We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #251 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I will definitely stay at this hotel for my future visit to Bangkok! Worth the money as room was well furnished and clean, breakfast provided but menu can be improved and also their staffs managed to help me sorted out my questions regarding direction and stuffs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siangtiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    216
    98
    27
    18
See reviews for
94
163
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 night, room is okay but the bed is too hard for me and the floor looks like dirty. Receptionist and staff are nice and helpfull.Breakfast buffet have many variety than other budget hotel. Location near food stall, you can catch bus 77 or 74...if you don't like to walk. Walk to pratunam shop area almost 10-15 min.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel staffs and concierge were very hostile and unfriendly. Did not provide assistance in any way. For eg: Wanting to change our big note to smaller thai notes. Assistance was not provided.

Breakfast was extremely disappointing. Was expecting a buffet breakfast but was shocked to realise the breakfast was by selection. American Breakfast had 2 eggs, 2 sausages of which were completely tasteless. Counter girl was not even slightly polite, poor sense of customer service.

Rooms were generally well furnished and clean. However, with the price paid ($90/night), it is not value for money. Could get a better service hotel nearer to Platinum Fashion Mall.

Location is extremely poor. As thailand drivers are pretty reckless and furious, there were many roads to cross to get to Platinum Fashion Mall (10 mins walk away). It was almost life endangering to cross almost 4 major T junctions. Cabs do not fetch us to Platinum as it was too near and they wouldnt earn much either.

It was also hard to hail a cab back to the hotel given its location. Not many drivers knew of the hotel as it was in an isolated street.

All in all, with the price paid, I could hv gotten a better hotel with better service and this is completely unacceptable customer service. Improvements strongly needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxxxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and sharing your opinions.

I think there might be some misunderstanding in your case and that make you upset. We can actually facilitate bank note exchange if we have enough change on hands. After investigated your case, we do not have enough small changes at the reception and we do not normally store a lot of cash there.

Buffet breakfast is held only when we have a certain numbers of guests which is almost of the time. However, if we have any day that we have to arrange a made-to-order menu, the menu is the same and you are able to top up whatever you like similar to buffet style. We will cook it fresh for you.

We regret that you did not like our location. Staying a little bit out of the market zone providing you more peaceful and safer environment. Bangkok is a very busy city. You need to be careful when you cross any streets at any places in Thailand. As you said 10 minute walking distance from our hotel to Platinum Fashion Mall is in a very good walking range. You have no concern about the traffic in that street market area.

Wish this clarifies and gives better understanding of the situation.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is perfect for any kind of trip to Bangkok. It is easily reached from the airport and the perfect base for shopping trips, sightseeing or in my case working in Bangkok. It is close to the Airport Rail Link and even the BTS can be reached by foot. There is supermarkets, shopping malls and very good street food all around. I also loved the food in the Bistro adjacent to the Hotel, I went for Thai food, my friend for Western food and we loved it both.

The rooms are very clean, you get full amenities and it's great value for your money. As I am German and love my whole grain bread, I would love to have some of that for breakfast - but you hardly see that outside of Germany anyway - but other than that the breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, salads, eggs - on Sundays also delicious scrambled eggs - and also fried rice or noodles, juice, coffee and tea. In my opinion everything you need - except for German bread, but oh well. ;)

I asked the staff a lot about, how to get around and any other issue I needed help with. I have always been helped immediately and if someone from the staff did not understand, I was referred to somebody who could speak English very well.

I felt at home here and will definitely return here on my next stay in Bangkok!

Advice: Ask on the reception about the trip to Kanchanaburi! It was great and they arranged everything for me!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenTonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

If you like ants and other insects, walking down a dirty, smelly alley to get to your hotel, and dingy rooms, then by all means stay here. After checking in, I went to the room and saw a few ants in the bathroom. I tried to dismiss it and went out for a walk. I came back and saw the ants had multiplied in the bathroom. I went downstairs to reception with my Thai dictionary and pointed to the word insect. The staff (limited English skills) got the manager, who followed me to the room. He admitted that he knew some rooms had ant problems. He killed some of them but quickly realized that they kept coming. I asked what he could to and he said it was to late to spray. He said the hotel was fully booked but called downstairs. Somehow there was a room free in this fully booked hotel. He helped me move my stuff to the next room which was clearly a level above the one I had booked. It didn't matter though. When I woke up I saw ants in the bathroom. I was glad I only stayed the one night. I was so disgusted. Then on my way out I swore I saw a roach crawling in the hallway. I certainly saw dead ones in the alley to the main road next to a dead rat. The only positive I can offer is that the hotel is close to the airport link train.

Room Tip: One without insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, Owner at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment and feedback. Please allow us to clarify the situation from our side so that other reviewers do not misunderstand about the actual situation.

The problem was that the previous guest left some snacks which lured some ants ( few small ants as found by our manager when checking the room). We are sorry about this and we have taken actions to chase away those ants already.

In fact, our front desk can communicate in English and our manager can communicate in English and Chinese very well. And we did understand your concern and we tried our best to help you as much as we can.

The things you claimed you saw could be somewhere else but surely not around our hotel. Dead rats make very extremely strong smell. It is then impossible to be found nearby us where our 24-hour security guard and our staff did not even see or smell it.

Please also be assured that there was certainly no cockroach in any part of the hotel as you mentioned.

Wish this explanation clarifies what really happened.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hotel de Bangkok is almost in the central of Bangkok (Ratchaprarop Soi 12), very close to most of the Famous Shopping Malls (15 minutes walk to King power Complex - Duty Free, 20 minutes walk to Platinum Mall, 30 minutes walk to Central World Plaza, 40 minutes walk to Siam Paragon). It is very close to Airport Link Station too (about 10 minutes walk to Makkasan Station). The staffs are very Nice and Friendly. There wasn't any swimming pool but overall it was a nice hotel. It is Non-Smoking Hotel but if you need to smoke, you may book (Superior or Deluxe) room with Balcony. It is worth to stay in this hotel. I really love it and will return to Hotel de Bangkok again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, Owner at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and sharing your great experience to other readers and compliments to our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here before and after our River Kwai tour . The hotel is small ( about 40 rooms) and the staff are very friendly. The rooms clean and the breakfast adequate. There is free bottled water and free in room wi-fi. ( Password available from reception). The hotel is located a short walk from the Victory Monument BTS Station and a small shopping centre. Between the station and the hotel there are many restaurants, a 7/11,atms and street food vendors . We,also, booked day tours to Ayutthaya and the floating markets via the in-house travel desk.
It is the starting point/sister hotel for the River Kwai Jungle Rafts .

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a small balconly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, Owner at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with Hotel de Bangkok and our River Kwai hotels. Also thank you for sharing your valuable comment to other readers and compliments to our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#356 of 866 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Royal View Resort
#113 of 866 in Bangkok
810 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#317 of 866 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#191 of 866 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Property: Hotel de Bangkok
Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing