We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean But......”
Review of House by the Pond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House by the Pond
Ranked #437 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 29 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at House By The Pond for one month during the summer of 2007.

While I agree with the above poster that the location is in many ways inconienent, it was not such a big deal for us as we were not pressed for time and enjoyed the walks.

We found the hotel rooms to be clean but poorly maintained. The internet frequently went down and the air conditioners would freeze up and quit working every day or so. This resulted in water spilling out and warping the boards of the hardwood floors. We complained a few times but finally gave up on getting things fixed.

At no time did we feel unsafe while we were at the hotel but sometimes the area around the hotel gets scary at night.

Last but not least, the hotel took two months to credit my visa card to reflect the return of my deposit.

All in all, I would say that this hotel is an average value... if that.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bdavis2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2008

I stayed for two weeks in a one bed apt Oct last year. Pros: Generally well decorated, good size rooms with lovely dark wood smooth flooring. All the expected stuff like modern fridge, kettle, microwave. Staff friendly, cctv on every floor, generally you feel very safe, welcome and unthreatened. Cons: The pool is tiny, Shower ran too hot then too cold… when I told them they didn’t fix! Noisy Air Con units! - No prob during the day but a pain at night. Needed to leave the one in the living room on and keep the bedroom door open to circulate the cool air… don’t know what you’d do in a studio room! Room Service takes about an hour to arrive when they say it’ll take about 30mins, it never took less than 50m and once took 1h 30m making me late for an appointment. One of the things I was looking forwards to was the roof terrace and pool.. it was a big disappointment… You get a reasonable view of downtown but there are 2or3 buildings being built nearby, one of which is literally adjacent and the workers are on site till about midnight making a racket and overlook the pool so it’s too noisy and your getting watched by laborers! The general noise from local building work is a problem and massively disturbs the peace. Transport… the place is too far from the BTS and MRT (Bout 20mins) to walk and there are roads to be walked down that don’t have pavements.. pollution and risk of being run over by crazy motorbike taxi drivers. Also because the place is on a kind of backstreet it can take 10/15mins to get a taxi at times because there are just none going past. The security guy will flag a cab down for you but you still often end up standing in the rain waiting for a cab getting stared at by laborers. Oh yeah, the balconies.. one for living room and one for bedroom. The outside bit of the air con unit takes up about half the space, making things even hotter and noisier than it already is outside there. In summation, don’t stay somewhere so out of the way! If you are just going to work and back everyday then consider it because the rooms are great (provided you get one with a good shower!) but otherwise you can get places like “The Victory” over the other side of town with great pool, fantastic transport links and loads of amenities on your doorstep. Choice is yours though. J

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimBobJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We stayed at the house by the pond hotel in bangkok for 2 nights - $50 per night. This hotel is OK, with small apartments (sitting area, bedroom, bathroom and kitchenette). A few things to be aware of - dont leave your key at reception in the hotel building (the main reception is across the road in the serviced apartment building) - this is permanently not manned by staff and I easily reached over and took back our key, noting many other room keys left for anyone to walk in and help themselves. The rooms are a bit dated in terms of decor, frankly you can get better for the price in Bangkok. The one major downside to this hotel is the distance from the sky train or MRT, it's a good 15/20 minutes walk off Sukhumvit and not recommended for lone female travellers. There are many more hotels much closer to the action. That said the staff where friendly. and welcoming and the rooms clean........so if everything else is full and you dont' mind some excersise, or taxi's....then this is a feasible option.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank KatieM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: The tuck is the more original of the two buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jérôme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseByThePond, Guest Relations Manager at House by the Pond, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Els R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket230, Owner at House by the Pond, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#336 of 896 in Bangkok
737 reviews
Charlie House Pinklao
#219 of 896 in Bangkok
267 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#282 of 896 in Bangkok
78 reviews
Siam Piman Hotel
#442 of 896 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Sukhumvit
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 22
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 22
#417 of 896 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House by the Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House by the Pond

Address: 230/3 Soi Sai Namthip 2, Sukhumvit 22 | Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House by the Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first international serviced apartment complex that makes you feel at home. Quotes from Jones Lang Wootton Asia Pacific Property 1996 Page 38 "The First International Standard serviced apartments in Bangkok which opened in 1991." House by the Pond is a period residence set in lush tropical surroundings full of greenery with a mature garden and a pond. House by the Pond is ideally located in the middle of the Sukhumvit area of central Bangkok within walking distance to the great entertainment and shopping centers and moments away from the Promphong and Asoke sky train BTS stations and the Queen Sirikit Convention Centre MRT underground station. We have many styles and room sizes, high standards and security which ensure the most comfortable stay at a very satisfying price. We provide roomy comfortable fully serviced apartments with a kitchen in each apartment, 24 hour security, free Wi-Fi high speed internet, room service, limousine service, self- service laundry, a roof top pool and sun deck with an extensive panoramic view of the city, a gym and a mature garden with an iconic pond which is a place of peace, serenity and tranquility to relax in the heart of the Bangkok metropolis. In addition, House By The Pond has a English Colonial style lounge area for all to enjoy and relax. The atmosphere is best described as being warm, friendly, charming and, above all, homely as all of our buildings are low rise. The architectural style of House By the Pond is truly refine and unique to Bangkok as it is of traditional period style. We have been in the industry for a very long time and pride ourselves in being one of the best valued for money serviced apartments in Thailand as we were one of the first serviced apartments to specialize in the international expat clientele and one which is truly a peaceful international residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your House by the Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House By The Pond Hotel Bangkok
Hotel By The Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing