We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect start to our holiday.”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #138 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked Lamphu on Trip Advisor's recommendation, and were glad we did! It was a bit more than we were planning to spend (although our fault for travelling at peak season), but I would say it is well worth it for guaranteed peace of mind, especially as your first port of call in Thailand.

Great location, within a short walk to many attractions (and plenty of tuk tuks passing nearby), but being next to the canal it was very peaceful. Swimming pool was a lovely addition!

Rooms were nicely decorated, electronic safes were gratefully appreciated, air con brilliant. Wifi covered the rooms really well too, which was a bonus.

Breakfast was really nice; plenty of options. We especially liked the Thai food for breakfast and the fresh fruit.

Staff were very helpful, and we were grateful to be able to stick our evening beers on the room tab and enjoy the moment.

Would stay here again next time I visit Bangkok, and will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cryoflaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've stayed here a number of times now after a recommendation from a friend 4 years ago - not to be confused with a hotel with a similar name smack in the middle of Khao San road, the Lamphu Tree is easily my favourite hotel in the world. Although not every always works as it should and there is the occasional whiff from the canal (you get this everywhere in Bangkok - I even smelt it at the Moon Bar 61 stories up in the Banyan Tree hotel!), the staff and the peaceful atmosphere at this hotel make up for everything.

I would describe this as a mid price (for Thailand - cheap for the UK) boutique hotel with excellent, cheerful and helpful staff who always provide a warm welcome. Clean, homely and a lovely pool area to cool off after the mania of Bangkok! Food is delicious and staff are more than happy to accommodate 'western' style requests (recommended with the Tom Yum soup - amazing but blows your head off!). REALLY comfy big beds and great sized rooms. The only left to mention is.....BANANA PANCAKES!! Oh Lord I could eat these allllllll day! Homemade and perfect with a little drizzle of maple syrup - I forced 3 down on my last morning just so I could savour the taste during our long flight home!

One word of advice - print off the map as suggested when you book. Taxi drivers don't always know where it is. When you get there, pick up the Thai directions from reception and keep them in your pocket to show Taxi/Tuk Tuk drivers.

Hope you all enjoy as much as I always have...I miss the place already :-(

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building if you can - closer to restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Bangkok I am sure has bigger and better places, but if you are looking for a value place, with a great ambience, quiet, on the banks of a canal within walking distance or a short tuk tuk to all the big temples etc, then this is your place. the rooms are not large, but comfortable and lovely with small balconies. The neighborhood is very safe, and the moon over bangkok is a notable experience. The price includes a really good full breakfast, and the staff takes really good care of you. Everybody was attentive and helpful, the coffee was exquisite (which is really appreciated when you stumble down at 600am because you are still on another time zone). we even ended up kind of bumbling into taking a tour to the bridge over the river Kwai and the tiger temple which was done well with great value through this hotel. Those in the know will check out the tiger temple before they go, but it was a really amazing experience. you don't really need more then this in bangkok ! My kudos to all the staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank groffrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Well located for exploring the old town, temples and riverside areas. Also the koh San road can be reached on foot for evening beers. However it is far enough away from koh San to be a peaceful place to return too after a days sight seeing. My main problem with this hotel was that our "deluxe" room was very small and the bathroom was in need of a make over. The shower only ever reached luke warm temperature and the bathroom flooded when you had
a shower. It was not what I would call "deluxe" however the staff here were nice and we ate food in the restaurant one night which was good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenildavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lamphu tree house could not have been more perfect. Arriving midday after a long flight from London, and a very long taxi ride from the Bangkok airport, we were greeted with local tea and smiles. The reception team was warm and welcoming, and mentioned that they had upgraded us to a penthouse suite for the first night. What a treat! An amazing bathroom with jet jacuzzi, a wrap around balcony. It was really special. Unfortunately, we had to move to our original room the next night, but it was still very nice. The regular rooms in the main building are simple, but clean and comfortable. We still had a fridge and TV, as well as a safe.

But the best part about this place was the location and the common space. It is located on a canal and therefore feels peaceful even though you are very close to all the action. It's an easy walk to the famous backpacker street, as well as many good restaurants and bars. We ended up walking home from the royal palace one evening and although it took us about 45 minutes, it was a nice walk along the river and we always felt safe. In addition, the common space at the hotel was ideal. Nice couches and chairs for lounging. A pool that looked very inviting. And a dining room with an outdoor courtyard - perfect for breakfast which was included in our room rate.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nkygirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights in December 2013. We were delighted we had chosen the Lamphu Tree House, it was close enough to walk to the busy streets around Khao San Road and the river area. Another advantage was it was situated on a klong and we could take the boat into Central Bangkok, the pier being just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel the staff are friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was ample and the rooms although not modern were clean and
well maintained. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this accomodation, especially if you are looking for a smaller Thai style hotel with a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebeachboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I just returned from a trip to Thailand. Lamphu Tree House was the first hotel we stayed at in Bangkok for 2 nights. I found the hotel while searching for an affordable place to say on Agoda/booking/Asia web direct.com I was not upset with my choice to stay but there were a few things that might be helpful for other travelers.

The taxi driver from the airport pretty much refused to drive us to the hotel and instead took us to a boat taxi pier that was quite far from the hotel. This might not happen to everyone, but definitely contact the hotel to arrange transportation for you from the airport. We arranged the transportation to the airport on our way out of Bangkok with Lamphu Tree and that was very good.

When we finally arrived at the hotel, it was very charming. If we were staying again, we would stay in the main building. Although we didn't see the rooms in the main building, the second building was a bit of a little walk from the main building down a little bit of a sketchy alley. But the room was nice it worked well for two days.

We didn't really walk around the area very much but we were able to walk to Kaoh San Road (the bar/tourist street - backpacker area) from the hotel. We would not visit Kaoh San Road again if we were to go back. Way too crowded and noisy. I think some other tourist attractions were in the area of the hotel. But it wasn't in the nicest area of town. Tuk Tuk and taxis are easy to catch to get anywhere else, so don't sweat it.

Finally, breakfast was really yummy. Definitely the best breakfast we had at a hotel on our entire trip around Thailand and Cambodia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manda0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#43 of 889 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 889 in Bangkok
1,455 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 889 in Bangkok
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 889 in Bangkok
1,311 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#146 of 889 in Bangkok
183 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#186 of 889 in Bangkok
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £39 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing