We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't consider going here: Bed bugs and a yelling manager!”
Review of Amarin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amarin Inn
Ranked #317 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't consider going here: Bed bugs and a yelling manager!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked three nights in advance at the Amarin Inn online. When we arrived at 4 in the afternoon there was no one at the reception. Everything was open and unattended, the book with all the personal details of the other guests was laying flipped open on the counter, the computer as well as the so called "office" were accessible to everyone.
We waited for half an hour until a young receptionist came and let us check in.

On the first sight the room on the first floor (right next to the reception) looked clean and ok, except there was a lamp not working (which, as we found out later, had already been complained about in an older review here) and the bathroom was really narrow and had no toilet paper. Also there was no wall on the head of the bed but just a window between us and the hallway, so people walking to the other rooms could not be overheard. But we were totally happy until then.

But at 5 in the morning of our first night we woke up, covered with itchy bites! Under the covers was a swarm of bed bugs crawling around!!! The sheets were covered with blood stains, because we've already had rolled over some bugs during our sleep and sqashed them. We immediately got up and called the manager, who was sleeping at the reception. His reaction to the bugs running all over the sheets was "Oh no, not again! Another custumer was just complaining about them upstairs!" He was really upset but not sorry in any way.

We said that we wanted to move out and get the money back that we had payed in advance for the upcoming two nights. He refused to pay us back, repeating in a raising voice that he does not do any refunds. He forced us to get upstairs and look at another empty room, threw away all the sheets and the mattress to prove there are no bed bugs. We calmly insisted on changing to another hotel, also repeated several times that bed bugs can happen and we don't blame him on them, but just want to get the money and search for another place.
He started yelling and slammed the doors (at five in the morning!) and wanted to throw us out. Just when another guest arrived to check in and witnessed the yelling, he agreed on paying us back the money we've payed in advance (not for half the night we just spent) and let us move out. But before that he forced us (yelling really aggressively) to make up the bed in the free room he just messed up himself. After we did that he gave us literally three minutes to pack our stuff and leave, standing next to us yelling and giving instructions.
At 5.30 in the morning we were sitting on the street, covered in bites with no apaology or help.

If you still think about maybe staying here, there's another part of the story: The day after that we came back because in the rush we left our sun hat in the room. The manager immediately recognized us and started yelling again, saying that "lost stuff is not my business". He said if we wanted to find out where the hat went, we should come back early in the morning and talk to the cleaning lady. After insisting on at least having a look in the room where the cleaning woman keeps her utensils, he got up of his chair and determinedly walked to a shelf behind us, grabbed the had and gave it to us. He knew it was laying there during the whole discussion. Then he made us write down and sign that we got the hat back and took a copy of our passports. We kindly thanked him for his help and left, suffering from the itchy bed bug bites for another whole week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    103
    47
    12
    20
See reviews for
9
111
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, having read reviews we thought this place would at the very least be clean. We've stayed in some realllyyy grotty places in our time. Good experiences! But this place was just not worth it.

Located in a hidden alley way. The owner wasn't nasty but just seriously miserable. I dare you to strike conversation with him. The rest of the staff were pleasant.

As for the important thing, the room itself was quite unclean, paint all peeling from inside of door. The overall feel was sticky and very unkempt.

If you're after a comfy bed, it wasn't bad. I like beds being firm. But beware, the bed is plastic with a think cotton sheet over it.

For those with mobility restrictions, please know that there are two medium flights of stairs to get up. No other way.

Probably wouldn't come again.

Only positive: location is near Khao San Road (if that's what you're looking for!).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjaleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I liked everything about the place - clean rooms, clean bathrooms abit small though, good bedding. The only bad thing about it is it is difficult to find the place. 7 mins walk from Khaosan with all its restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Some small tables just outside - nice to have a beer before going to bed.
I liked my time there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

stayed here for 2 nights was a small but nice room with en-suite. Bed was horrible to sleep in (not because it had bugs or anything nasty) as the mattress was made from leather or a similar material and did not have an elasticated sheet so was hot and sticky. other than that the room was fine and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: try and get a room without a leather mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garythebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I arrived at about 2am, owner was understandably half asleep and pretty friendly considering. The room was basic and clean. Very good value for money, I think paid about £8 GBP per night. Free wifi.

Really, really close to Khao San Road which is a must see in BKK.

There is a Muslim call to prayer very early in the morning, which is obviously no fault of the hotel but nevertheless is annoying.

DO NOT stay here if you intend to bring a girl/guy back! There is a big sign on the window forbidding it, and if you try and sneak them upstairs you will get a telling off :D. It's okay if you book a room for 2 people, as long as you turn up with that person when you check-in. If you check-in by yourself, you cannot let anybody else into your room later. I was seeing the same Thai girl for the duration of my stay, but because she wasn't present when I first checked in the owner did not let her in. We had to sit outside on a bench, eventually he felt sorry for her and let her stay the night :D

I think the reasons behind this are because there are instances of theft/trouble when foreigners bring back strangers to their room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldunn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in febuary, its quite difficult to find (down a narrow alleyway) but once you find it youll know where it is easliy...even after a few drinks....

easy check in, nice staff
room was basic but has great air con, essential in that heat
comfy bed
bathroom basic but for 2 nights perfectly acceptable
great location for khao san road and other streets, we liked the street behind khao san road for bars and food, less people hassling you etc
had an early flight so easy to get a taxi to the airport, cost is 400 baht which is great value as its 40 mins drive away

all in all, you wouldnt want to stay here for a week, but for a weekend trip where your hardly in your room, perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirtyrixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a night. Love the location as it was close to Khaosan Road and yet not noisy. Also many tourist attractions like Grand Palace and Wat Arun are only a short boat ride away. The rooms were basic but clean and in budget. As added bonus, Ali the guy at the reception, was really funny and helpful! Loved my stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#344 of 862 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#322 of 862 in Bangkok
415 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#208 of 862 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#333 of 862 in Bangkok
371 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#301 of 862 in Bangkok
303 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#584 of 862 in Bangkok
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Inn

Property: Amarin Inn
Address: 96 Trok Surau Chakrapong, Pra Athit Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amarin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Bangkok, Amarin Inn is just a few minutes walk away from the vibrant energy of Khao Sarn Road and the Banglumpoo shopping area, but provides a clean, safe and friendly haven to relax and recuperate after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amarin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing