We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certified excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #153 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Certified excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend had been staying at the Lamphu Tree House when I arrived in Bankok for 4-5 nights and we stayed there together for another 3 nights. What a treat as my first experience staying in Bankok.

First lets start with location. Lamphu Tree House is a short walk from Khao San Road, The Grand Palace and the river. Because it's along a main road, it's also very easy to catch a cab if you want to travel around the city. We found it most economical to take a cab to the nearest Skytram station and take it from there.

The room we stayed in was on the 6th floor away from the main building. It was clean, modern, and comfortable. If a shower not draining quickly will rain on your parade, stay away. This was the only flaw in an otherwise perfect living situation.

Breakfast is included and very good. Bacon (mmmm), banana pancakes, coffee, fruit, and even hash browns make a great start to your adventures in Bankok.
The reason this review is 5 star and not 4 is the combination of quality and price. Getting all the features I've described above for the price being charged makes this a great value. Treat yourself and stay here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    745
    144
    37
    28
See reviews for
356
942
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a great little hotel conveniently located to many of the old town sites. The pool was a nice touch and the lobby area was very inviting. Our room was fairly standard but had nice views of the city. We like a hard bed so it was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included was very good and ample with plenty of choices. This is a great value.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor high enough for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We randomly booked Lamphu Tree House from their website and was not disappointed. The hotel was very clean, our room (which was located in their second building) was very spacious, clean and I loved the format. It was conveniently located & walking distance to nearby restaurants, shops & Khaosan Road - a highly visited tourist night market. Their staff was very friendly and always helpful with directions. Unfortunately the weather was not too accommodating and it poured heavy for 2 of our 3 days so weren't able to make use of their pool. Their complimentary breakfast was the best! All in all, highly recommend Lamphu House!

Room Tip: Although our room in their 2nd building was incredible, highly recommend booking a room in their mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 702Roseanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a family of two adults and a teenager late October 2013.
I had high expectations based upon the reviews on this site. Unfortunately I was disappointed by our stay. We stayed in a room in the main building and while I am happy with basic amenities, our room was dirty. The bathroom was mouldy and could have used a good scrub -but it hadn't had one for a while. The hand basin was in the main bedroom and the plumbing was decidedly wobbly. The shower had a very low water pressure and took a bit of working out for operation of the on the wall water heater.
The bedroom was basic, very firm bed average linen and air conditioning only on when the key card was inserted into the power slot.
Breakfast was nice and the service was fine. Staff are helpful when needed.
For the price I am easy to please and happy with plain amenities, but I find it hard to excuse dirty surroundings. The other members of our group - 4 rooms in all, found a similar low standard of cleanliness and a little more wildlife.
I would spend a little more and stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you want to be in the old section of Bangkok, location, location, location. nice small pool. nice staff. great breakfast buffet with service in the lovely pool area outside or in..best banana pancakes! if they have the sticky rice while there be sure to try it. There were lovely afternoon snakes in lobby area. I was in the original building.

Room Tip: liked my balcony in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in the Lamphu Tree House for 6 nights during October of 2013.
On my day of arrival, one of the staff members helped us carry our luggage to our room.(which was nice after about 15 hours flying). Another of my first impressions is that the hotel is very neat and well maintained. The Restraunt in the hotel has a good range of Thai foods and also has a range of spirits, coffees and wines. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the Ratakosin area with the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and when leaving this hotel, I was sad to be leaving the hotel staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David080690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I found my 4 night stay at Lamphu Tree very enjoyable. The hotel is not right in the centre of town but it is within walking distance to some attractions, and has plenty of food and drink options nearby whilst still offering a quiet nights sleep. Phra Athit Road is 15 mins walk away and a pretty good place to listen to some live music and sip some ice cold bevies. There is also a 7 Eleven shop around the corner.

The hotel itself is tucked away in a row of buildings by the canal, a pleasant surprise once you come up to it. The ground floor is an open plan where the restaurant and pool are located. The restaurant offers decent food and the little pool by the side of it is a great place to cool down at the end of the day. Breakfast is included and has a wide selection to choose from.

The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. It had AC, mini bar and a safe as well as a small balcony with view onto the neighborhood.

Staff was always very helpful, on our last day the flight departed late at night and we left our bags at the hotel and on returning later in the afternoon were allowed to shower on the private pool toilet.

The service and quality offered is great value for money and I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#131 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#33 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing