We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcomed Oasis from the Bustle of Bangkok”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #153 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Welcomed Oasis from the Bustle of Bangkok”
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We (family of 3) stayed at the Lamphu Tree House in January 2009. Our experience was great. We found the hotel to be an excellent value.

The staff were amazing. Service was excellent. The food was delicious. The breakfast (included) was great. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable. The rooms are small, but clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The pool is an added bonus and offers a refreshing escape from the heat and grime of Bangkok. The rooftop bar and sundeck is very nicely done and is a great spot to get you bearings, or to take in the sights of the City at night while sipping a beverage.

The hotel is in an interesting and convenient location (off a walking street along a canal). It is definitely walkable to the many wats and other attractions (Democracy Monument, Grand Palace, Golden Mount, Khosan Road, etc.) of the Old City. Although we took the taxi to the Grand Palace (50 B) one day, because we knew we were going to be walking all day. It is also easy and affordable to travel to other attractions (Weekend Market, Jim Thomson's House, etc.) by taxi.

Tip: the coffee at the hotel is great, but for a good alternative try Coffee Melody, which is located 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel along the road to the Democracy Monument.

  • Liked — Staff, decor, convenience, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fuegodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    747
    145
    37
    28
See reviews for
358
944
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

During our 7 week holiday we stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate occassions and loved it every time we stayed there! Its a little hidden (the taxi has to drop you on the side street, so make sure you have a copy of the map that the hotel can provide you with. Also from the airport we paid 600 bht the first time, but then only 400 bht the following 2 times) but once you have found it you will have no problems. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are extremely friendly and its great to have a pool and easy internet access.
The location is great, walking distance to Khao Sanh Rd and a number of other attractions, and its never a problem getting a taxi to take you where ever you want to go.
There are 3 key things that made this place so great.
1. The staff - so friendly and always willing to help. They are always saying hello and remembered us each time we returned.
2. The food - firstly they provide a great breakfast each morning with fruit, toast, juice and tea/coffee. And if your not full then, you can have pancakes or eggs how you like it. And secondly the lunch/dinner is amazing! We ate there so many times as the food was better than anywhere else we ate in Thailand. Definately recommend the chilli basil pork.
3. The new bar that just opened down the road. The Rolling Bar opened down the steet when we were staying there and the staff were so friendly, drinks fantastic and there was amazing live music. After eating at the hotel, it was so nice to walk 1 minute away to have a few drinks with music.
We have nothing bad to say about this hotel!!! The only difficulty we had was sometimes taxis from the shopping centres didnt want to take us to the hotel because of traffic on the way!!! But that was only minor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — People, room, food, location - everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank choybie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

2008 was a crazy year for my girlfriend and I, traveling all over south east asia and in the Philippines, but no hotel comes close to offering the great value that Lamphu tree does. Providing you're relatively fit, it's walking distance from a number of tourist destinations, including the Royal Palace, Wat Pho, Khao San road, and Ratchadamnoen(SP?) stadium for Thai kickboxing. The decor and facilities are very nicely done. Not extravagant but just very tastefully done. They have a small pool which is perfect for stepping into after a hot day seeing the sights, and a rooftop balcony area where you can have a couple of drink while looking out at the Bangkok skyline.

The staff is excellent, and speaks enough english to help give you directions. They're also quite friendly, and even emailed me after our stay to thank us for staying with the hotel. The food is fine, though a little variety wouldn't hurt. Perhaps if they offered a Thai breakfast and a continental breakfast as options it wouldn't be so bad, but one can only take omelettes, ham, bacon, and toast for so long.

Some taxis may have a little trouble finding it, but we learned that if a taxi doesn't know where it is, just wait for the next one if possible, and they'll probably know it. We only had trouble with the first taxi, which thought we were staying along khao san, then tried to overcharge us for the trip (keep your coupon from the airport taxi service. You can mail in a complaint if your driver tries to overcharge you. Unfortunately I didn't have time to do this).

So there you have it, for a great value for money don't hesitate to stay at the Lamphu Tree!

PS The makeshift concrete bridge is very stable and the short walk from the proper bridge in the hotel is as safe as can be. There's also a 7-11 across the bridge for all your convenience store needs.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have some more variety.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ryansumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Great place to stay only a 10 minute walk from all the action of Koh Sahn Road. Rooms are clean and furnished in Thai style. Welcome from reception was delightful and breakfast was excellent. Good value for money and good location.

  • Liked — Thai design
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Pros: nicely decorated and modern room; filling breakfast included (pancakes/fruit/two eggs with bacon plus toast and juice); quiet location.

Cons: location is hard to find, and there are not many dining or sightseeing locations in the immediate vicinity. You either need to cross a makeshift concrete bridge over a smelly canal, or walk through a rather dark canal-side path to get to the hotel. Either way, you are about 25 meters from a road. The elevator is on the second floor, not the ground floor, and does not go to the highest floor, so you may need to carry your bags up the stairs.

We were originally told that two rooms were not available, so they offered a junior room for 4 people. When we arrived, they told us we could not fit into the room they offered. When we pushed back, they checked us in with no further fuss. The bathroom sink was located in the foyer to the room and not in the bath. The room had many spiders.

The hotel is about a 45 minute walk to the Grand Palace. Alternatively, you can walk about 10 minutes to the river and take water ferries, which are very convenient. Overall, this is a reasonably priced choice if you are willing to deal with the location.

  • Liked — new facilities
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Excellent find in a good location in Bangkok. The rooms are above average for the cost and are kept clean, with new sheets and towels every day (which you don't get in every hotel at this price). The staff were friendly and tried to help as much as possible. They were kind enough to let us use a room to shower and change the evening after we had checked out! We didn't try the food here but the breakfast (that is included in the room rate) is stanard but ok.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — only a minor negative - the internet failed to work and only a few members of staff understood the problem
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rkleiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

A nice hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The double room we had was a little cramped and overlooked locals but it was clean and pleasant. Nice, big roof terrace with sun loungers and panoramic views. Small pool at the side of the hotel.
The location was not ideal but taxis are plentiful. Dont take one if they wont use the meter.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful service. Breakfast
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChristopherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#130 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#186 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing