We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mid range old town Bangkok hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #153 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
cordoba, spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect mid range old town Bangkok hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel was perfect for us. It's proximity to temples, khao san road and the surroundings of old town Banglamphu for us was the perfect location - a much more relaxing version of Bangkok than what we saw later around Sukhuvmit/Silom! And when we wanted to go into newer areas of town the taxis were cheap at no more than 200BHT (£4).

Rooms are clean, well decorated an comfortable with great storage and AC. Shared areas and pool are also immaculate and welcoming. The staff are great, nothing is too much to ask of them and they were very kind to us throughout, speaking good English.

The breakfast has quite a lot of choice (bacon, egg, tomato, pancakes, toast, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee) but I'd call it ok rather than amazing. That said it will see you on your way for a day of sightseeing in Bangkok with no problems and it doesn't detract from this being a five star review - this is the best hotel choice if you want a hotel in old town at mid range level.

TIP - like everything in Bangkok this hotel is hard to find! Print this out before you go http://www.lamphutreehotel.com/map.html or tell the driver to go to the Democracy Monument, and from there drive to the Wan Chat Bridge which is the bridge (goes over the canal not the CP river)!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    742
    140
    37
    27
See reviews for
352
937
97
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I only stayed for 1 night in Bangkok but would recommend Lamphu Tree to every traveller. It felt like a nice place as soon as I entered with a happy and peaceful atmosphere. It is in a very good location and the room was very clean and spacious. There is a swimming pool and the breakfast that we ate was delicious and filling. The best part about the hotel was the very friendly staff, especially Kwan and Som who are really helpful and I think are the best hotel staff in Thai! Next time I go to Thai I am staying at Lamphu Tree House and I think everyone else should too. Ben M

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenMeadowcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Excellent hotel:
- breakfast buffet was great
- restaurant is nice
- bed is really comfortable
- location is good (but make sure to ask for a map - there's a lamphu hostel as well: quite confusing for taxidrivers)
- staff is super friendly and will always try to help you as good as they can
- on walking distance from Khao San Road and different places worth seeing
- pro-children

In a nutshell: best place I've stayed in during my Thailand trip and I would recommend it to everyone. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I really do recommend staying here, but I'm not quite sure where the rave reviews are coming from. I got the room one-step up from the basic ($1750B a night, I think), but maybe I'd need a serious upgrade to see what the noise is about. it is a comfortable backpacker- style hotel with a good location. Make sure you print out a map for your driver!!

Free wi-fi in the rooms and two bottles of water. There is a small pool right off the lobby that looked clean and a room to hold your luggage after you check out, and the service is nice.

Khao San Road is an easy 10-min walk away, and on the way you will encounter a huge market that sells lots of clothes and has tons of food vendors. Make sure you go check it out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuchLoveandAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level Contributor
833 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked this hotel following the reviews on Tripadvisor, but mainly considering it was a Lonely Planet mid-range pick. It was a great selection for us. We didn’t regret it! Quite on the contrary, we loved it!!! What a great finding!
We stayed there for 5 consecutive nights before heading to Phuket. Unfortunately, they didn’t have vacancy for our 6th night (which we hadn’t reserved nor planned but decided to stay as we loved Bangkok!!!)
LOCATION: It is a perfect spot to stay! The location initially appears quite dodgy, and is in the old part of Bangkok (the Banglampu region). In fact, the hotel is tucked on an alley with no road leading directly to it so taxi drivers (MAKE SURE you catch metered taxis) or tuk tuks have a tough time finding it. Make sure you print a map from the hotel website so you can show your taxi driver where it is (popular landmarks and bridges are the references usually taken) .The hotel is just a 10 min. walk to the great Bangkok nightlife; within walking distance to Khao San Road (pretty handy for it in fact!), but not close enough to hear it. In a very safe area. Near the Democracy Monument.
The hotel has a pleasant foyer and an outdoor area for taking breakfast, relaxing or having a nice chat.
ROOMS: The rooms are big enough, comfy & spotlessly clean (with a mini bar). The shower and toilet were ok. The aircon worked fine and was not noisy. Rooms cleaned and towels changed daily and the fridge filled with 2 free bottles of water . The only minus is that the curtains let through a lot of light!
BREAKFAST: GREAT!!! Buffet style: different styles of eggs, sausages, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, delicious fruit salad, yoghurt, coffee, tea, toast, cereal, and fruit juices. Everything fresh! The best choice and quality I had during my trip round South-East Asia.
STAFF: Professional. Very friendly and helpful (in spite of the language barrier) yet not invasive.
I COMPLETELY agree with a previous contributor: “I wish every city in the world had a Lamphu Tree House”
Words are not enough to describe this place! Summarising previous contributions: cosy & homely. Boutique styled, Thai meeting Europe, a great oasis & sanctuary in crazy Bangkok, A gem in the heart of Bangkok, a perfect base for hectic Bangkok!
Quoting a previous review: “...look no further. The reviews on here speak for themselves. You will not be disappointed unless you want luxury ...”. If what you are looking for is feeling in the real Thailand and “not stuck in some identikit western hotel”, then give this place a try!!! Excellent value for money. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We are a family of 4 and this was our second (and third) visit to the Lamphu Tree House. We had a bit of difficulty booking our rooms over the internet (they didn't reply to our emails) but a phone call sorted out the booking.
We arrived at 9am in the morning and were shown to a room straight away and were told that our other room would be available shortly. The rooms are on the small side but very clean and nicely decorated. The beds are really comfortable. When we stayed again before flying out, we had a free upgrade to the deluxe rooms. These are exactly the same as the standard rooms but have a TV. Unless you really want a TV I wouldn't bother.
The buffet breakfast is good but a little on the cold side.
Kids loved the swimming pool.
We found the staff on the desk very helpful.
Tip: Try turning right out of the hotel and walking along the canel. You will come to another bridge that will take you to the Koh San Road. Also, try the bar on the corner (left out of the hotel).
The only thing I would like would be either larger family rooms or interconnecting rooms but I guess you can't have everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plum1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The lanna style impressed me. Considering its location in central bangkok, rooms were pretty quiet at night. They had a narrow balcony but the sight outside is not something you wouldnt want to see all day. Breakfast was ok. I LOVED it that they have free fruits for guests at the reception lobby. They had a pool but never tried it since I'm not sure how often they change water in it. Some rooms are quite new, some not. When we arrived, we got room 212, with which we were very satisfied. When we came back from Chiang Mai, we got room 317 which was old and smaller than room 212. If all rooms here were like the one in 317, I woud definitely not recommend this hotel. In booking, request for a newer room like 212. DOn't order cocktails here (especially from the woman barista)!!!! Go out to Khao San if you want to have a drink. Food was great though, they cook good here. Staff was very friendly and helpful, could communicate in english. Wifi and safe in rooms available. Bathroom quite small.

It's a good value for money considering the prices of hotels in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Request for a newer room, example 212 (standard room for two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocomausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#137 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#37 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#64 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#190 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing