We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Dome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Dome Inn
Ranked #354 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Ok for the money”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before leaving for Koh Tao with the bus next day.

Very backpacker, but We needed a bed and a TV, and that they had for little money.

We might stay here when We return, but maybe we will have some recommendations from people we meet on our trip. I have considered Sukhumvit area as well.

The room was clean and normal. Bed comfy and the staff was good to us when we were there, so over all nice short experience.

I am not sure if I like Khao San road, but many nice small food places in the area. The street kitchens are good.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    30
    18
    22
See reviews for
4
40
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in a fan double room. First impression of room was okay-clean and all we needed and expected. Staff are a bit miserable but restaurant food is okay.
However, we were paying 460baht a night and our fan was useless so all our stay was more or less sleepless - advice : never ditch on aircon ever. Lack of cold air in Bangkok heat can make it really miserable.
Also we looked down the road and kicked ourselves when we saw similar standard of rooms (with fans) for 150 baht.
Location is juat behind khao san road which is great but can still get quite noisy.
All in all, not awful but value for money ia a bit off! Backpackers go elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip. I was kind of in the party mode so I was not bothered by the blaring music in the club next store that went on through all hours of the night. However, if I had tried to go to sleep before 2-3am it would have been a major problem. The food in the restaurant was OK and the air conditioning worked well.

Room Tip: Air Conditioning is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The staff are not very helpful, i don't like hotel with not-polite their hotel staff, bedroom are small and not clean, behind the hostel are nightclub which are very noisy every night, they done in 3 or 4 in in the morning, i cannot sleep,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuwanda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

If you are lucky, you got a non-noisy room and then you can have a good sleep...If you got a noisy one, good luck!
Room : not beautiful but clean enough. Hot shower.
Staff : not good, not bad...they just don't care
Important thing : check-in at 4.30 AM !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikeasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived at 10.30pm with no reservation and they were very accommodating. Free wifi was good, worked in the restaurant and in the bedrooms.

Staff not overly friendly, but were not rude.

On a second trip to Bangkok after an overnight bus from Chaing Mai and needed a room for the day to freshen up before another overnight journey. They were more than happy to let 4 of us stay in a double room for the day.

Overall very good hostel/inn.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My friend and I moved to this hostel as it was 300baht cheaper than our previous hotel and had wifi and hot showers and was more central. If you are looking for luxury, don't stay here. Rooms are very basic, but perfect for backpackers. Hot showers are great, everything's clean, beds hard but all are in Thailand. Staff aren't the most friendly but we only slept there. Great value for money if you are travelling and want somewhere central to stay. It's situated on the road right next to koh San and is buzzing and lively.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#87 of 1,155 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Banglamphu
No photo provided
Brunch Makers Hostel
#543 of 1,155 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Banglamphu
No photo provided
The Alley Hostel & Bistro
#326 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Center Point Plaza Hotel
Center Point Plaza Hotel
#517 of 1,155 in Bangkok
43 reviews
Banglamphu
Charoendee
Charoendee
#730 of 1,155 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Banglamphu
Sleep Withinn
Sleep Withinn
#361 of 615 in Bangkok
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Dome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Dome Inn

Property: Star Dome Inn
Address: 104/1 Rambuttri Rd 50100 | Taladyod, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Star Dome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Dome Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing