We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad...”
Review of Amarin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amarin Inn
Ranked #320 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a lot of trouble finding this place but once we did we felt relaxed and welcome by the very friendly staff who later helped us in booking our bus journey up to chiang mai. The rooms weren't that great but the convenient location made it seem a lot better. The toilet was leaking after every flush and the room was very tight. The only other issue was the muslim call every now and then in the day and at around 4am; not a nice thing to wake up to.

We recommend this hostel if you are a backpacker on a budget in need of being in close proximity of Khao San Road but away from all the noise.

Room Tip: Find somewhere just off Khao San road, it will be much cheaper and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etjgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I kind of liked staying at this place because, although it's not super easy to find at first, it's quiet and relaxed. You can access wait to the livelier areas but wake up in a more chilled neighborhood (by Bangkok standards obviously). Rooms are clean and functional. So, yeah, basic but ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked the family room for several nights, which was like a one bedroom apartment. The bedroom had a double bed and the living room/kitchen area had a double bed futon. The kitchen was very minimally supplied so don't expect to cook a meal, but there is a kettle for the stove and fridge.
The bathroom is small and the toilet is really close to the wall, so it's difficult for tall people. There was hot water.
We found the staff to be okay. We were greeted by the staff every time we returned to the hotel.
The location is okay. We were able to find it, as there is a sign by the alley. The alley was lit and was not a worry.
The only noise was from the mosque next door, but we didn't find any issue with it.
We found Amarin inn to be okay for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I agree with the fact that the hotel is quite well located but you can find much better places to stay for the same location (and you will not have to walk by a dark and creepy small street).
Very unwelcoming service
Do not recommend at all, gives you a very bad feeling about Bangkok and Thailand in general

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler201355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First the hostel was hard to find and there no explanations on the website to get there.
Then, as the mosk is very close to the hostel we have been waken up at 5am by the broadcasting of the prayer.

Last but not least, the guy at the entrance was totally hostile and seemed irritated for every question we asked. He made us feel very uncomfortable and not welcomed.

No need to say that seeing his positive behaviour toward male customers in opposition with the one with girls (not only us but another british girl) felt unbearable.

If you are a woman, my only advice: run away !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azure490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very hard to find the first time. The staff is pretty nice, but depending on the time it is. The room are clean but it sometimes smells bad. There's no real windows, so it's a bit noisy. The muezzin in the mosque will wake you up around 4.50/5am. In Khao San or Rambuttri, the life is cheap, very "western way", too. You're far from the skytrain or the subway, but you will find busses everywhere (slow 'cause of the traffic). The rooms aren't too expensive, but you should just go there for a night and try to bargain for the others. In short, it's not a bad place to stay in, but that's all.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Pros: perfect location, budget-friendly, nice big room.
Cons: the bathroom is ridiculously small compared to the room, which is very big.

Anyway, it's ideal if you're on a backpacking trip in Thailand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#360 of 889 in Bangkok
423 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#380 of 889 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#661 of 889 in Bangkok
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#300 of 889 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#237 of 889 in Bangkok
212 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#635 of 889 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Inn

Address: 96 Trok Surau Chakrapong, Pra Athit Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £12 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amarin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Bangkok, Amarin Inn is just a few minutes walk away from the vibrant energy of Khao Sarn Road and the Banglumpoo shopping area, but provides a clean, safe and friendly haven to relax and recuperate after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Amarin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing