We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hostel I have been” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarin Inn
Ranked #346 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
“The worst hostel I have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First the hostel was hard to find and there no explanations on the website to get there.
Then, as the mosk is very close to the hostel we have been waken up at 5am by the broadcasting of the prayer.

Last but not least, the guy at the entrance was totally hostile and seemed irritated for every question we asked. He made us feel very uncomfortable and not welcomed.

No need to say that seeing his positive behaviour toward male customers in opposition with the one with girls (not only us but another british girl) felt unbearable.

If you are a woman, my only advice: run away !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azure490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    100
    47
    12
    20
See reviews for
9
105
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very hard to find the first time. The staff is pretty nice, but depending on the time it is. The room are clean but it sometimes smells bad. There's no real windows, so it's a bit noisy. The muezzin in the mosque will wake you up around 4.50/5am. In Khao San or Rambuttri, the life is cheap, very "western way", too. You're far from the skytrain or the subway, but you will find busses everywhere (slow 'cause of the traffic). The rooms aren't too expensive, but you should just go there for a night and try to bargain for the others. In short, it's not a bad place to stay in, but that's all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Pros: perfect location, budget-friendly, nice big room.
Cons: the bathroom is ridiculously small compared to the room, which is very big.

Anyway, it's ideal if you're on a backpacking trip in Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at the Amarin for 4 nights and it was ok, pros and cons like anywhere...

Cons - had to ask for toilet paper when we arrived in the room (surely this is a basic requirement when housekeeping make up the room for a new guest?). Housekeeping didnt come once during our stay...to be honest the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. It wasnt filthy but just all a bit worn out and grubby.

We were in the room right next to reception so it was a bit noisy and there was no natural light for the room. There was window that looks out onto the corridor (I.e. reception, so curtains needed to be constantly kept closed) and one window that faced a dark courtyard round the back (also not private). This, coupled with the light over the mirror not working and rather dim light bulbs (bathroom, especially) gives the place a bit of a dreary feel. Bathroom dark and really small but shower pressure was fine. Air con gave good temperature but smelt like damp.

Unless you're Muslim and need to be awakened at various intervals during the early hours of the morning then take earplugs! A loud man singing prayer wake up calls comes by everyday! I hated that man with the fire of a thousand suns by the end of our stay.

We had a visit from a cockroach. The hotel is down a very small alley which can be easy to miss, if you walk past KC Guesthouse on your left, you've walked too far.

The staff are nice enough and if youre just there to have somewhere to rest your head its fine and cheap. We were at a disadvantage as we were in hiding due to it being Songkran, so it probably wouldve felt less miserable if we hadnt been cooped up in there quite as long.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenfonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

To be honest I've read some horrendous reviews about the inn and i was worried at first that it would be a disastrous stay but it turned out alright, quite nicely, even.

I was traveling with three other friends, and we wanted to stay together in one room but it was extremely difficult book a room for four adults near Khaosan road about a month before our trip as most of the bigger rooms in most hostels and guesthouses in the area are already booked. At the last minute I decided to book Amarin Inn's room (via Booking.com) for 3 persons for lack of choice, and decided that we'll just figure out what to do when we get there.

The inn is quite difficult to find, especially since the address for some reason says that it's on Pra Athit road when it's actually along PRA SUMEN road, and without a GPS device and a skilled taxi driver, we would've been completely lost. It was conveniently close enough to walk to Khaosan Road however, but far enough so as to not be bothered by the noise, so that was good.

When we got there, the staff was quite accommodating, giving us tips and directions, and even writing down notes to show locals to help us find our way in case we get lost. They allowed the 4 of us to stay in Room 405 for 3 pax with a reasonable additional charge. (original price THB 2200 for 3 pax for 2 nights, we paid THB 2600 for 4 pax for 2 nights.) There was one hard double bed, one sofa bed, and sort of like a wicker recliner in the room, and we found the room adequate to our needs. The room had an extra comforter and pillow, two towels, a stove, a fridge, a TV, a large cabinet and a table. It was larger than we expected, had free wifi, and had air conditioning. The bathroom was very small and cramped though. There will be prayers coming out of a speaker that can be heard in the morning but it wasn't that much of a bother for us. We also almost got locked out of the inn when we came back to the inn at around 2 am, and had to wake up the owner who was sleeping at the reception to be let in (we felt bad for him though! He had been sleeping so soundly!).

All in all it was quite alright, good if you're on a backpacker's budget. I'd give it a 3.5 rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andionneceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fine. Nothing more. We had no issue for the price. However Ieft behind a fairly expensive rain jacket in the wardrobe and despite asking a Thai friend to call them for me they couldn't find it. I suppose another guest could have taken it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81Ali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Cleanliness is a matter of wish and hard work, not budget necessarily. I think this issue is a matter of luck by the looks of other reviews.When I arrived I saw ticks on the bed. When I smelled the pillows it smelled someone else's sweat and cigarettes. When I questioned it (nicely), the grumpy guy at reception did not deny the bed linen had not been changed but told me it would only be done the next day. No apology. I would have changed it myself but he did not bother to get up and get me the bed sheets. There is a mosk nearby and the prayers are loud and begin at 5 am. On the other hand the air conditioning was great and the wifi speedy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#296 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#203 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#348 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#715 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#317 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Inn

Property: Amarin Inn
Address: 96 Trok Surau Chakrapong, Pra Athit Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amarin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Bangkok, Amarin Inn is just a few minutes walk away from the vibrant energy of Khao Sarn Road and the Banglumpoo shopping area, but provides a clean, safe and friendly haven to relax and recuperate after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Amarin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing