We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, affordable hotel, not the best location”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #257 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in August for 3 nights. We arrived a bit early so unfortunately we couldn't check in yet. We got a free drink which was a nice gesture. The guy at reception was helpful and his English was okay. Unfortunately he was the only one at the hotel who really could speak English fluently. The room was nice, nice flatscreen tv, good working airco, the bed was a bit hard though. The bath room was a bit old, there were hairs on the floor and in the tub and there was hardly enough water coming out of the shower. Breakfast was good, enough choices for me. The most important thing I didnt like about the hotel was the location. I booked the hotel because it was close to the centre but it is still a 15 minute walk to the Skytrain and a 30 minute walk to the centre. Don't use the taxi from the hotel, you'll pay double the normal price. The neighbourhood is okay, 7/11 is close and there are enough places to eat.

Overall it was an experience with good and bad things. I don't think I would book this hotel again though, mainly because its bad location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 4days...

location - walking distance from ratchaprarop station n pratunam area...
7-11 n seafood just outside the street area.

staff - excellent n friendly n willing to help with giving directions to attractions. thy were quick to respond wen I needed help with the tv which suddenly broke down on the third day.

wifi - had to sign in every time we returned to the room. and connection was only available in the room.
no connection at all in the lobby or breakfast area which was absolutely annoying.

rooms -not bad.. very clean n had an extra bed n space was ok. water heater flask was so dirty with insects inside so we informed recep n a kind house keeper came n cleaned it out for us. but we still decided nt to use it.
bathroom - spacious n v clean but with slightly mouldy walls which turned me quite off.
shower head absolutely annoying with the pressure changing on its own every ten seconds causing it to turn to the side wen pressure is hard.
breakfast was pleasant but the same everyday : Fried rice, noodles, toast, eggs, ham , pork porridge, cornflakes n fruits n drinks which was gd to last till lunch...
overall quite ok for the price u pay ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thasha1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Overall, we liked this place. It is a nice little gem in a marginal neighbourhood.

The breakfast falls a little flat. It is really bad if you need to take breakfast on the go. They packed us breakfast one morning and it was 2 tunafish sandwiches. Oh, and nothing for our child. He was a child and staying free (as advertised on their website), so no breakfast for him. Really painful when we had to get up at 4:15am for a 4:45am tour booked through their tour operator, Serenata.

We also found their reception really challenging. They got our reservation wrong. Their english is marginal (I know, it is a Thai country... but this was a REAL challenge).

Their restaurant had great food.

Room Tip: For a slightly bigger price, you get a whole lot more room. So if you are travelling with family, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Agoda.com had an 8% discount and I booked this hotel through their website. Although it is considered the "upper range" for young couples who want to shop in Bangkok, we stayed for 3 nights and the price per night is still very cheap and definitely worth it; on the overall it was a good stay and I would certainly consider coming back to this hotel again.

Location 4/5:
The location for this hotel is great for its price especially for shoppers; for those wanting to shop in Pratunam, this hotel is within walking distance from Ratchaprarop station (5mins walk) and one can even walk to the main shopping district, central world, or even MBK (this is rather far for those not used to walking). It is not difficult to catch a taxi from the main road either, and during the peak hour jams, one can simply get a motorbike taxi from under the flyover (2-3mins walk) you will walk pass on the way to Ratchaprarop station. There is a 7-11 nearby as well; just turn left on reaching the main road and walk to the junction.

Rooms 4/5:
The rooms were spacious and very comfortable as well as clean. Although the view from the room wasn't great, it had a balcony which was a good thing to have. Wifi in the rooms is strong and fast as well although you may have to go through the hassle of logging in every time you go back to the room; no complaints there as one can just save the password.

Service 3/5:
When we booked through Agoda, I couldn't select the option for 2 people; I sent an email informing them but there was no reply. However, the hotel staff were understanding and allowed us both to have buffet breakfast for the duration of our stay. The staff were friendly but not always helpful as most of them do not speak very good English and are not familiar with information about Bangkok in general; this can certainly be improved upon.

The buffet breakfast served the same foods for almost all the meals we had there and for those who are staying longer, it may get monotonous; the selection is rather small, but it is good enough for those who need a bite before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucasNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Lneo852,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback in reference to your recent stay at Hotel de Bangkok. It is by these types of comments that we are able to evaluate our service, recognize the outperformers and work on improvements.

We note your comment on the tour knowledge of the front desk and will improve accordingly.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel de Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through booking.com and emailed the hotel for confirmation. Unfortunately they replied me very late and when I have further questions regarding our stay in bangkok, they never reply my email and I had to email again and got a very short reply towards unsatisfactory answers.

Upon checked in, was impressed by the hotel and the location is near all the shopping areas (within 10 minutes walking distance to Platinum mall, Pratunam market and a further 15 minutes walk to the Siam area).

The room is clean but the walls are thin and at night or early morning will be able to hear people walking around the corridor and the sound of water pump.

At the front desk, we required some assistance for floating market and the lady promised to get back to me in the evening because she couldn't find the details.But when we inquired again she forgotten to inquire for us and have to wait til the next morning. Another lady assisted us with the booking but failed to provide an itinerary for the floating market. Needless to say, not much helpful information and not very friendly service. The front desk are clueless with the tour information in bangkok but very good at information regarding shopping malls, so if you are in bangkok for shopping alone, this is the right hotel for you (might need to bear with the noises from corridor).

Internet is fast but need to keep typing in the username and password cus it uses per login system.

If you travel to bangkok and want to see more of bangkok, do stay in other hotel that is able to provide you with more helpful information.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear TrailOfAsia,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and spent time giving us your valuable feedback.

We will definitely equip our front office more comprehensive tour information of major attractions in and around Bangkok.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel de Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel, clean room and nice environment. Just it is a little bit far from the LRT station, u have to walk for 15-20min at least, not as what they written as 5min. So most of the time we travel by taxi actually. When first day we arrived the hotel, around 1pm, and was planning to check in, we have to wait until 3pm, even though it is stated that check in time is 2pm. And we just been told to wait because they are cleaning the room, so i am not so happy about this. One more friendly reminder, becareful on the chinese man taxi driver who always sitting in front the hotel front door, he is not a reliable taxi driver actually.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david-wk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and spent time to give us your valuable feedback.

I regret the unfavorable incident describe in your comment and we have since investigated on this matter to avoid any further occurrences.

We are sincerely sorry about the delayed check-in time. We normally finish the cleaning before the check-in time. However, we had quite a few late check-out guests on that date. As soon as we received the feedback, we arranged a meeting with our housekeepers to emphasize on the deadline of the room cleaning and be able to deliver the clean rooms upon the check-in time at 14.00 hrs.

Regarding your concern about the taxi driver, it is not our policy to cooperate with them. However, the guy came to the hotel every day because he was booked by our frequent returned guests as he speak s Mandarin very well. He was normally a generous guy and got many compliments from our Singaporean guests. It would be helpful to us if you could be more specific on your comment and send back to us for further investigation.

Once again we appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcome you back to Hotel de Bangkok in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed as part of a package tour and therefore stayed before and after, and stayed in two different rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, but it is nicer to have a balcony even if the view isn't much. The buffet breakfast had a small selection but was fresh and adequate. Because we arrived in Bangkok after the last train from the airport we got a taxi and were glad we did because as there is no Hotel Signage on the the main road it is hard to find and even the taxi driver had to stop and ask directions. The taxi was only 300Baht and only took 25 minutes that time of the night. The hotel was reasonably close to all the big shopping centres and train line. Just turn left when you come out of the alley way and just up the road is the Indra Hotel which has the Indra Shopping Mall next to it and the night markets behind there are worth going to. This hotel was adequate for our needs and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the front courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#327 of 891 in Bangkok
69 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#298 of 891 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal View Resort
#131 of 891 in Bangkok
823 reviews
Ari
Vic3 Bangkok
Vic3 Bangkok
#245 of 891 in Bangkok
482 reviews
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#346 of 891 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing