We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House by the Pond
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriental Residence Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
46
28
22
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
28
22
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotorcycle taxirooftop poolcleaning suppliescentral bangkokmain buildingplace to staysukhumvit roadair connice stayluxury hotellocation is excellentthe ground floorapartmentskytrainramaflooringfurnishings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very old repair, probably made in the '70s. Very old air conditioners without power control and temperature (broken switch) are switching on in the corridor. Very noisy. Weak water pressure in the shower. Hot water is within the first minute. Old jammed carpets and old furniture. Internet is some times very good and some times very slowly. There are many mosquitoes. From where they were taken is not clear. The windows were closed. After 20:00 at Reception not be seen anyone. There are no security, but a lot of cameras. Come in, take what you carry away. Poor sound insulation, can hear everything that happens on the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brabusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Yes, it's inexpensive. And yes, it's off the beaten path of Sukumvit Soi 22, well away from the massage parlors and street side bars with the typical ebb and flow of Bangkok night life. But nearly every aspect in this architecturally delightful but sadly decomposing building is desperately in need of attention. Threadbare carpets, rickety light fixtures, creaky furniture, aging beds and walls that could write volumes if they could tell stories all conspire to make HBTP a rather sad place. The staff try hard and it's no-frills comfort at its most basic, but in fairness you can do much better a couple of sois away for roughly the same price. I'd return for another visit, mostly to see if the owners pony up and give the wonderful building and grounds the attention it deserves and seems to be crying out for. With some money and attention to detail (how cleaning the leaves out of the entries every day or so?) it could be a wonderful spot.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the outdoor fluorescent lights, as the curtains are too thin to keep the light out. Also try to arrive in daylight. I got there after dark and nearly did an about face. Though I'm accustomed to dicey digs throughout Southeast Asia (I live in Cambodia), HBTP has a haunted, looming feel about it once the lights go out.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bawstindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Tucked away just off Soi 22 is this little gem. Consisting of two buildings a newer modern building which i stayed in on my first trip (90sqm apartment with kitchen and lounge plus 2 huge rooms with balcony and en suite) was rather impressive. The second a older building which i stayed in a studio apartment which i found to be great, had lots of room was super clean and comfortable.

Lots of places to eat,drink and play pool...prices in the area are a little high due to all the expat /business people living nearby. If you like privacy and comfort and don't mind paying a little more, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jawdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed at House by the Pond on and off for a period of two weeks. When we arrived, we were struck by the charm of this gem of a hideaway in central Bangkok. We each had a comfortable, air conditioned and well appointed suite. Room service is available and the management would call a car if needed. We felt safe due to a 24 hour guard.
The hotel is lovely with intimate gardens. We would wake up to hear the sound of birds...a little oasis in the center of the city. The decor is charming, giving a feeling of being at home. The style of furnishings is both Thai and European in combination. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our laundry was done the next day.
I definitely prefer House by the Pond to any other luxury hotel in BKK. It has the intimacy and charm that larger hotels lack, and is nestled in a quiet, but central, part of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chaucer18701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

A nice place if you're going to stay a while, in that it's a cheap and cheerful roof over your head. The decor is straight out of the 1970s, and may be original pieces. We found that the rooms were not cleaned to a high standard, the wifi was intermittent (at best), and the kitchen was almost unusable. (The knobs on the burners had long ago been stripped of their markings, and the light that indicated whether the burners were on had burnt out, which meant that trying to figure out which burner was on what setting was an lengthy and risky exercise.) That said, food in Thailand is cheap, so eating in is rarely a value conscious option.

Throughout our stay, the air conditioner leaked profusely onto the floor, to the point that we were worried it would start raining in the apartment below. They repeatedly sent someone up to "fix" it, and it repeatedly failed.

The location is not ideal: it's about a fifteen minute walk to Sukhumvit, and cabs are sometimes unable to find the House.

All this said, it's cheap and the staff are helpful, making it a pleasant place to stay. The fitness center is nice, with more machines than I would have expected at this price. The hotel simply needs a lot of investment to fix up the interior.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews