We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in 3 month SE Asia trip”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #144 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The best hotel we stayed at during our 3 month trip through Thailand & Malaysia. The staff (from the owner down) were super friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was great, the restaurant served the best penang curry we had on our trip.
The pool is a must have in Bangkok for a cool down and relax at the end of the day and the fresh towels make things all that much easier and convenient.
The rooms were lovely (clean, well presented and with all the mod cons one desires) and had in room safe etc.
I found sometimes I would have to give the taxi / tuk tuk drivers directions to the hotel from a near by land mark (Kaoh San Road or the Democracy monument) but this didn't cause any problems and we never had any issues getting to or from the hotel.
It is a few minutes walk to Thanon Kaoh San with all its amenities, but quite and removed from the chaos of the place.
My daughter would loved having her hair done at breakfast by one of the friendly waitresses and many times the kids would enjoy playing with the attentive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonSyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a very nice small hotel, the rooms were older but refurbished and spotless. The restaurant had a nice breakfast - I did not eat other meals there. The pool, the front porch, everything was beautiful and the staff very accommodating. It is within easy walking distance to Khao San Rd market and other temples and monuments in the area. And there is a bus stop and convenience store across the road. The issues are access, safety and the "beautiful view." First, the taxi had a difficult time finding it - even though they do give you this information and directions in Thai. It is located down a sidewalk along the canal where, tragically, there are people and dogs sleeping at night and selling goods during the day. There is no sign to direct you at the roadside and there are no other hotels around it. As an American, my idea of a beautiful view must be quite different. It was a residential area and the canal was.......... . As a solo traveler I was uneasy staying there. This would be great for a small group of adults - not sure about kids.
The price seemed reasonable but, considering the downside, might be a little high.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0nnieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had no trouble finding it, the directions in Thai were very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, just be careful as the bathroom floods when you have a shower. Our children really enjoyed the swimming pool which was welcome after a hot days sightseeing. The breakfast was delicious as was the dinner we had in the restaurant. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The location of the hotel was very good, short distance from the khao san road (full of a small shopping stores), not far from the historic tamples. The hotel itself was nice & cosy, our room was a bit small but clean, there is not separate shower cabin.
Its a good palce to stay if you want to go and do a bit of sightseeing.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Ljogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed there twice and both times we were very pleased with the place. The hotel is nicely decorated and wood design of the lobby & terrace is quite charming. The rooms are nice (if small), beds are comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool is a wonderful way to relax after a day in hot and busy Bangkok. Breakfast is also very good with lots of choice of food.
The area is quiet, however you are not too far from Khao San Road so you can easily go party there and come back to relax to the hotel. The only problem we had was getting taxi drivers to take us there, they would sometimes mix up this hotel with another that has a similar name. All in all I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinkin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stumbled across this place on our 3rd trip through Bangkok. What an awesome little oasis amidst all the hustle and bustle. We were welcomed with glasses of water when we walked in and the effort they went to in order to look after you was amazing. Such friendly staff.

It's absolutely worth the effort of finding the place.

Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Just a few blocks away from Khao San Road and AE2 bus stop. People are very nice and have good communication skills. Room is so nice and clean. Can't wait to go back to Thailand and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma_Linnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#36 of 887 in Bangkok
446 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 887 in Bangkok
1,634 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 887 in Bangkok
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 887 in Bangkok
1,292 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#139 of 887 in Bangkok
181 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#182 of 887 in Bangkok
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £38 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing