We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in total, didn't make use of the spa or swimming pool. The location is set in the Muslim quarters which was nice and quiet and the provide a free shuttle service every night to the night markets, but if you rather walk its about 20/25 mins away. The breakfast was buffet style and had a good selection, the pancakes, waffles and any type of eggs (scrambled, fried, omelette) were all made to order, be aware of the Mosquitos whilst having breakfast overlooking the Ping river (but this is expected in Chiang Mai).The staff were really polite and helpful. Definitely will come back, overall a great stay

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank V_roks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here with grandparents. Rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast while not a huge array was perfect for everyone. Tip: choose one of the outdoor tables for breakfast next to river, very peaceful. Small pool big enough for young kids but not quite long enough for lap swimming. Staff very friendly & helpful. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dibbbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 6 nights at the hotel and we really found it was good value. This is a small hotel by the river. It is not in the centre but you can hire free bicicles and be in the centre in about 10 min. Chiang Mai is flat so cycling is totally recommendable.
Rooms are beautifully decorated and they are huge. Everything is clean and wifi is strong and stable in the rooms. You get some complimentary fruit at your arrival and departure, and you can also arrange for a taxi to pick you up for the airport. The rooms are well-equipped, including both shower and bath tub.
Staff is helpful and attentive. We requested a change room and there was no problem. The receptionist also helped us to make some phone bookings. Unfortunately, other staff does not have English skills, but they will ensure that when needed, you are able to speak with someone who can translate for you. I really appreciated the smile and greetings from every body at all times.
Chiang Mai is a beautiful city with lots of corners to discover and we felt the Aruntara hotel really added to the pleasant and memorable experience we had.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. It was backed onto the river and was on a quiet street. It was in a good location for getting around to the sights. The rooms were well maintained (although we found the beds a little hard). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ordered off a menu most days and the variety was great. Never left hungry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Aruntara was a wonderful. We were immediately greeted with Thai iced tea and welcomed to the property. Before choosing this hotel I had read many of the reviews. We did not experience any trouble with mosquitos even when eating at the hotel along the river front. It is true that the hotel is not in the immediate center, but it is only a short bike ride away. (And they provide free bicycles.) The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the night market each evening. A trip to the center of town cost 60 baht by Tuk Tuk, which is approximately $2 USD. Honestly, our only minor complaint was that the beds were really, really firm. But, if we truly cared we would have asked for the additional bed mat that I read they will provide at no charge. My vote, stay here. It was a tremendous value, beautiful, unique, wonderfully helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Emhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location. Enter your room through wooden double doors. Rooms are spacious, clean, and wonderfully decorated. The hotel grounds are lovely. Perfectly manicured lawn overlooking the peaceful river. The pool is located in the shade and the water is very cold – which must be refreshing to some, but I found it too cold. The breakfast is delicious. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in Feb 2013 after finding this place in Trip Advisor. The hotel has a nice feeling to it. The room we were in was beautiful - top floor corner with a nice view of the surrounding area. It was quiet (we had no issues with mosque, road noise, or chickens) and clean. The breakfast was also nice - there are not a lot of guests staying here and they custom cooked our meal (eggs with cheese or veggies) based on our selections.

The location was great too - we walked everywhere. There are many convenience stores nearby for snacks/water/ice cream. A few doors down (on the right as you face the hotel) there was a local laundry place that was inexpensive and fast.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs corner room facing the back of the hotel (river view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
996 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#39 of 392 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 392 in Chiang Mai
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £69 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing