We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House by the Pond
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$80
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
US$229
Okura Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$100
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
46
28
22
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
28
22
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotorcycle taxirooftop poolcleaning suppliescentral bangkokmain buildingplace to staysukhumvit roadair connice stayluxury hotellocation is excellentthe ground floorapartmentskytrainramaflooringfurnishings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at House By The Pond for one month during the summer of 2007.

While I agree with the above poster that the location is in many ways inconienent, it was not such a big deal for us as we were not pressed for time and enjoyed the walks.

We found the hotel rooms to be clean but poorly maintained. The internet frequently went down and the air conditioners would freeze up and quit working every day or so. This resulted in water spilling out and warping the boards of the hardwood floors. We complained a few times but finally gave up on getting things fixed.

At no time did we feel unsafe while we were at the hotel but sometimes the area around the hotel gets scary at night.

Last but not least, the hotel took two months to credit my visa card to reflect the return of my deposit.

All in all, I would say that this hotel is an average value... if that.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bdavis2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

I stayed for two weeks in a one bed apt Oct last year. Pros: Generally well decorated, good size rooms with lovely dark wood smooth flooring. All the expected stuff like modern fridge, kettle, microwave. Staff friendly, cctv on every floor, generally you feel very safe, welcome and unthreatened. Cons: The pool is tiny, Shower ran too hot then too cold… when I told them they didn’t fix! Noisy Air Con units! - No prob during the day but a pain at night. Needed to leave the one in the living room on and keep the bedroom door open to circulate the cool air… don’t know what you’d do in a studio room! Room Service takes about an hour to arrive when they say it’ll take about 30mins, it never took less than 50m and once took 1h 30m making me late for an appointment. One of the things I was looking forwards to was the roof terrace and pool.. it was a big disappointment… You get a reasonable view of downtown but there are 2or3 buildings being built nearby, one of which is literally adjacent and the workers are on site till about midnight making a racket and overlook the pool so it’s too noisy and your getting watched by laborers! The general noise from local building work is a problem and massively disturbs the peace. Transport… the place is too far from the BTS and MRT (Bout 20mins) to walk and there are roads to be walked down that don’t have pavements.. pollution and risk of being run over by crazy motorbike taxi drivers. Also because the place is on a kind of backstreet it can take 10/15mins to get a taxi at times because there are just none going past. The security guy will flag a cab down for you but you still often end up standing in the rain waiting for a cab getting stared at by laborers. Oh yeah, the balconies.. one for living room and one for bedroom. The outside bit of the air con unit takes up about half the space, making things even hotter and noisier than it already is outside there. In summation, don’t stay somewhere so out of the way! If you are just going to work and back everyday then consider it because the rooms are great (provided you get one with a good shower!) but otherwise you can get places like “The Victory” over the other side of town with great pool, fantastic transport links and loads of amenities on your doorstep. Choice is yours though. J

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimBobJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We stayed at the house by the pond hotel in bangkok for 2 nights - $50 per night. This hotel is OK, with small apartments (sitting area, bedroom, bathroom and kitchenette). A few things to be aware of - dont leave your key at reception in the hotel building (the main reception is across the road in the serviced apartment building) - this is permanently not manned by staff and I easily reached over and took back our key, noting many other room keys left for anyone to walk in and help themselves. The rooms are a bit dated in terms of decor, frankly you can get better for the price in Bangkok. The one major downside to this hotel is the distance from the sky train or MRT, it's a good 15/20 minutes walk off Sukhumvit and not recommended for lone female travellers. There are many more hotels much closer to the action. That said the staff where friendly. and welcoming and the rooms clean........so if everything else is full and you dont' mind some excersise, or taxi's....then this is a feasible option.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank KatieM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: The tuck is the more original of the two buildings
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseByThePond, Guest Relations Manager at House by the Pond, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews