We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The superior room is totally worth the money!”
Review of Ruamchitt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ruamchitt Hotel
Ranked #490 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangalore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The superior room is totally worth the money!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

You will see mixed reviews for this hotel because the cheaper rooms (1200baht) have a heavy musty smell and arent very nice, but the more expensive superior rooms (1500baht) are totally worth the money ---- great b'fast, free wifi, spotlessly clean room and toilet!!!

Also, the location is super convenient being just a 3min walk from the nearest metro stop. The only downside is that the view from the room is one of a breathtakingly close brick wall so only use this place if you plan on only crashing there at nights!

Room Tip: The standard room is not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    46
    37
    17
    5
See reviews for
9
17
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HKG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

booked one std room fr 2 nights @ TBH 1200/night. during a transit stop in BKK.
the standard room i got was pretty run down and there was no internet. x-ferred to a deluxe rm (paid extra) and internet was working. room was cleaner, but a number of things such as leaking taps, A/C (window type) was in dire need of maintenance.
location is good (one reason to chose the place), friendly staff.
bottom line is: there r better places in the same area in the same price category.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrthkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

KL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I regretted staying here. I stayed in the standard size room which cost 1200 baht.
The bathroom was small, stuffy and once we 'do our thing', it stinks quite fast.
I have to walk one floor upstairs after getting out of the lift as the lift don't go to every floors.
Breakfast was not included. There was no lounge or common internet area. The rooms are facing the busy road and can be noisy at times.There are not many staff working here. I quickly moved out after the first night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

If you're looking for a hotel with a pool, an extremely convenient location, bacon-and-egg breakfast all at a budget price, then check this place out. However, if you're fussy about the level of accomodation, ie, the cleanliness of the room, etc., then give it a miss.
The rooms seem to differ. I stayed in the corner top room, which was kinda disgusting, stains on the walls, cigarette burns, etc. I later stayed in a less prominent room, and it was Ok. I did enjoy the rooftop pool between shopping and dinner.
Some of the guests were really unpleasant characters, including Japanese mafia, who strode Sukhumvit wearing bathing suits and bearing tattoos. Yuck.
Staff was friendly and the lobby is kind of a fun, active place.

Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank zoomtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Ideally located near Soi 15 on Sukhumvit Rd.
60s style hotel located above a "girly" bar. Suspect some rooms let by the hour.
But we keep returning! No interest in the bars in the area but closeness to markets, shopping and restaurants great. Just over the road from Cabbages & Condoms restaurant, one of our favourites. Robinsons department store nearby, Maccas at the same location. Skytrain and subway stations within a few hundred metres so access to all of Bangkok is no problem.
Rooms a bit tired, some newly renovated ones available last trip. Staff can be a little distant until they get to know you. They were very helpfull when friends of ours were held up in Bangkok during the airport siege.
Breakfast is cooked to your order in the little breakfast room on the top floor, about 120THB gets full American breakfast.
Our favourite feature is the rooftop swimming pool with surrounding garden, what an oasis after a hot day wandering the streets of Bangkok. Never crowded, always clean.
I recommend the Ruamchitt if you are on a budget, rooms are from about 1200thb. Don't get upset about the happenings downstairs just take the place as it is, an affordable hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joffa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I was disappointed when i arrived as the web photos did not accuratley reflect the actual rooms and hotel in general. The Pool is the nicest part of this hotel.
My room was very run donw and baisc. It does have air conditioning - but it is very old and runs at just one seepd and very cold. Clean but very old bedding an furniture.
The lifts are very old and slow and taped up with tape!
No toiletries ( e.g. Shampoo) - just one small stick of soap. One roll of toilet paper.

This hotel is okay if you do not want to spedn ANY time in your room beyond crashing each night.
Despite being right on Sukhunvit Rd, it was quiet enough to sleep.
Better places for similar price. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms Too basic. Security a bit dodgy. Doors did not have proper locks.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Paddypower30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#575 of 858 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Sukhumvit
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
#269 of 858 in Bangkok
783 reviews
Sukhumvit
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#679 of 858 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#476 of 858 in Bangkok
188 reviews
Sukhumvit
Cozy at Ten
Cozy at Ten
#424 of 858 in Bangkok
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruamchitt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruamchitt Hotel

Property: Ruamchitt Hotel
Address: 199 Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey Nue, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Ruamchitt Plaza Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruamchitt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruamchitt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing