We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay for a visit in the city or use the airport link”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #257 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay for a visit in the city or use the airport link”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Like I said: Best Place to stay for a visit in the city or use the airport link!
Everything is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful!
Breakfast was nice with fresh fruits!
I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    215
    98
    27
    18
See reviews for
93
163
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel de Bangkok last May 23-26. In a city with a dizzying number of lodging options for budget-conscious tourists like us, this place didn't make us regret that we chose it. It was mid-priced, near the shopping district, near the train station and not bad-looking either. A few observations:
- Our room looked exactly as they showed it on their website. Very chic and roomy enough to not make you feel claustrophobic. The room was also complete with everything we needed, from a mini-fridge to a safe to a hair dryer.
- One of the light fixtures wasn't working, but they had it fixed as soon as we brought it up.
- The room was very clean. Beds were comfy.
- Bathroom had a bathtub with hot and cold shower options.
- We loved the full-length mirror attached to the closet.
- The two complementary bottles of water they provided every day were a nice touch.
- WiFi was not working during our first night, but the rest of the nights it was fine and reliable enough.
- Housekeeping cleans the room daily.
- Breakfast was more or less the same everyday - not that this was a bad thing. It was served buffet-style and had fairly enough options to choose from.
- We loved the receptionist who kept working the night shift - sorry we weren't able to get her name! But she was very helpful and friendly! :)
- If you're taking the airport city link to the hotel like we did, you might have a problem finding the place at first. Best thing to do is ask for directions from the first friendly-looking local you see! And if you have issues crossing a busy intersection while lugging around your bags (strollers, in our case) - then you might have to rethink staying here. The hotel is too near to take a taxi from the station. It's either that or you use some other form of transportation to and from the hotel and airport.
- The "alley" leading to the hotel from the main road is not as bad as others make it to be. It's a road wide enough for cars to pass through easily. It's not that dark at night. No stray animals at all. Neighboring buildings are quite old, but I didn't have a problem with this. The 7eleven nearby was also very convenient.
- The shopping malls and open markets are NOT a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. More like 20 minutes -and that's if you're a brisk walker. But we walked the distance anyway. Best way to get to know a new place. If you don't feel like walking, taxis can also take you to the malls (and other places you want to go to) easily. Very affordable too. We never ended up paying more than 90 baht per ride, no matter where we went within the city.
- TIP: Try asking for the hotel's business/calling card from the receptionist. We sometimes had a hard time getting cab drivers to understand us whenever we said "Ratchaprarop". You can just show them the card instead of having to say the street's name about 10 times like we did!

This place was GREAT value for one's money. Wouldn't mind staying here again the next time I visit Bangkok, which will definitely be in the very near future! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor so that you can just take the stairs anytime instead of using the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkvacenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and considering that it was a budget hotel, they exceeded our expectations:

Location: It was not located smack dab in the middle of the shopping center but was walking distance to the bts, the airport link, the victory monument, and the shopping district. I read a review that the location looked shady. At first, it would seem so, because you need to enter a street, but once you turn the corner, you can immediately see the hotel. I'd say they were well located away from the noisy main streets and night markets.

Service: the concierge was accommodating and always smiled. They cleaned the rooms daily. When we requested for connecting rooms, they provided for us. Some of the staff had difficulty in speaking in English, so that could be one point for improvement. They also had 24/7 security. They offer printing services, money changing, etc.

Rooms: the standard rooms were spacious. We had connecting rooms so we were able to socialize with our friends. They had complementary water and toiletries. The a/c was properly functioning, the tv had cable with decent channels, the bed, pillows and blanket were comfortable. The ambiance of the hotel is modern yet homey. There were some rooms where we can easily connect to the wifi and other rooms where we had difficulty. On the second night, when we had to transfer rooms, there were brief moments when we heard some noise though, we didn't know where it came from.

Food: delicious and buffet, so we ate to our heart's content! Although, the choices did not change, so this is another area for improvement. Maybe they can have days when the cuisine would be different, not just american and asian.

All in all, though there are areas to improve, we were satisfied with the hotel and would come back if we ever return to bangkok.

Room Tip: If you are many in your group, make sure to request connecting rooms when booking be it in their sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asiatique07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is near the train line connected to the airport. Hotel location is not so great but safe and there are plenty of good eating places nearby. The service and internet are ok. They have connecting rooms which is good for families. However, it also mean you can hear strangers on the other side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jing07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights before and after a trip to Kanchanaburi. I communicated with the hotel thru email and their response was prompt and courteous.
The hotel location is not great, the locality is a mix of residential and commercial. Its not close to the touristy places of BKK. However, its a short walk from Phaya Thai train station - which is one end of the Suvarnabhoomi Airport Link train. Even if you are coming from Don Muang Airport, its a quick transit since 90% of the journey is on an express-way.
The rooms are spacious and clean... so also the bathrooms. The beds are comfortable. Dont expect a superb ambiance, but for the money you pay, its worth it.
The hotel staff was polite and courteous. Breakfast was simple; the variety was quite limited, but I have no complaints. There was a very good Thai restaurant nearby where we had our dinners. There is also a 7-11 nearby, should you need to buy stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikhil_Mhapankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2013. The hotel lobby was beautifully presented and we're welcomed by the staff with a smile and drink (really sweet liquid, yuck)! We booked two rooms and ended up on two different floors which was kind of irritating, but not too bad. The location seemed a bit dodgy, but it was easy enough to get to the places we wanted to go!
The beds were like cement, one of my party almost winded herself when fell on bed with exhaustion!
The breakfast had a large variety, and was very nice!
The bathroom had a bit of mould, but the general cleanliness was pretty good! It got a little noisy at night with dogs barking across the street, but it didn't last too long!
I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers, it did what was intended for!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I will definitely stay at this hotel for my future visit to Bangkok! Worth the money as room was well furnished and clean, breakfast provided but menu can be improved and also their staffs managed to help me sorted out my questions regarding direction and stuffs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siangtiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#359 of 861 in Bangkok
56 reviews
Vince Hotel
#193 of 861 in Bangkok
258 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#313 of 861 in Bangkok
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal View Resort
#110 of 861 in Bangkok
806 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#116 of 861 in Bangkok
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Property: Hotel de Bangkok
Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing