We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel for two nights. It was not within walking distance of the city square, which meant that the location is a bit quieter. It was easy and affordable to get downtown, but it sometimes would have been nice to be a bit closer to the action. The rooms were very comfortable, the hotel is well maintained, and the service was great. We enjoyed the breakfast, particularly the made to order omelettes, pancakes, and waffles. Someone commented that there is no bar area or dinner, but we had drinks outside by the pool, and we ate dinner twice at the hotel. We thought the dinner was affordable and tasty. The only thing I wish the hotel had was a fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Mark98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    208
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
336
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June, 2013 and loved every minute of our visit. The peaceful rooms were beautifully decorated with intricate dark woodwork and a beautiful modern asian flair. We loved the separate toilet and bath areas too - I could have a shower and my wife could get ready in front of the mirror. Even the bed was amazing - the mattress was perfectly firm and comfortable and the linens were beautiful.

Breakfast was great and we had a fantastic late night dinner in the restaurant - it was around 10:00 at night - the staff were very helpful and the food was great.

The front desk staff were fantastic too. We had a lot of questions and all were happily answered. The free shuttle to the Night Market and Sunday Walking Street was very convenient as well.

Aruntara is seriously one of our favourite hotels anywhere in the world. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed this year March 2013. This hotel has in it the spirit of Chiang Mai : serenity, gentleness, respect and a friendliness. Its a small place but with no compromise on four star quality. Despite the fact that it does not have lot many storey levels, the elevator was excellent.
Beautiful wood work using a dark sturdy wood, probably walnut or teak wood. Rooms are decorated tastefully, supplied with all amenities. A very palatable natural smell is all around. I especially remember the greeting drink. I forgot to ask what it was but it was very smooth and aromatic.

A good medium range working breakfast with fresh fruits (we had water melons and pineapples the most). The tea served at breakfast was relatively light and aromatic. My wife used two tea bags to make it stronger while i liked the way it was. Breakfast is served in the back yard, which is connected with the lawn and the pool. Lawn is lush green with some big trees and lots of different herbs and flowers. There is a small open worship place at the end of it. The lawn stretches out to the river that flows just a few meters away from where the grass ends. A brief staircase goes down to the river.

My wife fell ill on the last day of our five days stay. Hotel staff took us to the nearest hospital and then brought us back. They were really concerned about her health. The whole experience of Chiang Mai was out of this world into an entirely new mythical one. And now that i am back home with all those memories distant and evanescent every passing day, Hotel Arun Tara has become for me the place where i would like to see myself in a good dream.

Sharmeen Shahid/Abdul Rehman

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Decent designed hotel with stylish room (but normal rooms don't have a balcony). Breakfast is good, but lunch is simple and dinner non-existent, also there is no bar / tea area for evening drinks what is a pity. Service at the restaurant is good and very friendly (nice manager and staff). Swimming pool water is , I have used it, but most guests were not attracted by the muddy water. Garden is nice and peaceful. Bed is too hard for Westerners who are used to a softer matrass. Bathroom is spacious (big bathtub) and sufficient amenities.The spa is nice but simple and I had twice a massage and that was good. First time they forget to offer a tea afterwards.

The staff at the front desk are NOT helpful - they have no clue of interesting attractions, opening times, direction or how long it takes to get anywhere. Also they don't help you to get a decent deal with the taxi driver (all taxi drivers try to rip you off all the time) what other hotel do. First time they called a taxi to go the silver street and not only the taxi was too expensive, but also the silvershops were stil closed, so waste of time and money! Also we had issues with the management about a late checkout for one room 3 hours (we booked 2 room for 4 nights, so don't think too much to ask for). We asked for some extension, they said we are fully booked and it was not possible and they did very difficult. Then I checked and there were over 4 rooms free. Then I confronted them with this and again they were very difficult and not even friendly anymore. It turned out the manager was not there and they were making their own decisions. Next morning the manager called us that it was not a problem. The front desk showed again their poor hospitality.

If management addresses (1) dinner and bar during evenings (give discounts to guest, happy hour, and promotions for visitors), (2) improve quality and hospitality of the front desk, and (3) clean up the muddy water in the pool this is a very good choice to stay in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I stayed in most simple room, that was decent. Best rooms are with balcony at the end (but more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan_de_Bont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice room and helpful reception.

Quite quiet and offer free bicycle rent and close to night bazaar

There's just one thing not so convinient for us family stayers. There's no wall between the tub and the bed, just a really thin and almost see-thru curtain. Also the tub and the shower is seperate by the walkway and the tub doesn't have a door to it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeonju, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

An excellent hotel just a half hours walk/10 minute tuk tuk from the main city. It's worth staying a short ride away from the hussle and bussle to get a truly relaxing experience.

The staff were friendly and attentive, even to the extent of opening every door for you. They were happy to give/find information for you and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The room was immaculate, which is what I expect of a hotel, but sadly isn't what I've experienced elsewhere in Thailand. The amenities were of a high quality and quantity, they're all also sold in the shop located in the lobby.

The grounds were idyllic and the breakfast varied and tasty. The only bad thing was the cost, unfortunately, it's a little pricy and obviously the surrounding area doesn't have much, so you will spend more on tuk tuks. But if you have the money, I strongly advise you to spend it there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Noi, the front desk manager, who answered my query from the day i made the booking thru checked-in and during our stay there has been excellent and very accomodating. She and E ( i hope i got the name right of the chief receptionist) have been so nice and went beyond their duties to make their guests happy and feel special. Just to cite an example, i asked where i could buy the banana fritter since i could not find it on the streets and much to my surprise and delight, a plate was ready for us after we finished our massage! Appreciate the gesture and it is the hotel staff that makes the difference. Our room was big, clean and very comfortable. wifi was weak though inside the room but strong once you step outside. Not much choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anmague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing