We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, nice staff, good location”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #148 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A really lovely mid-price hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and the general service high. You can walk to most of the tourist sites from here (probably about 20/25 minutes), but tuk tuks are so cheap it's worth just hopping in one. Also close to the Khoa San road for restaurants and bars.

Make sure you print out the map from their website if you are getting a taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is located by the river roughly 5 mins from the Khao San road area meaning its bars and eateries are easily accessible yet not so close as to bring the noise and congestion to your hotel area.
We booked online with no problems and our request for adjoining rooms was granted. The rooms themselves were clean, comfy, and quiet on the whole although if this is your first port of call in Asia be warned that general morning noise starts earlier than in Europe.
Breakfast was good with a much broader selection than we encountered elsewhere in South East Asia. We also ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was very good. And cheap!
The hotel is made excellent by how attentive and lovely the staff are. They are willing to help in any way they can, whether it be carrying your bags or phoning to book hotels for you in other parts of Thailand.
I would advise booking beforehand as my girlfriend and I tried to stay again a month after our initial stay before our flight back to England but they were sadly full.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_am_darshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I originally tried to book two nights in standard double room but they didn't have any left and so kindly offered us a deluxe room for the same price. Although I didnt like the fact that we had to transfer money over the internet for our deposit. The room was a good size and overlooking the pool, but it wasn't as nice as it looked on the website and the bathroom was a quite tatty and very small compared to the bedroom. The pros - restaurant was good, pool area nice, ideal location if you want to be near the khao san road - its only a 5 min walk away, quiet location by the canal. Cons - no air con in the reception/restaurant area so it's very hot and too many mozzies to consider eating outside, and the decor in the hotel is quite old-fashioned and a bit drab. Overall, a good, safe choice if you want to upgrade from a hostel/guest house but don't want to pay over the odds.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a very good place to stay in relation to the Khao San Road without it being too noisy or crazy. Very clean rooms and a nice breakfast in the morning, good base for exploring - it's very close to the river boats, which we recommend you use to see the city!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lellybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. We found the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly, the food was very good and we enjoyed the location. It was an easy walk to access the Chao Phraya River and we caught the "orange" boats to explore the river and the city. It is also very close to many of the major attractions, all within an relatively easy walk. We were given a room on the 5th floor but because of the construction we asked to be moved to another floor away from the noise. Our new room on the second floor was excellent. The pool was also a wonderful feature as it was very hot and humid in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the constuction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and it was great. Its by the canal close to the bridge but not a far walk. Make sure you ask the taxi where it is as Bangkok is a big big city. They give you a hotel map print out when you book a room. Make sure to bring it. Its on the northwest of the city so a little quiet and you need to cab it to go to silom and other soi's for partying. However, its still close to other important temples by the river. I suggest you book your excursions from them hotel. Its cheap and easy. A reminder to beware the tuk-tuk scams as there are only 2-3 very important temples in the city but theres hundreds of temples littered.

Rooms are good but small. Washrooms can be updated. Our AC worked fine. The breakfast was really good! The guys at the front desk was very helpful and nice. Pool looks clean and nice. Its a small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: dont get the top floors, they are building a new section and its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centaur83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel was beautiful in some respects, but not located where we would have liked. We stayed at another hotel in Bangkok on the first part of our trip that had plenty of massage/spa places and shopping for food and gifts. Lamphu Tree House, however, didn't seem to have anything in the immediate area, which was a disappointment because we had hoped to do more shopping before we left. Maybe we didn't walk far enough, but the way we went around the block, there was nothing but congested streets with only very expensive jewelers, mechanics, etc.
The hotel was very cool, but again, not exactly what we expected. The hotel is actually located on the river, so the taxi drops you off on the street nearby and you walk up some stairs and turn right to walk along the river to the hotel. Our rooms were actually in another building, so we took our luggage further down the river to the first road, turned right then down to the first parking lot on the left to the back and into a lovely building front. The front door is accessed via your room key, so it's secure. The rooms, we had two adjoining for our family, are beautiful as show in some of the pictures other people have posted here. The strange thing is when you go in the bathroom, there is a wooden slated wall and on the other side it sounded like someone doing laundry. It felt a little strange having someone right there. Even though you can't "see" them, you can see the light through there and it's like you're in the same room! Took a little getting use to.
The breakfast buffet is wonderful!!! We also had dinner there and appetizers. Everything is wonderful and reasonably priced. I probably wouldn't stay here again just because of the location for what we want, but glad we were able to experience the lovely hotel and delicious food.

Room Tip: Staying in the main building would save you the hassle of taking your luggage back and forth from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 894 in Bangkok
468 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#157 of 894 in Bangkok
189 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 894 in Bangkok
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 894 in Bangkok
1,720 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 894 in Bangkok
1,493 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#70 of 894 in Bangkok
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155, Prachatipatai Road | Ban Phan Thom, Phra Nakhon, Chaleam Wan Chat Bridge, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing