We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful accommodation in nature with good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House by the Pond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
House by the Pond
Ranked #429 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beautiful accommodation in nature with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I had a really pleasant experience stay at House by the Pond. The staff were really lovely and seemed genuinely caring. There is a security guard on the premises who is always polite and helpful.
The room itself was massive. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment, so I had a large bedroom, lounge-room, bathroom and full kitchen.
The grounds are quite beautiful. The building is situated in a tropical jungle, which makes for a really nice contrast to the streets of Bangkok. When I looked out my window I saw trees and birds. The furnishes were older but quite charming.
I really liked the location. It is located in the middle of the soi and one direction will take you down to the Sukhumvit Road where you can catch a train or bus or walk to Emporium. In the other direction you get to Rama 4 and can walk to Tesco and even Klong Toei markets.
The only drawback was the gym. I would say don't even bother trying it out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mannequinmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket230, Manager at House by the Pond, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind
Positive review as regard to the gym we are as of 5 April 13
Have started to renovate it and shall post photo of it soon and
We hope next time you are back it should be ready for your use
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
24
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Can you imagine being just minutes away from Bangkok's prime shopping, dining, and entertainment establishments on Sukhumvit Road, yet you are surrounded by trees, a light breeze, bird songs, and a timeless colonial charm? There's no need to imagine, because every time in Bangkok I stay at House By the Pond and it's the reality here. The price is affordable, the location fantastic - you can comfortably walk to the closest MRT train or take a 20 baht motorbike taxi to the BTS Skytrain or a couple of Bangkok's premier shopping malls complete with cinema at Terminal 21 and The Emporium. Although it's a quiet side street, taxis pass by very often as well. The rooms are comfortable and good value with kitchen too - many of the problems that other users here have reported have already been resolved by extensive renovations. It's not perfect, but it has charm and character, and there are too many positives about this place to dwell on the few negatives. Did I mention the small rooftop pool with a great view over the city skyline? In short this is one of the best places to stay while you're in Bangkok, especially for those looking long term as it will become your home, so do yourself a favor and check it out while you're here.

Room Tip: There are three buildings to choose from - one is quite modern while the other two have the classy c...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Shakar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

House by the Pond is a hidden gem of a place. Nestled in the green heart of Sukhumvit 22 and a stones-throw away from Bangkok's many popular haunts, House by the Pond makes a serene getaway. Surrounded by a lush tropical garden, the old house adds a traditional touch with it's colonial decor and old Siam charm. Something of the fabled Oriental springs to mind - minus the glitz. Charming, affordable and a great location from which to explore Bangkok - definitely coming back!!

Room Tip: There are two buildings to House by the Pond and I am told the white one is soon being sold. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

HBP was one of nicest place to stay in Bangkok. Now is getting old and not well maintained. sometime is a bit dirty and the new management thai are more concerned about making money than taking care of the building. Is a real pity because could be very beutiful and in a perfect location

Room Tip: ask to visit the room when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket230, Manager at House by the Pond, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We very much appreciated your critical review and has since renovated all of our room in the old part of house by the pond how ever as we do not aspire to be modern as our original building was build over 70 years ago we have kept to the old yesteryear style however if u like the modern style you are welcome to booked in to our new building please advise the reception when u make your booking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I re-locate to Bangkok every year for the winter and I have been doing it for the last 5 years. It's to get away from the cold and short days of New York. I love NYC in the summer time but the best place I've found to stay during the winter is Bangkok.

I stumbled upon House by the Pond back in 2008 through a blog post. I was looking for a residential hotel where I could stay a couple of months for a reasonable price but still right in the middle of Bangkok. House by the Pond is perfectly situated between Asok and Phrom Phong BTS on a sub soi off of Sukhumvit 22 called Sai nam tip 2. There's quite a few options for long termers on this street. I checked out a few but I immediately fell in love with House by the Pond for its roof deck. It has a nice pool, sun chairs and it's super quiet even though you're only 5 minutes away from one of the busiest streets in Bangkok. It's my sanctuary. Bring a book there at 4pm sit for a couple of hours and you'll know what I mean.

The apartments are fully furnished and are cleaned, on request, every day. Kitchen, bathroom(s), TV, Wifi, A/C; it's all there. The beds are comfortable and I have a nice view. I run my own DSL line into my apartment as this is my work and the receptionist sets it up for me in a couple of days. When I have parties on the roof, they offer up one of their staff to cook / bbq our food for a token amount.

All in all, I consider House by the Pond to be the best value for my dollars. I've been coming back here for 4 years already and I still haven't found a comparable establishment.

p.s. Hit me up if you have any other questions

Cheers
Bjorn

Room Tip: They're all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bjornharvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed for one month in the newer building which has the swimming pool on the roof. So please note this review is only in reference for that building, as I never went into the other building, which is located right around the corner. Before you decide to check in have a look at the rooms they can offer. The first one they showed me was backed up to the street and the AC was not delivering cold air. I did not take the first offering and chose a one bedroom unit on a higher floor.

The Good : Location did not bother me as I could take a motorcycle taxi ( right in front of the bldg ) to Sukhumvit and walk to the train station in about 12 minutes. There are also Car Taxi's driving by and fairly available if you walk out and go to the nearby corner. Staff seemed helpfull where empowered. The roof pool is nice for evening swims and or nite-caps. Nice wooden floors with wood trim. My room was quiet as I was at the end of the building and had no one across or next to me. 2 TV's... one in the living area and one in the bedroom with 1 DVD player and 1 music player.

The Bad : Wi- Fi Internet here is terrible! If you have to work and or have deadlines / emails that you need to get out, do not stay here. You get dropped off every15 to 30 minutes, very slow surfing and the entire building was down for 1.5 days in one episode. When you call them daily to tell them you do not have a signal, they reset the modem and hope for the best. I-Net Service always seemed to lag the worst between Sat evenings and Sundays. I actualy got another hotel just so i could have dependable internet service. Meaning I had two rentals at the same time for the last week of my stay. For an extra 1000 thb they can hook up a land line but plan in advance as it takes 2 days to get this set up. My feeling is they should hard wire each room until they get the dependability issue resolved Apparently the staff has notified the owner of the amount of complaints they receive, and the ownership does not want to make the necesary investment to upgrade to a dependable service. In this day and age this will kill their business.

The AC is loud due to lack of maintenace and is not remote controlled. The stove does not get hot enough to boil water, stove tops are outdated and the knobs are so worn that you can not even see the settings. Lots of Ants so be carefull with any food. The hand held shower head I had in my bathroom was about 5 feet high with very low water pressure. When taking a shower you had to lean underneath ( if not hand holding the water head ) and made the process uncomfortable, and I am not that tall. The furniture is dated and uncomfortable. Sheets are dirty and changed every 7 days. Towel service is every 10 days.

SUMMARY: There are 3 serviced apartments very nearby that are newer and will offer a more comfortable stay at a lower price. I paid 23000 baht for a one bedroom for 30 days and now know that I can find untis that are cheaper while providing better accomodations. Try Belleville , Serenita or Charming Resident apartments before deciding on House by the Pond.....

Room Tip: Take a room away from the street. Try the AC and Shower pressure before choosing your unit,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gustoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket230, Manager at House by the Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We apologize for the problem that you have encountered this is due to the local service provider are replacing the cable which run from the main rd to the soi when they finished doing that it should be better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very old repair, probably made in the '70s. Very old air conditioners without power control and temperature (broken switch) are switching on in the corridor. Very noisy. Weak water pressure in the shower. Hot water is within the first minute. Old jammed carpets and old furniture. Internet is some times very good and some times very slowly. There are many mosquitoes. From where they were taken is not clear. The windows were closed. After 20:00 at Reception not be seen anyone. There are no security, but a lot of cameras. Come in, take what you carry away. Poor sound insulation, can hear everything that happens on the floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brabusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#276 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#384 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlie House Pinklao
#221 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House by the Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House by the Pond

Property: House by the Pond
Address: 230/3 Soi Sai Namthip 2, Sukhumvit 22 | Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — House by the Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first international serviced apartment complex that makes you feel at home. Quotes from Jones Lang Wootton Asia Pacific Property 1996 Page 38 "The First International Standard serviced apartments in Bangkok which opened in 1991." House by the Pond is a period residence set in lush tropical surroundings full of greenery with a mature garden and a pond. House by the Pond is ideally located in the middle of the Sukhumvit area of central Bangkok within walking distance to the great entertainment and shopping centers and moments away from the Promphong and Asoke sky train BTS stations and the Queen Sirikit Convention Centre MRT underground station. We have many styles and room sizes, high standards and security which ensure the most comfortable stay at a very satisfying price. We provide roomy comfortable fully serviced apartments with a kitchen in each apartment, 24 hour security, free Wi-Fi high speed internet, room service, limousine service, self- service laundry, a roof top pool and sun deck with an extensive panoramic view of the city, a gym and a mature garden with an iconic pond which is a place of peace, serenity and tranquility to relax in the heart of the Bangkok metropolis. In addition, House By The Pond has a English Colonial style lounge area for all to enjoy and relax. The atmosphere is best described as being warm, friendly, charming and, above all, homely as all of our buildings are low rise. The architectural style of House By the Pond is truly refine and unique to Bangkok as it is of traditional period style. We have been in the industry for a very long time and pride ourselves in being one of the best valued for money serviced apartments in Thailand as we were one of the first serviced apartments to specialize in the international expat clientele and one which is truly a peaceful international residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your House by the Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House By The Pond Hotel Bangkok
Hotel By The Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing