We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #153 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb find”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this place. I spent four nights here after a group tour around Laos - just wanted to relax for a few days before my flight home. It has a lovely homely feel with several families staying whilst I was there (no noisy kids though). It's 10 minutes walk from Khao San Road and the nicer Soi Rambutri, so easy to get to a plethora of restaurants and bars in the evenings. The included breakfast is excellent, good choice and very good coffee. Pretty good value for Bangkok at 1,850 Baht (less than 40 GBP) for a deluxe room - I saw worse places charging much more. My room was charming with nice wooden furniture and a well stocked minibar and free water. There is a pretty courtyard by the pool which is nice to while away a few hours, and the bar restaurant next to it has some outside tables where it's nice and peaceful due to the lack of a road outside.

The best thing, though, is the staff. They are all friendly, charming, super-helpful and cheerful (the latter sometimes a rarity in Bangkok). I felt quite sad to leave. I would recommend it to any of my friends and I will definitely try to stay here again if I return.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies so request a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    749
    145
    37
    28
See reviews for
360
947
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
386 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for the staff of this gem of a hotel. If you stay here on your first trip to the East I suggest that you stay in the hotel and not the annex. The 200 metre trip to the annex could result in culture shock although it is representative of the back streets of Bangkok. It is in no way threatening or dangerous but different to what inexperienced travellers from Western Countries would find normal. We were in the annex on floor 6 and the wifi was very good. Ok the rooms are not super new but are clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was very good and the toaster could be entered in the "slowest toaster of the year" competition. The restaurant is very good and inexpensive for lunch and dinner.

Above and beyond the call of duty was the manager finding sugar free jam for us and insisting that we could not pay for it and then the staff presenting us with the 2 jars when we left. He was quiet, knowledgeable and very professional. In short, a star!

The room rates represent very good value. The city taxi from the Airport had 260 baht on the meter, a total bargain.

We would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Lamphu Tree Hotel for 4 days. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet area (at least for a city like Bangkok) directly by the canal. Tourist attractions like the Grand Palace are within walking distance (ca. 30 min), there is also a boat stop not far from the hotel. The breakfast was very good (buffet with a choice of toast, scrambled eggs, sausages, rice, fruit...) The restaurant and the bar were also really nice, and the staff was very friendly. We can absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel with a great location. Went based on recommendations from Lonely Planet. The rooms could use a little revamping as the wood on the counters had holes chiseled out from the wear and tear, but other than that there are no complaints. Best inclusive breakfast we had on the Thailand trip. Nice little pool area. The staff was helpful with directions around town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a great place to stay when arriving in BKK. It's in the old city and you are within walking/boat ride distance to many sights including the grand palace, wat arun, multiple canals, great restaurants, Kao san road, Muay Thai boxing and much much more. It's a great are of the city to simply aimlessly wander and soak up the atmosphere. For the price, it is exactly what you would expect in Thailand. English spoke, little swimming pool, big breakfast, bar, nice clean rooms etc. in fact, I find the location next to the canal to be exceptional.

Room Tip: choose one with a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Lamphu Tree House in Dec for a few nights. The Hotel has an excellent location (minutes from Khao San Rd and numerous other top spots) and the staff are also very kind and helpful. The buffet breakfast is also one of the best we had on our whole holiday, which can be taken outside by the pool.
This is a fine hotel but 2 warnings:
1. The bathroom could be cleaner with a better shower. This wasn't a major issue for us, but the staff could be more fastidious about cleaning and some new shower heads with better water pressure could be installed.
2. When getting a taxi to the hotel ensure you are dropped at the correct place. Print out the map the hotel sends with bookings. It is next to a bridge by a canal not down an alleyway with no canal in site. Our Taxi driver sent us to the wrong hotel (called Lamphu ... ) not sure if it was on purpose but it was a 15min walk to the correct hotel, another travel hassle everyone would prefer not to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lamphu Tree House twice in December 2013. Staff is warm, welcoming and quite professional.

Rooms are clean and attractive and the building itself is well removed from the noise of traffic. The bathroom was quite basic and clean enough except for a mildewy shower curtain. The bed is relatively soft by Thai standards. I do not know if there really would be a room that I would recommend in particular.

There did not appear to be many restaurants nearby so we ate most of our meals in the hotel. There was a fairly extensive menu and the meals were quite tasty tho each entree was just a tad small for the price. The breakfast buffet was pretty tasty, varied and well maintained.

We did not use the pool but it appeared to be used regularly by some guests and was very clean and attractive. The roof top bar mentioned by some guides is not functioning and the view over the medium sized wall from the roof-top area is not very interesting or convenient.

Acquiring taxis and tuk-tuks on the street nearby was not a problem.

I would recommend Lamphu to friends and family for overnights and shorter stays. The online booking system appears quite flawed and there seems to be confusion at the front desk when you check in. I booked 3 stays online and each booking seemed to involve a different procedure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceibaforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#137 of 858 in Bangkok
162 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 858 in Bangkok
1,512 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#32 of 858 in Bangkok
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 858 in Bangkok
1,269 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing