We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful common areas!”
Review of HI-Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI-Sukhumvit
Ranked #233 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Hi-Sukhumvit has a beautiful reception, with sofas and tables indoor and outdoor, a small pond with fish and a little bridge. I liked to start the day having a breakfast there with other travellers.
The beds are ok, good sleeping quality. Average prices, very difficult to bargain even for long stays, I think there was a small discount just from a two weeks stay but not sure. A bit far from the center but well communicated, very close to the skyway station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciccomartinopuntocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I spent 2 nights in the double room with shared bathroom. Everything was alright.

Pros:
- Convenient location: Great local street food right outside (sticky rice with mango, crispy BBQ pork and especially smoothies-only 30-35B for a very fresh one), 3min walk to Thong Lo BTS from which you can easily go to Siam Centre, Suvarnabhumi airport (1 BTS trip and 1 airport link), Chatuchak Market, Hualamphong station, etc.
- Helpful staff (even though none of them helped us with the heavy suitcase but kinda expected).
- Lovely rooftop and decoration
- Wifi works everywhere and fast, even the rooftop.

Cons:
- Very bad sound-proofing, possibly because of the wooden plank flooring? My neighbours tended to slam the door and it surprised me and my sister every single time. Guarantee you can hear their steps and conversations clearly, or just bc of my room location?!
- The room is kinda stuffy with a small window that you can barely open because of the mosquitoes.
- Noisy aircon.
- Not really cheap
Note: If you go from Hualamphong station, take the MRT and skytrain (get off Thong Lo, not Sukhumvit otherwise long walk is certain), will save your time for avoiding congestion.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at this hostel a few times during my Peace Corps service when I had to be at a function for PC in BKK. It is near a BTS which was great because it made traveling around easier. Very clean, nice basic breakfast, and friendly staff. I stayed in both the dorm and private rooms, both were great. The bathrooms were near my rooms and were clean. No elevator so be prepared to climb the stairs.

Room Tip: If you are a female, you can choose between co-ed or all female dorms if you don't do a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nice clean room. Very frustrating wifi system!
The floor we were on had women's only bathroom so had to go to another floor, not a huge problem during the day but annoying at night.
2mins walk to sky train, direct buses to all destinations, night food markets and convenience shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I thought that this hostel was a wonderful way to be introduced to Bangkok. Both myself and my friends had 2 am flights into the city, and we were grateful for the hostel being closer to the airport than others. In addition, having the train station only a 30 second walk away eased any fears about getting around. The hostel was immaculate, and the staff was very friendly (even when we arrived at 2 am!). The small courtyard in the entrance was the perfect way to enjoy breakfast. Great hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 462Ambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was able to find this hostel easily based on the directions from their website. Check- in went smoothly until I was told there was a key deposit. This information was not shown on their website nor on the lonely planet website. Luckily I had enought baht with me since I heard about the atm fees for the deposit.

There are four floors of rooms and the fifth/roof area is a lounge and washer/dryer which is 10 baht( coins only). Be prepare to hike it as there are no elevators. There is a room to store your luggage for a fee, lockers to store your vauleable for a fee and kitchen where you can store your food and cook(free). Free wifi but weak.

There are food stalls outside and a couple of mini marts on the main road. It's a 5 min walk to Thong Lo BTS.

Room Tip: Cash only. If you must pay by credit card, they will charge you 3%. Bring 200 baht for key deposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This hostel was good - the rooms were clean and the staff were really helpful. However, we found having to get the train in to the centre everyday got expensive. Though quiet, we would have preferred to stay somewhere closer to town.
Further, although breakfast is inclusive, I feel the rooms are overpriced, especially as they are not en suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingCamelpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#25 of 1,346 in Bangkok
300 reviews
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#20 of 1,346 in Bangkok
241 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#28 of 1,346 in Bangkok
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#165 of 1,346 in Bangkok
134 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#27 of 1,346 in Bangkok
974 reviews
Sukhumvit
3Howw Hostel@Sukhumvit 21
3Howw Hostel@Sukhumvit 21
#108 of 1,346 in Bangkok
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Sukhumvit

Address: Soi Sukhumvit 38 | Phra Khanong, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £15 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Sukhumvit 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HI-Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing