We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was here for a week!”
Review of Diamond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond House
Ranked #305 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Rooms are GREAT...nice vibe! But if you get the room right above the kitchen you will be smelling funky/nasty things! I had to fight them for a discount.

Price is pretty good for the location..but the best is the decorative rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElementFreedive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed at the Diamond house for one night en route to Laos via Bangkok. We chose this hotel as it was close to the Khao San road, knowing we could drop our bags, shower, change and grab a beer and food close by before getting up early for a flight next day. The room itself was quite "bijou" clean and compact. The bathroom was clean and fit for purpose. I believe that £ for £ you can get better accommodation in the city. The hotel is in good proximity to the Khao San Rd (if thats your kind of thing....) Not my fav part of Bangkok but it served it's purpose as an over night stop. I would not recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We only stayed for one night, but it was a great find. We felt safe, it was clean, reasonably priced and in walking distance to Koh San - the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was really nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlywarly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked this hotel for 2 nights to see Bangkok before heading to other parts of Thailand. The hotel was okay, the staff pretty friendly, the rooms really small and quite cramped yet clean and they provided free water bottles. The shower lacked pressure but was quite warm. The plus was the air-conditioning, which for once didn't blow straight onto the bed. The location however, is perfect, right off Kao San Road, which is the perfect place to dive right into the Thai atmosphere and get some of your first street food going. Watch out for strangers talking to you on the street, don't believe ANYTHING they say!!!! Normal Thais are shy and would not offer you anything without knowing you, beware!! If a guy "spontaneously" takes out a pen to draw on your map in the middle of the street, don't listen :)

Anyway, I would come back here only if it was to stay 1 or 2 nights. Don't stay here for longer since you'll rob your own wallet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwardenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Despite our very nice first impression, we had a disgusting and annoying experience with diamond guesthouse and its staff. We booked a double room 2 weeks ahead (we stayed at another hotel), since the rooms looked very clean and cosy at first sight. We payed 500 THB key deposit in advance, to guarantee we would really come back and take the room.
At the time of our arrival, we checked in, put our luggage in the room and left until evening. As we returned, we saw a little bug crawling over our bed. Therefore we took a look under the matress and found some of their little friends. We let the staff know and received a surprisingly relaxed reaction. They gave us another room, but again there were bugs in the bed. They showed us a third room, and there the bugs were 4 times bigger than the bugs we saw before. The women who was with us tried to hide the first bug in front of our eyes (this was the point where we started to feel fooled).The staff showing us the room told us that we could check out (without any signs of accuse). Back at the reception, we were told to pay 500 THB (which would have been the total room fee together with the key deposit we paid before). At first we thought that this was some kind of misunderstanding. But in deed, they wanted to charge the full room rate since we "used" the room for several hours. The discussion heated up, and the staff was really pissed (same here). They refused to call their boss as well as returning the key deposit. After about 30 minutes, they threw the money on the reception desk without any comment. Fortunately we found another place to stay (it was 10 pm when we left the hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location, just near the massive tourist street and an easy walk to the river to travel the city by boad- by far the most cost effective and least sweaty option! the staff were so friendly and accommodating, we arrvied really late at night after staying somewhere really grotty and they sorted us out immediately. the room was incredibly clean and the bathroom was a god send compared to what we'd previously experienced. pretty powerful shower with hot water with a sliding door. the food downstairs was suprisingly good for a little hotel offering food on the side. would definitely return. internet readily available downstairs and wifi in all the rooms free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was my first hotel in Thailand and I was really impressed, it's clearly a good price but I found the staff to be professional and helpful, the room was clean and I would definitely stay here again. Plus, there's a great little cut-through to Kao San Road on a cute little bridge over the river that I only found on my last night; gutted!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritBackPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#224 of 884 in Bangkok
205 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#349 of 884 in Bangkok
420 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#315 of 884 in Bangkok
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#363 of 884 in Bangkok
448 reviews
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#362 of 884 in Bangkok
322 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#357 of 884 in Bangkok
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House

Address: 4 Samsen Road | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Bangkok
Diamond Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing