only 1 night.

The location is great near BTS and there're many wonderful food vendors at the beginning of the alley. I tried the famous Pat-Thai stall, very nice.

The dorm bed room seem old and the smell should be improved. A mattress is quite thin and seem old as well.

But i like the bathroom there very much. Very functional & clean.

The staff are also quite nice but I think most of them can't speak English.

The common area at the roof top is beautiful, mus be nice to hang out there.

Though, there're many rooms fill with people. It's very quite at night, people tends to sleep early or they just went out.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pariyesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We've been in a private double room for 2 nights. It's a pretty nice place, I've enjoyed it. The location is a bit far from everything, but it's right next to the skytrain, so that's not too big of a deal for us yet. And every evening, there are lots of food stalls outside, so there's never a shortage of delicious/cheap places to eat.

The hostel has lots of amenities - it's safe, the staff are super helpful and give lots of good advice. You get free wifi in the room, but beware that it gets turned off from about 1am to 7am. You've got a washing machine, a kitchen, and a book exchange. Also a rooftop patio apparently, but we haven't been up there yet.

Our room is nice - cozy, spacious, quiet and clean. I don't know what the dorms are like, but I've heard they're pretty nice. My only complaint is that our bed is kind of lumpy/springy, but it's still pretty comfy, so no big deal. You also get a free bottle of water every day, which is nice. They also have a strict policy against sex tourists, which is good. One thing to keep in mind is that there is no elevator, so try not to get a room on the 4th floor!

The farther your room is from the stairs, the quieter it will probably be.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I stayed in double/triple room, bathroom inclusive, balcony :)

very simple breakfast but you can grab mango+sticky rice+coconut milk from nearby stores
nice staff (but rather distanced, they do their job well but are not interested in being super extra friendly and outgoing - that is a pity, especially for solo travelers :( I believe that is expected from hostel staff - make the guest feel unique, a bit, at least) Nice room, clean (!) quiet, luggage room, lots of info for tourists provided, GREAT patio on the roof, AC working very efficiently, I would definitely stay again and force the staff members to really talk to their guest :PPP

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this hostel and we think it was good. There were 4 of us and we paid 1,400 baht for a 4 person room (350 baht per person). This is a place for those who like quiet environment and not for party. The room is big, sunny and with A/c. NO TV in the room and shared bath room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earnslaw-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

If you look for a backpacker's place in BKK and yet you want serenity, this place is for you. I love the bottomless coffee or tea. The wi-fi is too fast and available in all rooms. There's a viewing deck at rooftop where you can breathe fresh air and watch the city lights in the evening. It's clean and the staffs are accommodating. Room rates are fair and there's a dorm type accommodation too with aircon. Try to check www.hisukhumvit.com

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Analog Hostel
Analog Hostel
#68 of 1,193 in Bangkok
70 reviews
38 Mansion
#310 of 641 in Bangkok
3 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
ThongLor Travellers Hostel and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,193 in Bangkok
700 reviews
Better Bed Hostel
#58 of 1,193 in Bangkok
65 reviews
The Little Pig Sukhumvit
#53 of 1,193 in Bangkok
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Sukhumvit

Property: HI-Sukhumvit
Address: Soi Sukhumvit 38 | Phra Khanong, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Sukhumvit 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HI-Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing