We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Banglampoo”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #145 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise in Banglampoo”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We love this hotel. We started our travels in Thailand staying here and we ended our trip here. Lamphu Tree House is an oasis in the middle of busy, steamy, wonderful Bangkok. The staff are lovely, the pool is excellent- and such a relief- the complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. This little hotel is a great bargain for all it's lovely features.

We also lucked into a room in the annex of the hotel which is about a block and a half away from the main building. It was so great to be placed a short distance away because it integrated us into a very
welcoming neighbourhood where we got to know a few of our neighbours. Both rooms we stayed in were beautiful with stylish and well designed bathrooms.

This hotel is a gem. If you want a wonderful experience in a great area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    749
    145
    37
    28
See reviews for
362
948
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here with my husband and three children (15,12 and 10) for two nights over Song Krahn in mid-April. We had two rooms - one with an extra bed and found them a nice size. We were given the choice of being in the main building or the second building but we elected to stay in the main one as it was where the pool and breakfast were - much better with the children!
The room was nicely furnished and clean but the bathroom was just a little tired with very thin towels. Didn't bother us though!
The pool is small and the area around it is very small but fantastic to be able to cool off in and it was also very clean.
The location was good for us - close to the Palace and walking distance to the Golden Mount temple which we enjoyed visiting along with hordes of locals on the first morning of Song Krahn.
The lobby area is beautiful with lots of wood and when we arrived at twilight the soft lighting and glowing wood was heavenly after a very long day travelling overland from Siem Reap. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke good English and were very nice about having to retrieve my son's shorts from the roof of the next door building after he hung them on the balcony railing to dry!
We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night as we were exhausted and although it was acceptable, you're much better off going out and finding something cheap at one of the local eateries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackiecat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at Lamphu Tree for 4 nights. It's location is ok. Far enough from Khao San Road (I went there mainly for food - about 15 min walk) but close enough to the main attractions (Grand Palace and Wat Pho - took me ~45 min by foot). No BTS or MRT close by but to Phaya Thai Station for exmaple it only costs ~70 Baht with metered Taxi. There is a boat pier (no 13) close by (take an orange flag boat! - 15 Baht).
I stayed in the main building and the new (second) building, both. Rooms in second buidling are newer and nicer, although there is no natural light. Nice bathroom and great shower (new building). During my second stay there was an 'unpleasant odor' coming from the toilet though. Staff was VERY helpful and understanding. Switching rooms was no problem at all. The new room was in the main building. It was bigger and had a large window and a balcony. The bathrooms there (main building) are more simple but stilll ok.
Second building is quieter.
Breakfast is buffet style and plenty. Toast, eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit, joghurt.
Staff is very helpful. Just ask the for directions and they paint it on a map for you or write Thai instructions for the Taxi driver.
Price (1450 Baht/night) is okay but I have stayed in nicer and cheaper hotels in Thailand (which where not in Bangkok, I know...).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Thailand last March and really enjoyed this resort.The facilty is clean and there is a lovely swimming pool with bath towel to dry yourself. The staff was also very friendly and helpful all day long and the food was really outstanding, yet not expensive at all.
I really would recommend this hotel as it has everything that you could ask for, without being expensive!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great pool, nice service, good food. Our standard room was not very nice. Hotel was good, but the area around the hotel does not have much to offer. Khao San Rd. was great for one day of shopping and hanging out, other than that, I'd stay in another part of town. We moved after two days to another hotel that was in a more central area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed only one night in this hotel and it was wonderfull. As the rooms were overbooked, we received a free up-up-upgrade to the master suite. Our rooms was fantastic and had a fantastic view and a wihrpool.

The hotel is located within walking distance of the main attractions and restaurants. At arrival the extremely friendly staff explained the main view and offered us a map. The breakfast was tastefull. You can cool down at the small pool.

All in all, very good value for money and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

An excellent hotel with amazing staff. We stayed on arrival in Bangkok for 1 night prior to moving to the north via train. The rooms are clean and the hotel facilities are excellent. We paid 1800B for the deluxe room. The staff could not be any more helpful and gave us excellent advice on where to eat, book travel and were flexible with out check in/out time. We have booked to return at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#129 of 862 in Bangkok
169 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 862 in Bangkok
1,531 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#34 of 862 in Bangkok
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#176 of 862 in Bangkok
1,287 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 862 in Bangkok
1,204 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing