We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #251 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed as part of a package tour and therefore stayed before and after, and stayed in two different rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, but it is nicer to have a balcony even if the view isn't much. The buffet breakfast had a small selection but was fresh and adequate. Because we arrived in Bangkok after the last train from the airport we got a taxi and were glad we did because as there is no Hotel Signage on the the main road it is hard to find and even the taxi driver had to stop and ask directions. The taxi was only 300Baht and only took 25 minutes that time of the night. The hotel was reasonably close to all the big shopping centres and train line. Just turn left when you come out of the alley way and just up the road is the Indra Hotel which has the Indra Shopping Mall next to it and the night markets behind there are worth going to. This hotel was adequate for our needs and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the front courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    216
    98
    27
    18
See reviews for
94
163
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal, before and after a Jungle River Raft Tour. The office for the tour appeared to be part of the hotel building. So not researching the hotel and taking it as part of a package, was very not me, but to my surprise it was a lovely small hotel. The staff at check in could not have been more helpful, the room very good and comfortable, the shower was over the bath though - which seemed strange for such a new hotel.
The first night there was some noise, which disturbed us from our sleep which was caused by other guests, the second stay there was no noise at all. Due to early departure the morning of our first stay, a breakfast box was packed for us which was lovely. The second stay we went for the included breakfast, which was a good selection of the usual breakfast fare.
We did use the on site restaurant, and found it to be extremely reasonably priced, with good service and nice food.
The hotel is located down a lane way, but when I went exploring it was in an area that I had previously stayed on my first trip to Bangkok, some 13 years previous. There is some great shopping within walking distance. As part of our deal we were picked up from the airport and taken to a departure point at the end, so we did not experience any difficulty with the location of the hotel. As a tip when you stay in a small hotel in a large city, it is worthwhile asking the hotel to organise a transfer to get you there, that way the taxi knows exactly where the hotel is.

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the lift due to disability, and this is probably why we had disturbed s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel080257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Pros: Helpful staff, nice breakfast, clean, central location.
Cons: no counter space in bathroom, AC was a little funky.

The bistro in the hotel came in handy when it was pouring rain both nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Andy Y,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and sharing your opinions.

We have run through all the rooms to clean up the AC. We found a couple of them somewhat dusty but they are all clean now. Thank you for informing us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel de Bangkok.


Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our balcony view was of a dead dog! Needless to say a good start to our 3 night stay. Breakfast was delicious, but the only good part of our stay! Bed was VERY hard - couldn't sleep well. Our bathroom had the shower over tub. The shower head kept swivelling back to face the wall, which has caused long term water damage to the walls which you could see from the public hallway, and also would run around the bath and on to the floor to saturate the floor.
Taxi drivers have NO IDEA where the hotel is, so you pay extra in charges as they drive around pretending to know where they are going. The hotel is down an alley way so you can't even see it from the main round. Location is good i guess, close to the train station if you are going to use public transport, but we needed to use taxis. We won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear JC1289,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and sharing your opinions.

From your story, it seems unfortunate that you got the taxi who does not know the hotel location. It 's actually in the prime area and our map is clearly illustrated. Please understand that most of taxi drivers in Bangkok come from different towns, mostly from the northeast provinces, some of them may not have been to Bangkok before starting this career. This is a very common issue. May we recommend the other travellers that we have our hotel map/ location in English and Thai on our website. Please print it out and show it to the taxi driver that you take. With this map, it is very easy to any taxi to bring you to the hotel.

We are regret that the first image you saw was that poor dog. We did not where you saw it. It could be at the sub-raod at the opposite side of the hotel. Street dogs are really a problem in Thailand. In such situation, if we are aware, we would call Bangkok authority agent to collect it and clean the street.

Please let us clarified to the other travelers that there was no water leakage problem at the hallway. From the date of stay, our investigation found that it was raining very heavily and some rain might have brought by strong wind getting into the hallway in the top floor.

Wish this clarifies and gives better understanding of the situation.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saalfelden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

even though the Taxi drivers find it hard to find the Hotel, it's a perfect place to stay for a few days visiting Bangkok. The Skytrain station Phayathai is a 10 walk, the Pratunam market about 5 min walk from Hotel. Also the Raillink to airport is at Skytrain station, everything is well organised. The Hotel room was clean and big, tv, airconditioned. The window of the hotel room was facing the outside hallway where a light is left on all night. Breakfast is great, with a big selection (rice, noodles, fried eggs, scrambled egg, bread, cerial, fresh fruit, coffee, tea,...).
One of the receptionists was lovely and smiling the whole time, another one was a bit ignorant and not interested in being friendly or organising things for us. Maybe she had a bad day.
in general a very nice, clean and modern Hotel for a great price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed for 3 nights early of June. The hotel is nice & clean, well the hotel location is not so great (need enter a street but once turn in can c the hotel just at the corner) but was walking distance to BTS station, Pratunam market, Central world shopping centre....Breakfast was simple, room cleaning everyday n most of it with friendly receptionist day & night :)
I enjoyed my stay...will staying here next time i visit to Bangkok !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurfsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

i am a frequent traveller to bangkok but it is only July 2012 that i noticed this hotel and can i said what a pity that i meet this hotel so late :> i am a frequent stayer in Hotel De Bangkok, respectively in July, August, September 2012 and Feb and May 2013.
i can confirmed that anytime i am going to Bangkok i will definitely book Hotel De Bangkok. As it save me the trouble of deciding my accommodations when i go bangkok, isn't that nice:>
i know people will said that i'm lying, do someone really go bangkok so many times for what... but is true , i love the platinum fashion mall and the buddhas and gods there since i'm a Buddhist. And compared to other hotels in bangkok i stayed at, it win hands down.
Although it is not located right smack in the middle of the major shopping centres but it is definately within walking distance to the major shopping centres like Platinum, indra.
One small little tip - be patient and take the taxis and you can save yourself a walking trip if you are too lazy. Also ask the local thais to write the name of the major shopping malls in Thai in a notebook and show it to the taxi driver. Be patient as sometimes you can wait until the second or third taxi driver before they are willing to fetch you to your destination. And do not take the tu tu unless you wanted to experience it because they are pure cut throats, daylight robbery and it is a dusty tiring process taking tu tu’s in Bangkok.
But all the troubles are definitely worth it. Since first of all they have bathtubs in every room even the lowest standard room which is definitely affordable for even the most budget thrifty people with an aprox 40 sgd for per night. Most of the message parlours in Bangkok are cut throat thiefs like their tu tus drivers and their bath tub is perfect for a hot water soak every night after shopping as an alternative to message. And their bed is comfortableee . Of course they have hair dryer and portable hangers for you and unlike some hotels I have meet whom used their hairdryer to dry their dried flowers and locked their hangers in their cupboard. And not to said their hygiene standard is the best but definitely much better then some other branded hotels I have seen in bangkok.
Their hotel is newly built in 2011 or 2012 and their building is sound unlike some of the other hotels in Bangkok, brilliant sound proofing. You will definitely hear nothing in your room once you lock the door. And this can give you assurance that in the case of fire you have no worries that it will spread to your hotel as it is a stand-alone hotel. And very quiet surroundings for the hotel unlike the hotels in the Indra area. Their hotel room very spacious unlike some of the hotels in Bangkok I have meet.
Brilliant manager- study in Singapore before understand English well and save you the trouble of talking to the service staff in broken English that they understand. Love it that they always cook vegetarian food for me out of their full of meat menu since I’m a vegetarian.
Lovely group director of the hotel group( Hotel De Bangkok is under one of the chain Hotel groups in Thailand), email me back on one of my random emails to Hotel De Bangkok and ask after mine experience with the hotel. Always give me lovely perks upon my visit to the hotel and fulfil every one of my service requests and it is always quite long :>
Their staff is definitely one lovely part of the hotel; they already know me by my face and will ask after me :>
I will definitely go to Bangkok in Oct 2013 and staying in the hotel again. How I wish Taiwan have the hotel since I am going in Aug 2013 and have trouble finding quality hotel there :<

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taipeibangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#357 of 866 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Royal View Resort
#116 of 866 in Bangkok
810 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#309 of 866 in Bangkok
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vince Hotel
#190 of 866 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Property: Hotel de Bangkok
Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing