We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great French Cuisine in the Orient”

Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental
Ranked #3 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$158
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: Under refurbishment and will reopen in December 2015
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great French Cuisine in the Orient”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Seated by the oversized windows and viewing the river scene five stories below bears a strange similarity to watching the tour boats along the Seine in Paris - save for the exotic oriental look to the river boats. The similarity to Paris doesn't end there as the superbly prepared and presented food is uniquely French. From the five delicate gastrochemical teasers from quail egg in cucumber infusion, to an explode in your mouth balloon of liquid ginger carrot elixir - these were reminiscent of the gastromy of Ferran and Blumenthal - outstanding. Chef Arnaud Dunnan Sautier has served in the best cuisines of France and his talent shows. My favorite, though all dishes were outstanding, was the perfectly cooked and sauced breast of pigeon. In décor and all other aspects of fine dining, this was a three star experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sobederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    124
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant at the very best hotel!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great Restaurant at the very best hotel!
Superb food and price goes along it! Well worth a visit if you never been here before! Nice location along the chao prao river!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweden040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear sweden040,

Wow!! Thank you for sharing your fabulous review on TripAdvisor!
‘Great restaurant and the very best hotel’ sounds fantastic indeed, thank you for your heartfelt recommendations. I will certainly share your kind words with the Oriental Family and our Le Normandie team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ and Le Normandie in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
““Classic Perfection””
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is the classic of fine dining in Bangkok. A perfect experience in all senses. Perfect food, perfect service, beautiful place, hard to explain how much we enjoyed. A festival of flavors, senses and emotions. From the moment we arrived we were pampered in every way possible. The ambience was just magical, the service impeccable, attentive yet unobtrusive. We had Chef Arnaud’s Tasting Menu, and countless courses later we are extremely satisfied. It is not cheap but worthwhile. If you have the desire to try it once, go for it! You might want to try it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Da_Vxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Da_Vxg,

Many thanks for this glowing review and lovely comments. I am delighted to hear that you had a “perfect experience in all senses” and that you especially enjoyed the service, personal touches, Chef Arnaud’s culinary delights and magical ambiance.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit!

Warmest personal regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine dinning, at its finest!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was on assignment at one of my employer's manufacturing facilities in Rayong, and decided to take a three day weekend to sight see in Bangkok. I had researched this restaurant prior to my visit. At the time, it was the only Michelin rated restaurants in all of SE Asia. I was not disappointed. The dinning room sits at the top of the Mandarin hotel and is surrounded by glass on all sides allowing for spectacular views regardless of where you are seated. It also has it's own elevator inside the hotel. I had a multi course meal, each course with its own glass of wine. The food was amazing. The service was amazing. Everything about this place was amazing. When I go back to Bangkok, I'll definitely be making another reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THEDoubleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear THEDoubleJ,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to learn of your appreciation of Le Normandie’s legendary Oriental service and the culinary delights. I will be sure to share your feedback with Restaurant Manager Rahman, Chef Arnaud and their teams. They will be glad to know what a positive impression they had upon your latest evening with us.

Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ soon for another wonderful and exquisite dinner.

Warmest regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
267 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A destination spot”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Located in the beautiful Mandarin Oriental hotel, the well appointed and elegant restaurant provides some spectacular nighttime views of the river and the city. The offering is French influenced, from the food to the expansive wine list. The quality of the food and service will rival most other establishments, but the prices will cause an intake of breath. Especially galling is the the price of wine. This is not unique to this restaurant as it appears to be a trait at a vast majority of fine restaurants in the far east. however, the pricing here is is at nosebleed levels with the markups exceeding 4-5 times the retail price relative to North America. It does give some cause to put a damper on an otherwise delightful experience. Still, its worth a visit if you want to splurge for a special occasion. Recommend the tasting menu with matching wine. Our dinner for 2 with one person having the matching wine came in at a cool $625.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing