We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baiyoke Boutique Hotel
Ranked #639 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 3 August 2012

It’s all about location – airport train, night market etc– all that you might need. But the rooms are very poor, worn out and a bit smelly. The floor covered with all-floor-carpet which feels dirty and sticky when you walk bare foot. Bed linen feels moist. Bathroom is very tired, the shower is very inconvenient to use – especially when small child needs to use that. The walls are most probably made of cardboard so it gets very noisy. Our small son wanted to sleep during the day but it was hard as the cleaning staff was very loud in the corridor. No free Internet (not even in the lobby) was a disappointment as well.

I do not think I would stay here again. By paying a bit more you will have much better options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TotallyFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was my first time to Bangkok so I honestly don't have much to compare it to but my experience with this hotel was that it is OK at best. Decor wise the hotel is basically an old hotel that they spruced up with cheap IKEA furniture. Occasionally we found little insects in the room and the floor had a bit of a sticky feel to it when barefoot. Overall the room was really mediocre. Our biggest problem was that the staff seemed very unhelpful (with some exceptions). The front desk people were especially bad. I left an expensive camera in a cab and asked them to call the cab company since I can not speak Thai, but all they could say is that "it was impossible." You always got the impression you were bothering them. Another big frustration was that there were few complimentary services. They gauged you for internet for example. Internet access cost 150 baht ($5.00) an hour. They had laundry service also, but were surprised to see that we had been charged 750 baht ($25.00) for one load of laundry. Anyway we were pretty disappointed overall, would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isoya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed in room 509 from 21 - 23 July 2012, and took the bed closer to the washroom. After my first night, I woke up with some marks on my arms and hands, which I thought may have been mosquito bites so I didn't really bother much about it. It was only after the second night that I woke up to the sight of a bedbug crawling off, that I realised that the place was infested. I left the hotel with at least 50 itchy bedbug bites mostly on my arms, hands, and neck. This is definitely the first, and very last time I am staying here. A simply disgusting experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jit Wei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Location is the best thing about the hotel, rooms are not that good, especially towels need to change, seems like it has been used for long time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Htein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

very convenient location/transportation & value for money budget hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinatan_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel was upgrading it's old lock and key system to an electronic card system for most of its rooms when I stayed there so I guess this definitely makes the hotel safer. One issue is that the walk back to the hotel from the main road at night, especially past 9pm or so, may be a bit dark but once you hit the market it's okay.

Room was quite clean except for a few ants crawling all over the kettle. No view from our window except the air conditioner and right opposite is a carpark. Draw the curtains because its so easy for people to look into your room!

Excellent location for shopaholics since its around a 10min walk to the fab wholesale centre aka platinum fashion mall. You would need more time if you browse through the market on your way out. Bargain!

For shoppers at platinum mall, usually you have to buy 2-3 pieces or more in order to get the "wholesale price" which is usually much cheaper than the " one piece price". This applies for the market outside the hotel too. So mix and match if it's okay to get bahts off!

Would be even better if they had free wifi for guests!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

transportation - Hotel just located at walking distance of airport train station. It is very convenient to just take the train from airport to reach the hotel as believe take a cab will be cosy just for 2 persons. Hotel provided free shuttler service to major shopping centre everyday such as Siam paragon shopping mall area, from there you can actually take a train to anywhere you wish to go. Just make sure you wait nearby the hotel to get the Free shuttle service. if not sure, pls ask the front desk officer.
take a cab is better to take a tuk tuk but take a tuk tuk at least once to experience. Tuk Tuk normally is expensive than cab. Take a cab with using meter is better and fair.

Food - so far so good. regret not to take a chance to having dinner at baiyoke sky tower which is very famous in bangkok. As baiyoke hotel is a sister hotel of sky tower, price is affordable which is 50% from the package.

Price - Hotel price is good and affordable. Suitable for couple/friends and family but breakfast is not included.

other - Night market everyday and pratunam shopping market was just walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#719 of 887 in Bangkok
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
#294 of 887 in Bangkok
4,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#736 of 887 in Bangkok
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
PJ Watergate Hotel
PJ Watergate Hotel
#608 of 887 in Bangkok
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Watergate Hotel
Grand Watergate Hotel
#749 of 887 in Bangkok
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baiyoke Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyoke Boutique Hotel

Address: 120/359 Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Stella House)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#155 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £26 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baiyoke Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baiyoke Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyoke Boutique Bangkok
Hotel Baiyoke Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing