We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and wonderful budget-friendly hotel”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #149 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Welcoming and wonderful budget-friendly hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved our stay at Lamphu Tree House. Tucked down an alley, it is surprising to enter and discover a five-story hotel with comfortably sized rooms, an airy patio for dining, and an inviting swimming pool. What you get is well beyond what you pay. The breakfast buffet is amazing - great choice of cereals, fried and scrambled eggs, banana pancakes, yogurt, juices, coffee, bacon, ham, noodles, fresh fruit. The rooms are nice and clean, although the bathrooms are fairly small. The staff is helpful and friendly too. The only down-side to Lamphu is its location relative to anything outside the main temples tourists come to see. Getting to the downtown area and restaurants and subway stations is a haul, and most taxis don't want to take you back there -- it's a little hard to find. But we were quite happy with this choice. The refreshing drinks upon arrival and the assistance with luggage was a very nice touch. We enjoyed our time at Lamphu and enjoyed relaxing in the pool and reading a nice book one their airy patio lounge chairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    749
    145
    37
    28
See reviews for
361
948
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Location, check.
Friendly staff, check.
Nice pool area, check.
Great made to order breakfast on top of standard buffet, check.
Affordable price, check.
This place as it all! Great introduction to Thai hospitality. They were also so sweet with our baby. We are dinner in the hotel most nights, and it was quite good. Will come back here in a heartbeat next time we are in Bangkok.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nkluz715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel when we first arrived to Thailand. The entrance is along a canal which is helpful to know when you are dropped off. The rooms were a good size. Showers were ok pressure wise. Included breakfast was awesome! So yummy and you had a ton of choices! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It's about a 10/15 min walk to khao San road and another 15 mins from there to the grand palace. So as long as you are ok with walking, then this hotel is a good one!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kam03f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After a long journey from the UK, staff at the Lamphu Tree must have heard us approaching the hotel because they came running out to help us with our bags and a complimentary cold drink. Nice comfortable room, bathroom a little tired but we weren't bothered. Excellent value for money and a good location for getting into the thick of Bangkok. We hope to go back to Thailand one day and will definitely return to this hotel. Also the breakfast was really good, loads of choice and hassle for you to sit for as long as you wanted. A very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel two last nights of our 1 month trip over Thailand and it was a perfect final for the trip! Very cosy and relaxing place, very friendly personell, nice location with a couple of really tasty local restaurants just around the corner. No wonder they got all those awards! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DariaDariaDaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We just came across by change to Lamphu on my second day of Bangkok. It was really a relief for us after experiencing 2 "advised" hotels. Very nice, cosy place with very reasonable prices, with wonderful garden. Only, you need to reserve your room at least one or two days before. It is mainly full. If you are not expevting so muxh, this is oen of the best place in Khaosan Road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eylemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Finding Lamphu for the first time is not easy as it is located on a footway on the side of a channel. The taxi left us 30 meters from the entrance.

The hotel is some years old. Furniture is worn out, equipment is outdated, but working.

We got a room that looked exactly as a lower category room showed on their website. We claimed and were told we had what we had booked though it looked different.

Location is nearby busy Kao San and Rambutri roads, but off the buzz.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank franhirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#131 of 861 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 861 in Bangkok
1,525 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#35 of 861 in Bangkok
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#176 of 861 in Bangkok
1,284 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 861 in Bangkok
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing