We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food”

Big Mama Tapas Bar & Bistro (Spanish Food)
Ranked #647 of 10,839 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

A friend recommended this place and it does have really amazing Thai food but like others have mention their service is a bit poor. The food comes out fast or slow depending on what your order. The waitress are quite forget full after asking for water I had to ask again after 10 minutes as she forget. I notice a man across from me ask another waitress for a bowl of rice also he had to ask again. I went with a bunch of friends and my one friend didn't receive his food until almost our party of 6 finished. The food is truly amazing and the price is really decent. I would highly recommend this place to eat at if you are ever in the area but you most be patient with the service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcxny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We went there during our stay in Bangkok, the Italian food they offered was amazing! The Tom Yum Pasta tasted nice and spicy, and came with a clay pot. However since they had too many customers but not enough waiters/waitresses. It is almost impossible to get attention from them. I tried to order a drink but it never arrived, and the waitress was so puzzled while I asked for ice lemon tea (and did not have the time to understand). It's a pity that the service made the experience not a perfect one given that the food was so great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monodoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great pizza and Italian food, great value”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We lived in the neighborhood for more than 5 years, and Big Mama's was one of our favorite restaurants in Bangkok.

Next door, Madam Saranair Thai restaurant is by the same owner and is more spacious. You can sit in either restaurant and order from either or both menus.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aardvigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This little place is just a short distance from Asoke and Sukumvit in the heart of the city. We ordered pizza and pasta and were very happy with both. Priced very reasonable with beer and wine available . Defiantly order the thin crust pizza if your a fan of New York stle

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine and great atmosphere. The quality of te food is much better then Italian restaurants in italy!!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Amazing cuisine and great atmosphere. The quality of te food is much better then Italian restaurants in italy!!!!
Don't miss it, I suggest you to try the best italian restaurant in bangkok!!! Another free tip...next door of big mama you can found amazing Thai restaurant under the name "Madam Saranir", it's fine cousins amazing taste that will remain in your mouth till your next visit in Bangkok!!! And the most important think you will be complitly soprised from The atractive prices!!! Gays... After you will enjoy Don't forget to share this information with our friends in the net!!! All deserve to enjoy from that!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Mama Tapas Bar & Bistro (Spanish Food) also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Big Mama Tapas Bar & Bistro (Spanish Food)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing