We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a night or two”
Review of HI-Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI-Sukhumvit
Ranked #268 of 1,413 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was an okay place for a night or two. The rooms were average, the communal area was nice and the location was great. As we only stayed here for 1 night it's hard to judge. Great staff I seem to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked this hostel for my first 3 nights in Bangkok. At 330 baht a night in the dorm I'd say it's a bit overpriced. The lobby is nice but the dorm is pretty avarage. Bunks are simple steel ones, but they shake whenever the person above or below you turns in their bed. Staff is friendly though. They offer free internet on their computers in the lobby, but beware since they are all heavily infected with viruses (as stated on the memo's on the computer). You need a keycard to access the door that leads upstairs where the dorms are, but during my stay, there was a keycard hanging from a statue next to this door that would get you in anyway. Also, you need a regular key to get in to the dorms, so it's a little redundant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EinzRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a good place to stay for a night or two. In a nutshell...

1. The building and hallways are quite beautiful and could easily pass for a boutique hotel. The rooms are disappointing though - small, and a bit overpriced (USD 30.00 per night for a private room with no bathroom). Also, though the room was clean there were lots of mosquitoes both in the hall and in the room. For the first hour in the room, we swatted mosquitoes to make sure we weren't eaten for dinner all night!
2. It's located right next to the subway stop so you can easily access it. There is a great night market right across the street that is raved about in every guidebook that I've seen. And, since it's located in the primary ex-pat neighborhood there's lots of British pubs, high-end shopping, etc. Other than that though, don't expect to find may affordable local restaurants, or interesting nightspots....

Bottom line, we stayed for one night upon landing in Bangkok (it's super easy to take the subway there from the airport which was our primary reason for staying there...). It was convenient and overall a good experience. Would I stay again? Nope, there's just too many great places to stay in Bangkok to settle for this one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great location. Nice communal areas. Breakfast and Internet is included with the price of your room. The Internet is slow but tolerable. Nice clean rooms. The staff was also helpful. I cut myself trying open up a soda bottle, they supplied me with band aids and iodine. When I moved from the dorm to a private, they asked me how long I planned on staying? I said I didn't know please ask me later that day. Well, they went ahead and gave my room to someone else! They didn't even ask me If I had decided on staying additional nights. This was quite annoying!. I would recommend securing the exact dates for your anticipated.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at a basic but spacious rooms with big comfortable beds with AC - stayed there in January 2010. The shared bathroom was exceptionally clean; you can see the cleaners working around the clock. The free breakfast was basic but delicious. Attractive interior wooden deco. Just comfortable & clean room/toilet.helpful & friendly staff. Relaxing rooftop. The hostel was nice and quiet, with a cozy reception area. It's very close to the sky train, and only one stop away from ekkamai station. We like this hostel and would recommend this to anyone :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at a basic but spacious dorm with eight comfortable beds. However, it was very annoying that the air conditioner was only programmed to come on at 6pm. The shared bathroom was exceptionally clean; you can see the cleaners working around the clock.

The free breakfast was basic but delicious. A stone's throw away from the various cheap and very delicious food stalls that line the streets and come alive at night. The BTS station was also a short walk away.

The sitting area was nicely decorated, well-ventilated and spacious. There's also a little kitchen at the back with a fridge you can use, as well as a roof deck where you can hang out and do your laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Attractive interior wooden deco.Just comfortable & clean room/toilet.helpful & friendly staff.
Relaxing rooftop.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmadnajme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Analog Hostel
Analog Hostel
#75 of 1,413 in Bangkok
82 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#36 of 1,413 in Bangkok
726 reviews
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#183 of 1,413 in Bangkok
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mascot Hostel Bangkok
#133 of 1,413 in Bangkok
74 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#263 of 1,413 in Bangkok
68 reviews
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#44 of 1,413 in Bangkok
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Sukhumvit

Address: Soi Sukhumvit 38 | Phra Khanong, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,413 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £7 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Sukhumvit 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HI-Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing