We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #144 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights in December 2011. You will need to print the map that the hotel's website provides as taxis have to drop you at a bridge for you to walk the last 1 minute to the hotel. It's within easy walking distance of the tourist street of Khao San Road with its bars/restaurants, and has a cute bar at the end of the street with live music.

Our room had a proper double bed (not 2 beds together), a small balcony, good air con, fridge and en-suite. It was fairly quiet.

It had a good choice of buffet breakfast. A couple of nice lounging spaces by the pool & reception. The river outside is a little stinky, but you get used to this very quickly as that's just Bangkok.

Ideal central small hotel for exploring Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Lamphu was a very charming hotel with friendly staff and a really nice buffet breakfast. the only complaint is that we were sent to stay in a second building that is a few mins walk away from the main building and reception (and breakfast), and although the structure itself was quality, it was not so nice to be so separated, and have to pass through a back alley to arrive. i would have appreciated if that was made clear before making reservations.

further, i dont believe they offer full refunds for cancellation - no matter how early you notify them.

Room Tip: try to ensure that you'll be housed in the main building where the reception desk is. the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveliscious12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Really liked the downstairs of this hotel. The pool was very cute, the breakfast fab.
Staff were helpful and friendly. The roof top bar was closed due to refurbishment, which i am sure would have added to its charm. Was nice being by the canal, a part of Bangkok I hadn't stayed in before. It is possible to walk to the river following the canal for the most part. Also had dinner here one evening which was very good.
Downside was the room really, booked a deluxe but with an extra bed, was cramped to say the least. It would have been adequate with 2 in. The shower was more of a trickle and only ever luke warm.
Not close to a skytrain stop either, so in hindsight maybe not the best choice for my needs.

Room Tip: deluxe room too small for extra bed so if you do need 3 beds get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Was there for 2 nights. Had the deluxe room which is not attached to the original hotel. Had to walk through a back alley and thought where was I going. But when I got to my room very happy. Brand new and worth the extra bit of money. Stay during christmas vacation. Tricky to find, look for the Rolling Bar which is right under the Bridge. Walking distance to KhaoSan Rd (about 5min.) Nice people and very clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe they are brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Plus points for this hotel are: Location, walking distance to many historic sites and bars/restaurants. Very friendly and helpful front desk and serving staff. Great breakfast. Swimming pool. Quite location. Free WiFi.
Negative points. Only luke warm shower. No seating on room terrace. Mosquitos in the courtyard and no coils burnt to get rid of them. Room fixtures and fittings needed a bit of screwing back together. Plumbing needs work, because the water it very slow to drain, meaning any longer then a couple of minutes in the shower and it will overflow.
To sumise, an o.k. Hotel in a great location and one I would use again.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to text or email the location in Thai so that you can show it to the taxi driver or ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with some friends and loved it, it was a great way to start the holiday. We had two twin rooms, though the second room was a queen and a rollaway bed. There was no view to speak of but the rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean albeit basic with no TV. The air con in the rooms was great, quiet and effective. Check-in was a breeze and we were given cold drinks on arrival. The buffet breakfast we very good with a nice range of options, though no egg station. There is a small pool, though we didn't get time to use it.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, an easy and safe walk from Khao San road and to other attractions such as the Reclining Budda and the Grand Palace. Other destinations are a short cab ride away.
I enjoyed my 2 nights here and it served as the benchmark for cheap accommodation in Thailand. If all you're looking for is a comfortable place to sleep then this will be perfect for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oztravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This small boutique has a great location in Banglamphu district, where you can still experience the real Bangkok lifestyle. It´s a 10min walk from khaosan road but still feels worlds away. If you get a room with a balcony, there is a great view over the city. Rooms are decorated beautifully and the staff are friendly and helpful. If you want peace and quiet, but still be close to the action this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siljemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#47 of 891 in Bangkok
460 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 891 in Bangkok
1,479 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 891 in Bangkok
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 891 in Bangkok
1,345 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#153 of 891 in Bangkok
187 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 891 in Bangkok
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £40 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing