We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #125 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. It is conveniently located near a large shopping mall. the rooms were nice and the service was good. However, we had to wait for a long time (2 hours), even after the check-in time as the rooms weren't ready.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    857
    276
    71
    46
See reviews for
518
708
130
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a great experience. We only stayed one night en route back home, but could have stayed a week. Very central for shopping. Walkway into large shopping mall next door. We were given an upgrade to a large suite which was lovely. Very big and spacious. We asked about street markets and the guy at receptions said we had to get a taxi, so we did, but onvpxenthentaxi got to the main road there were street stalls everywhere. We hopped out and shopped very close to the hotel. Would go back anytime. Breakfast restaurant is huge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a room through agoda which was one tier below the club room. Upon arrival, we were told that we had to wait as the room wasn't ready. Given that we were traveling with two young kids itching for a nap and it was way past check-in time, we asked how long we had to wait. We got an irate reply from the staff that they were fully booked (which I thought was irrelevant given that it was way past their check out time) and therefore we had to wait. He kept wanting to usher us to the lounge to wait and finally we had no choice but to do so. We had to keep going back to chase them and it seemed that we weren't the only irate ones waiting in the lounge. The staff finally got back to us after about half an hour but he was brimming with friendliness this time, and told us that he had upgraded us to a club room on a very high floor and even showed us to the room. Although we were given that we were given an upgrade to the club room, we later found out that we were not entitled to any other club room privileges such as access to the club lounge, which kind of smacked of miserliness. However, we did enjoy the room which was relatively modern and spacious, giving us enough space for a baby cot provided by the hotel (a wooden one with wheels, where one side of the cot rail can be unlatched and folded down) and our own travel cot for our 3 year old. The view from the room also occupied our 3 year old for a fair bit of the time we were in the room as he could spot trains and boats (along the klong). I liked the positioning of the bathroom slightly away from the bed because it meant that any noise from activity in the bathroom would be minimized (important not to wake the babies when they are asleep!). Breakfast was a buffet with a good spread and they have sturdy baby chairs with straps. Tables are spaced relatively apart, allowing for strollers to be brought into the cafe and parked at your table. Great direct access to central world through the 22nd floor which has an escalator that brings you down to the cinema level of central world. We had an umbrella stroller so it wasn't really a problem to bring it down the escalator, but be forewarned if you have a big heavy stroller. It was abit of a pain having to always switch elevators to get to road level - from our room we had to take an elevator to the lobby, then we had to switch to another elevator that brings you down to the ground level. The bellboys and staff on the ground level were always ready and attentive though and friendly towards our kids. While we didn't have a good start with the hotel, we did end up having a good experience. Hopefully they will improve on the check in procedures.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dantine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We thank you for your comments and are most happy you enjoyed your upgraded room.

We do apologise for the delay in accessing your room.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 3311. It was a cramped corner room with the bathroom looking way bigger than the room. Was there for 3 nights. Staff was somewhat aloof. The location saved us. Shopping was fun, with all the major malls a short distance away. But the worst was - Cockroaches in our room! That scared me because if the rooms have them then what about the kitchen. I request the management to get hold of pest control guys and make the hotel pest free. Shall think twice before staying at Centara Grand Bangkok.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vinay l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We sincerely apologise that a pest was found in your room. The pest control company was immediately informed and a total spray treatment has been conducted.

Again, we must apologise, this is not the standard to which we operate.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with family. Check in was superb! Greeted by several staff and the manager at the door. Whisked up to the 23rd floor where reception is located and checked in with a refreshing cold drink. Booked 2 interconnecting rooms both clean and modern with a fabulous round bath tub in one of them. Used the pool area which was nice and the gym looked well equipped. Unfortunately ran out of time to use it. Ate in The World Restaurant one night, not overly impressed,food average and quite expensive. Also had a drink in the rooftop bar. Views were magnificent unfortunately my husbands beer glass was dirty therefore he had flat beer. Also the chairs were extremely uncomfortable and the cane tables need glass on top of them as it was tricky to balance a glass. Did not eat at the buffer breakfast but down stairs at the coffee shop near the entrance of the hotel, croissants, muffins, juice and coffee all freshly made to order and very tasty. Location of hotel within walking distance to a lot of major shopping centres including Central World, MBK, Siam Square and Siam Paragon to name a few. Would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank diannefmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location is good, next to Central World shopping centre. Staff were not very friendly and didn't seem to be aware of promotions offered by the hotel so wasted a lot of time trying to prove to staff what we were entitled to. We stayed using a family explorer promotion. Room was ok but shower leaked to the point of flooding the bathroom floor. Reception is on 23rd floor and then rooms above that so need to catch two elevators just to get outside which can take a long time when busy. Overall there are many other hotels in this area that have much better service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I think i overpaid for the cockpit kind of a room where the shower space was covering the room more..Just an average hotel.Loved their Skybar and the one at the reception side.Food quality was good.More of a self service kind hotel,"You pay you stay we dont care".Morning buffet was good.

Room Tip: Even after the upgraded room.It was too compact with no balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovely N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trip Adviosr Reviewer,

We thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel outlets and quality of food.

We do regret that your room type booked was not to your total satisfaction.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#63 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,866 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#102 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Property: Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#108 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of the city, Bangkok has a state of the art Convention Centre, fully integrated with a Five Star Hotel and world class shopping and entertainment facilities. The Bangkok Convention Centre and the Centara Grand together make a stunning landmark on the city skyline. Inspired by the shape of a blooming lotus and its symbolic theme of the four elements of life: water, earth, air and fire, Bangkok has a new icon. Connected to CentralWorld, Bangkok's world class shopping centre which incorporates hundreds of retail and dining outlets including leading brand names such as Isetan Department store and 15 movie theatres, the whole development constitutes a unique and unbeatable combination of meeting, business, accommodation, entertainment and shopping facilities all together in one place - CentralWorld. Situated in the heart of Bangkok's business district, delegates will also find many Tourist attractions within easy reach. Easy access to the BTS (Skytrain), which also links to the MRTS (Sub Way) network and convenient access by car and coach to Rajdamri Road and Rama 1 Road provide convenient connections to other areas in the city centre and the inbound and outbound expressway - and Suvarnabhumi Airport is just half an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays and Ctrip TA so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing