We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm in Bangkok Old Town”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #153 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in Bangkok Old Town”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've stayed here a number of times now after a recommendation from a friend 4 years ago - not to be confused with a hotel with a similar name smack in the middle of Khao San road, the Lamphu Tree is easily my favourite hotel in the world. Although not every always works as it should and there is the occasional whiff from the canal (you get this everywhere in Bangkok - I even smelt it at the Moon Bar 61 stories up in the Banyan Tree hotel!), the staff and the peaceful atmosphere at this hotel make up for everything.

I would describe this as a mid price (for Thailand - cheap for the UK) boutique hotel with excellent, cheerful and helpful staff who always provide a warm welcome. Clean, homely and a lovely pool area to cool off after the mania of Bangkok! Food is delicious and staff are more than happy to accommodate 'western' style requests (recommended with the Tom Yum soup - amazing but blows your head off!). REALLY comfy big beds and great sized rooms. The only left to mention is.....BANANA PANCAKES!! Oh Lord I could eat these allllllll day! Homemade and perfect with a little drizzle of maple syrup - I forced 3 down on my last morning just so I could savour the taste during our long flight home!

One word of advice - print off the map as suggested when you book. Taxi drivers don't always know where it is. When you get there, pick up the Thai directions from reception and keep them in your pocket to show Taxi/Tuk Tuk drivers.

Hope you all enjoy as much as I always have...I miss the place already :-(

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building if you can - closer to restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    747
    145
    37
    28
See reviews for
358
944
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Bangkok I am sure has bigger and better places, but if you are looking for a value place, with a great ambience, quiet, on the banks of a canal within walking distance or a short tuk tuk to all the big temples etc, then this is your place. the rooms are not large, but comfortable and lovely with small balconies. The neighborhood is very safe, and the moon over bangkok is a notable experience. The price includes a really good full breakfast, and the staff takes really good care of you. Everybody was attentive and helpful, the coffee was exquisite (which is really appreciated when you stumble down at 600am because you are still on another time zone). we even ended up kind of bumbling into taking a tour to the bridge over the river Kwai and the tiger temple which was done well with great value through this hotel. Those in the know will check out the tiger temple before they go, but it was a really amazing experience. you don't really need more then this in bangkok ! My kudos to all the staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank groffrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Well located for exploring the old town, temples and riverside areas. Also the koh San road can be reached on foot for evening beers. However it is far enough away from koh San to be a peaceful place to return too after a days sight seeing. My main problem with this hotel was that our "deluxe" room was very small and the bathroom was in need of a make over. The shower only ever reached luke warm temperature and the bathroom flooded when you had
a shower. It was not what I would call "deluxe" however the staff here were nice and we ate food in the restaurant one night which was good value.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenildavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Lamphu tree house could not have been more perfect. Arriving midday after a long flight from London, and a very long taxi ride from the Bangkok airport, we were greeted with local tea and smiles. The reception team was warm and welcoming, and mentioned that they had upgraded us to a penthouse suite for the first night. What a treat! An amazing bathroom with jet jacuzzi, a wrap around balcony. It was really special. Unfortunately, we had to move to our original room the next night, but it was still very nice. The regular rooms in the main building are simple, but clean and comfortable. We still had a fridge and TV, as well as a safe.

But the best part about this place was the location and the common space. It is located on a canal and therefore feels peaceful even though you are very close to all the action. It's an easy walk to the famous backpacker street, as well as many good restaurants and bars. We ended up walking home from the royal palace one evening and although it took us about 45 minutes, it was a nice walk along the river and we always felt safe. In addition, the common space at the hotel was ideal. Nice couches and chairs for lounging. A pool that looked very inviting. And a dining room with an outdoor courtyard - perfect for breakfast which was included in our room rate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nkygirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights in December 2013. We were delighted we had chosen the Lamphu Tree House, it was close enough to walk to the busy streets around Khao San Road and the river area. Another advantage was it was situated on a klong and we could take the boat into Central Bangkok, the pier being just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel the staff are friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was ample and the rooms although not modern were clean and
well maintained. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this accomodation, especially if you are looking for a smaller Thai style hotel with a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebeachboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I just returned from a trip to Thailand. Lamphu Tree House was the first hotel we stayed at in Bangkok for 2 nights. I found the hotel while searching for an affordable place to say on Agoda/booking/Asia web direct.com I was not upset with my choice to stay but there were a few things that might be helpful for other travelers.

The taxi driver from the airport pretty much refused to drive us to the hotel and instead took us to a boat taxi pier that was quite far from the hotel. This might not happen to everyone, but definitely contact the hotel to arrange transportation for you from the airport. We arranged the transportation to the airport on our way out of Bangkok with Lamphu Tree and that was very good.

When we finally arrived at the hotel, it was very charming. If we were staying again, we would stay in the main building. Although we didn't see the rooms in the main building, the second building was a bit of a little walk from the main building down a little bit of a sketchy alley. But the room was nice it worked well for two days.

We didn't really walk around the area very much but we were able to walk to Kaoh San Road (the bar/tourist street - backpacker area) from the hotel. We would not visit Kaoh San Road again if we were to go back. Way too crowded and noisy. I think some other tourist attractions were in the area of the hotel. But it wasn't in the nicest area of town. Tuk Tuk and taxis are easy to catch to get anywhere else, so don't sweat it.

Finally, breakfast was really yummy. Definitely the best breakfast we had at a hotel on our entire trip around Thailand and Cambodia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A clean welcoming boutique hotel. Great location for Khao San rd and old city. Staff are very pleasant and price is excellent. Banana pancakes for breakfast are awesome. Hot water and showers could be better.

Room Tip: Lift is odd as still have to use some stairs. Only stayed in main building so not sure about annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#130 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#185 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing