We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. It was backed onto the river and was on a quiet street. It was in a good location for getting around to the sights. The rooms were well maintained (although we found the beds a little hard). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ordered off a menu most days and the variety was great. Never left hungry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    208
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
107
338
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Aruntara was a wonderful. We were immediately greeted with Thai iced tea and welcomed to the property. Before choosing this hotel I had read many of the reviews. We did not experience any trouble with mosquitos even when eating at the hotel along the river front. It is true that the hotel is not in the immediate center, but it is only a short bike ride away. (And they provide free bicycles.) The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the night market each evening. A trip to the center of town cost 60 baht by Tuk Tuk, which is approximately $2 USD. Honestly, our only minor complaint was that the beds were really, really firm. But, if we truly cared we would have asked for the additional bed mat that I read they will provide at no charge. My vote, stay here. It was a tremendous value, beautiful, unique, wonderfully helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location. Enter your room through wooden double doors. Rooms are spacious, clean, and wonderfully decorated. The hotel grounds are lovely. Perfectly manicured lawn overlooking the peaceful river. The pool is located in the shade and the water is very cold – which must be refreshing to some, but I found it too cold. The breakfast is delicious. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in Feb 2013 after finding this place in Trip Advisor. The hotel has a nice feeling to it. The room we were in was beautiful - top floor corner with a nice view of the surrounding area. It was quiet (we had no issues with mosque, road noise, or chickens) and clean. The breakfast was also nice - there are not a lot of guests staying here and they custom cooked our meal (eggs with cheese or veggies) based on our selections.

The location was great too - we walked everywhere. There are many convenience stores nearby for snacks/water/ice cream. A few doors down (on the right as you face the hotel) there was a local laundry place that was inexpensive and fast.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs corner room facing the back of the hotel (river view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This little gem of a place, with only about 30 rooms, located about 2 km from downtown Chiang Mai is perfect if you are looking for an affordably luxurious hotel to escape from all the hustle and bustle of holiday traveling and shopping. Quiet - check. Beautifully designed - check. Pleasant helpful staff - check. Comfortable - check. It is as good as it looks in the photographs!

What did I like?
Comfortable beds in bright, airy, comfortable rooms. While the rooms are not particularly large, they were adequate for two. It comes with a day-bed which could sleep one more (kid perhaps) but having another person in the room would make it a bit cramp, what with luggage and all.

How quiet and welcoming it felt. Stepping into the hotel makes you feel like stepping into a different world - cool, clean, quiet, welcoming - accentuated by the slightly old-world design of the place. Think white wash walls, columns, mixed with wood panels, manicured lawns and hedges and tasteful decor.

Attentive and helpful staff. From the security staff outside, to the bell service and reception, and the breakfast crew. Responsive housekeeping that made up our rooms while we had breakfast. There was a complication with my on-line booking and the receptionist offered to call and speak to the main e-tailer who had supplied the booking to the hotel booking site I had used. And she solved the problem. Thank you Noi.

Breakfast. I'd read previous comments that the breakfast selection was limited. Ignore that comment. They provide a small but thoughtful selection for breakfast; something asian (rice, curries, porridge etc), something western (the usual suspects), something heavier and something lighter. Generally good quality, aside from some slightly tired looking salad greens (low season syndrome?). The best thing, with so few guest, the kitchen crew on hand will cook you your hot breakfast exactly the way you like it.

My suggestion for the hotel:
☞ perhaps teach kitchen crew to prepare something a little special, à la minute, such as eggs benedict. Perhaps have a small à la minute menu available.
☞ make available freshly 'squeezed' juices with a small selection of local fruits and vegetables.
☞ make available a small espresso machine for coffee lovers.
☞ your location on Google maps is WRONG!!!! Please fix it so people don't get lost.

Suggestions to make your stay even better:
1. Make sure you hire a motor bike (great fun - USD4) or a car ( longer journeys and rainy weather - USD20 for a compact like honda Jazz). At these prices, you can each hire one. They have parking on the door steps. The main tourist area is more than 2 km away.
2. If you care to walk around in the area, you will discover little noodle shops and bakeries and restaurants primarily serving the locals. Cheap authentic eats. You will also get to meet friendly locals.
3. Try different routes back to the hotel and get to see a different side of Chiang Mai, where locals work, live and play.
4. If you are finding your own way there, the google maps location is currently incorrect. It is about 400m before the bridge crossing the river to get to the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: The only room with views are the suites (only 2 or 3) which face the river. All other rooms face inw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravelformoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Obregon, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stay here for 3 nights, really like it! The installations are great! Complementary Breakfast it's really Good and you have an awesome river view (make sure to wear repellent), we really enjoy the Spa and it's more affordable than other places in Thailand. The Pool has a really good view. If you prefer ask for a softer bed. The Staff is really Cool and always will to help you in all your trip in Chiang Mai. They have free transport to the Night Market, free Bicycles (really helpful), free Wi fi.
TIP: Across the street there's a Laundry and it's much cheaper than any hotel (Just in case).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in a standard room and it was just beautiful. It looks exactly like the photos. Staff are really friendly. I found the free bicycle hire especially useful and rode to all the sights on it (you could probably only do this if you like exercising while you're on holidays. Otherwise, it can be considered quite a far ride). Food-wise there's not much in the immediate vicinity, but there is a huge market 10-15 minutes walk away with heaps of open-air restaurants. My massage in the hotel's spa was bliss - highly recommended. My only gripe is the behaviour of a Scandinavian employee who appears to be one of the managers. The first morning at breakfast, she was in the cafe first, smoking, despite this contravening Thai law and there being a no-smoking sign. I asked her if she could stop, so she did. The second morning, I'm sure she could see I had arrived before her, yet she lit up. The local staff seemed to defer to her authority, so didn't challenge her on this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing