We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amarin Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriental Residence Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
59
110
50
13
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
110
50
13
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhao san roadair consmall alleynearby mosquebudget guesthouseprivate bathroomback alleyhot watersmaller roomperfect locationrooms are basicrooftop terracequiet at nightfamily roomthe main roadfree breakfasta great stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It was easy to book online via Hostelbookers. Too bad Amarin did not keep my reservation.
When I arrived at the Amarin Guesthouse after a long flight, they said they had my reservation that I had made via Hostelbookers 2 weeks ago, but they did not have any room left. They were full. So I said I had paid a deposit and my reservation was confirmed. I showed them the printout of my reservation. They said "Sorry, but we are full". So they had my reservation, but they did not reserve a room for me!!! Unbelieveable!! This is how they do business!!! Do not trust this place even if you have a confirmed reservation. I ended up walking around for an hour in the heat to find another room. They didn't even seem that sorry about it, as if it happens all the time. They said it was not their fault!!! Unbelievable!!! DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidNeame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

It is a convenient short walk away from Khao San Rd and far enough from hearing the bass of the nightclub until 5am. It is a boat The beds were a little hard, but were satisfied for it's purpose of resting for the next days adventure. the air-cons were loud, but worked great. You only really needed it on for 30 minutes before bed and then were comfortable for the rest of the night. The shower was not separate from the toilet, which was a little annoying since everything got wet. The staff, although speak broken English, always could find fresh towels for us. Overall, the price is cheap, staff was helpful, and private room felt safe and did its purpose.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bp567924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel has the basics that budget shoppers seek. It is in a quiet location. It has clean, comfortable rooms with quiet air conditioning. Wi-fi in rooms. Small but adequate bathrooms with hot showers. TV with some English channels. Close to shopping, restaurants and river ferry.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomcoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the Amarin for 4 nights. The location was fantastic if you want to be near Khao San road, but it was also easy to catch a ferry to see the other main sights.

The reception staff were not very friendly, however the room was comfortable and there was plenty of space to move about.

The hotel is located down an alley way but it feels very safe and it's relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shep03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Firstly, as others before me have mentioned this is not easy to find especially in the dark. It's down a very small alley and was not on the street that we had been pointed to by our online booking agent. Slightly annoying.

We arrived late at night after a hellish 12 hours on a bus from siem reap and were given a room on the top floor, this usually wouldn't bother me but carrying two 25kg cases up 4 flights at 1130 in the evening with no help does not bode well I'm hungry and tired.

Our room was small, old, dirty and stunk like s@#t. Oh and there was an interconnecting door to the next room, which on appearance was made from wood but carried sound as if made by paper. Not the best when you have 3 drunken 18 year old Aussie lads living the dream just meters from your bed. So I hastily checked out without much of a fuss from the guy at reception and would warn others visiting Bangkok to choose this place only if you are:

A) an 18 year old lad living the dream (nothing against you...I'm just not 18 anymore..you'll understand one day you little nipper)
B) not fussed by a smelly room
C) on the tightest of budgets - in which case I would recommend a small cardboard box and some old newspaper for extra warmth

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jetsetters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews