We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and comfortable for a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond House
Ranked #293 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I thought this hotel was fine for the price. The location was very good - we mostly took taxis everywhere we needed to go but most of the rides were quick and cheap enough. The hotel is not near any of the public transit options - subway or Skytrain, so be prepared to walk, take a taxi or learn the bus system.

We were on the sixth floor of the hotel. We never had hotel noise, although the traffic noise was loud. We put white noise on our cell phone and always had the a/c blasting so that drowned it out enough. The room was small, but comfortable.

We had plenty of hot water at night for showers, but hot water was difficult to come by in the morning. The water would cycle between warm and cold. If you want the room serviced you have to turn in your hotel key and let the staff know that's what you want. Otherwise they won't do anything to your room. That didn't bother us, but we did have to ask the staff for more toilet paper and bath gel.

They also require a 500 baht deposit for the room key. You get this back when you check out. However, this was our last hotel before leaving the country, so it was a bit nerve wracking to know we had 500 baht to spend at the very end. We ended up taking a taxi to the airport and negotiated a 500 baht rate with the driver, so that took care of that.

The staff wasn't incredibly helpful in terms of helping us plan our days so we handled all of that on our own. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we always went out for our meals. There is a great restaurant down the street that we ate at nearly every day. Jenny Restaurant is to the right as you walk out the door of the hotel, walk two blocks then turn right again. There are four tables outside with plaid tablecloths. Great dinners and breakfasts that are very cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    143
    75
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
136
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

It's a nice hotel felt safe room cleaned everyday staff attentive nice clean resturant with good simple Thai food:) it is next door to a better hotel if you want a better resturant;) and good 7-11 around the corner. Close to Khoa San Road away from the hustle. One thing they should mention Very Good Blues Bar across the Street for drinks and Good Live Music!!!! And some nice small bars and coffee shops around the corner. Taxis drive by all day the desk will also call one for u.
Doesn't have a Pool:/ and there is a Chinese Buddhist Temple in the basement walkout that have frequent festivities, I'm talking music, drums and fireworks which could be a plus cause its cool to watch or minus depending on what time u need to be up in the morning? Has typical small Asian Rooms the Bunk I had was nice it was extra space:)
I would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misslovelygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarm
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed two nights, in a third floor double room. we found firstly that the price was very good 1200 baht for a night.

we were happy with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, and found the bed to be fairly comfortable.... which is normally pretty good in Thailand!

we had a few extras like cheaply stocked mini bar and a TV with a good selection of channels!

a few of the other reviews regard this hotel as quiet at night, I have to disagree a little, mainly down to traffic noise, this may be as we had a road facing room so perhaps ask for one that isn't facing the road.....

we did have a meal in the hotel, lunch, and found this to be ok, not really worth the cost... we did try to eat a second time but found we were totally ignored....

but there is a little place over the road that does an excellent lasagne! definitely worth a visit...

unfortunately we stayed here as a way of saving money before we left for home... so we never really grew into the hotel.... however with the large number of mixed travellers coming and going you aren't going to get too well known by the staff....

satisfactory stay for the price... just a shame about some of the restaurant staff!

Room Tip: ask for a higher room/ one not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The so called superior deluxe room was incredibly cramped with almost no floor space to put a rucksack down. The staff were friendly but unhelpful when it came to planning our onward journey. Our room was on the second floor above the reception which meant talking and loud thai tv late into the night - I would recommend asking for one higher up if you want to enjoy the more peaceful location of the hotel. The coffee was dire and we did not bother sampling the food as it looked uninspired and there are good restaurants round the corner. The rooftop hot tub was not in action and no effort was made to make it operative but the rooftop is a nice place to relax all the same. It is overpriced and for the money they are asking you can get a bigger better room just round the corner.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor (4 and upwards) to avoid being kept awake by noise from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogicfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
558 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Overview
This is a very good hotel that is close to the old city and attractions but is quiet at night . We stayed here a couple nights in mid October and then again in early November
Positives
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. For $ 30 USD a night for a double room I feel this is good value. Even though the hotel is only about 4 blocks from Khao San road and a 15 minute walk to the Grand Palace, it was very quiet at night. Their breakfast is a bit pricey compared to what you can get down the street, but it is convenient.
Negatives
Room sizes are small and both rooms we used were rather poorly lit. It was too dim to read a book at night in the room. Also, both room had beds that were the hardest we encountered in South East Asia.
Summary
Would I stay here again? Probably, although I may look around and see what the alternatives are.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lonelobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights mid October 2012. The room was small but the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We paid 1200 bhat and our package did not include breakfast but we ate at the hotel in the mornings and thought it to be good and reasonable. Their smoothies were excellent.

The room had bunk beds but we found the bottom bunk to be big enough for the two of us.

The rooftop deck was nice but we didn't really use it since it was so hot out and the swirl pool only had Luke warm water in it.

Location is good as its a short walk to lots of attractions and khao San road (the main road in the area).

I cant say anything bad about this place other than it was pricey for what there is in the area. We are staying in Bangkok again at the end our trip and are opting to try a different hotel that actually has a pool and is cheaper.

Helpful?
Thank Stuntrooster-CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Location is kinda alright as it is close to Khao San, however the hotel lobby is kinda small and most taxi driver would missed the location and you end up having to pay more for cab fare.
Service is alright. Polite enough for me.
Bed is kinda too hard, room is pretty clean. I love the open top floor though nice place to relax. Overall its average for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iqb1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#202 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#294 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#348 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#313 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#343 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House

Property: Diamond House
Address: 4 Samsen Road( Khao San) | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diamond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Bangkok
Diamond Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing