We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hostel Na Nara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Na Nara
Ranked #430 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Goteed1
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

For the price and location this is a really good deal. I paid $40 a night for a fairly big comfortable room. It's worn around the edges and could use some updating but for what you pay, it's a fantastic deal.

Staff was mostly friendly, some problems with understanding English, but I got through it.

One point to make is that the sinks in the bathroom DO NOT have hot water, you have to get that from the shower (Pain to shave this way for me) Also you have to make sure the hot water is actually turned on in the shower as well.

Aircon worked like a charm and bed was comfortable. Windows are double paned, so even though my room faced a busy street, never heard a peep inside the room. Location is right in front of the Chong Nonsi BTS, very easy to get around. (Actually took the train from the airport here and had no problems at all) Very easy access to Silom and many other popular points.

I had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and the service was quick and friendly, the food was kind of underwhelming.

All in all, great place for budget stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
21
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I'm currently on my 5th stay (Nov. 2012) at the Om Yim. Rarely have I seen such value coupled with caring, friendly and helpful staff. I feel safe here and if I have a problem, even one not related the property, the staff and owner are very responsive. Centrally located and convenient to Silom. Rooms are spotless, AC always works and the laundry service returns my cleaned clothes within 24 hours. There are only 12 rooms on this property.

This is a "straight-friendly" hotel. The vast majority of guests seem to be gay. Smoking is not allowed on the property. On-site restaurant serves an well-prepared variety of Thai and Western dishes. ]

And finally....I am not a paid endorser, just a very satisfied guest.

Room Tip: This property books up fast. Get your reservations in early. There is no elevator (lift) so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have stayed here at Om Yim Lodge now 4 time and every time I have found the the Staff friendly and very helpful. An Aussie manager.
Om Yim is only 100 metres or so from BTS Chong Nonsi Station. A Taxi ramp and bus stop at their door.
Excellent location Close to Restaurants, McDonalds, 7-Eleven's and a short walk to Silom and shops.
Their restaurant has a good selection of Thai and western food, including a decent breakfast at a very modest cost. Thai Breakfast for me 10 out of 10.
If you bring a guest back as well there is no additional fee like you may find with other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Good location. Very reasonably priced accommodation. Very convenient to Skytrain and connection to train to Suvanabhumi airport. Larger rooms are very nicely sized. This is a basic hotel. Comfortable staff is friendly. No "lifts," unless one considers that the friendly staff "lifts" your luggage up and down the stairs for you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizona2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here Sept 2011 in a large room costing 1100 baht. Very spacious & clean with a window. The young guy at reception was very nice & helpful. No problem taking friends back to your room!! Location was perfect, just down from Chong Nonsi station so easy to get to/from airport. Some Tuk Tuks had trouble finding it so have to mention Chong Nonsi. Within walking distance to bars and restaurants on Silom and Kick Boxing arena nearbye. I am returning again in Sept 2012.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This budget hotel was recommended by a friend of mine. The taxi driver had a hard time finding it when we reached Bangkok. Just tell the taxi driver its near Chong Nosi BTS station next time. Checking in was easy. Staff were friendly and could carry your luggage for you to your room. I had to move to another room (since I booked for the cheapest room but it was unavailable during the first night I was in Bangkok) and they said they will moved my lugggage to the other room for me. Convenient. The cheapest room I was staying had no window but it was big. No claustrophobic feeling for me. Aircond was cold. Towel available with free soap/shampoo. The toilet was clean. Housekeeping done everyday. Downside was that there were no iron in the room (but you can ask them to do that for a cheap price). Had TV with the Thai channels in there.. had a kettle, thermos (water boiler) .. and the usual complimentary water, coffee and tea. And the most thing I needed most - FREE wireless.. very fast!! Im so chuffed! They do locked the door around midnight though, so if you are out and about at night, and going back late, just ring the door bell and they will let you in. So its ok for me. I so recommend the hotel. (",) And the staff are so nice.

Room Tip: The cheapest room is BIG! If you are a non-smoker do not ask for room at level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTouristBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmYimLodge, Owner at Hostel Na Nara, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi Happy Tourist BN.
You are not the first to get lost in a Taxi in Bangkok. We now have our own car that we do airport transfers with and this way you will not get lost. hehe....
Sometimes the staff lock the door early but they are always around as we have 24 hour reception for ease of checking in and out at any time because the flights in and out of Bangkok are 24 hour as well and it also means you can enjoy the night life around Bangkok and come home when you are ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summertown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Excellent location--close to the elevated train which takes you about everywhere--or connects to everywhere. I had the least expensive room with no window--was great--no noise and no sun coming in the window--if you do not want to carry your bags up and down the stairs one of the employees will.. Was able to leave my bags here when I went out on several trips into Thailand. Meals were ok but right next door was a great Chinese place that served several types of Tofu and had fantastic soy milk--great place if you are vegetarian. the crew was always helpful and wifi in all the rooms. If you need something and the crew does not understand--which never happened just wait for the mgr who is Australian
This is a gay owned place but I booked rooms for three straight long time friends-everyone enjoyed the place

Room Tip: the room with no windows was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmYimLodge, Owner at Hostel Na Nara, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi David. Thanks for your kind words about our lodge. Our staff try very hard to help all of our guests and there English is good for the most part. Hopefully we will see you guys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#289 of 858 in Bangkok
1,479 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Silom
Nantra Silom
Nantra Silom
#627 of 858 in Bangkok
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#745 of 858 in Bangkok
1,552 reviews
Silom
Cafe ice Residences
Cafe ice Residences
#82 of 643 in Bangkok
45 reviews
Silom
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
#13 of 1,194 in Bangkok
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Na Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Na Nara

Property: Hostel Na Nara
Address: 72-74 Narathiwasratchanakarin Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Om Yim Lodge)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Na Nara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Na Nara is located less than 50 metres from Chong Nonsri BTS station. It provides both private and dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi, laundry and luggage storage. The hostel is opposite the La Lai Sap Market, a 10-minute walk from Patpong and Hindu Temple. Suvarnabhumi Airport is 38 km away. On-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Na Nara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Yim Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing