We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
“A fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2009

After staying in many five star hotels on my trip to Thailand, Laos and Cambodia last year, the Aruntara Hotel was one of my favorites!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwell2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    208
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
336
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Was impressed from the moment we walked in. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern, spacious and quiet. There is a little distance from the main part of the city, but we actually welcomed it. If you're planning on going with a significant other, this is the place....would be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidk90013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I stayed at Aruntara for 4 nights in August with 3 friends. It was an amazing experience. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. They were great in suggesting places to see and arranging transportation for us. They also did quite a lot of translating to ensure that we had a positive experience. Breakfast was included with our stay and we were treated to everything from bacon and eggs to fresh fruit and cereal. The spa services were also amazing. The staff were experienced and professional and the facility was top knotch. The rooms were beautiful and very well maintained. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Aruntara Hotel for 5 nights in mid-September, and the experience was great. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely and the hotel itself is very stylish.

The one thing to note about the Aruntara is that it is a little ways from the Old City of Chiang Mai - about a 5 minute drive to the Tha Pae Gate. We rented a motorcycle for our stay and it was so easy to get around, but you would need to take a tuk-tuk or songtaew to get into town, as there isn't much within the immediate walking distance of the hotel in terms of restaurants, markets, etc.

Breakfast was included in our (ridiculously cheap) rate of $55 CAD per night, which we found on Hotels.ca. The food was great - fresh fruit plate, toast, coffee, freshly squeezed juice and a choice of either American or Asian style hot breakfast.

The pool is simple, but very attractive - a rectangular shape finished with sparkly black tiles and lined with trees and plants. There aren't a lot of areas to lounge by the pool, but we were the only people poolside each afternoon, likely because it was rainy season and the hotel wasn't full.

All in all this was a beautiful, brand new hotel that was not only incredibly affordable but also surpassed our expectations on every level. I would absolutely go back!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kolibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We were pleasantly suprised this hotel wasn't more well known. Room was clean with modern deco and a huge shower and decent sized bathroom, staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful even booking our Kantoke dinner and Elephant ride for us. We only had the Deluxe room which already exceeded our expectations so I can only imagine what the Elephant Suite would have been like. Restaurant food was delicious and we looked forward to breakfast each morning sitting by the river.
Great escape to a tranquil place after the hustle and bustle of the city which was only 10min away by tuk-tuk. Only complaint was fuzzy tv reception but its hardly a problem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAndDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, NL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

What a perfect place is this! We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our two and a half week trip to Thailand. The staff is wonderfull and extremely helpfull. The room (elephant suite) was big with a very large bathroom with a rainshower and seperate bath. One minor point of attention is the safebox. It was not connected to a wall, so not realy safe. But that is realy the only thing i can say about the room. Breakfast was a la carte during our stay. It had not a lot of variety, so if you stay more than 4 days it will start to bore you. But the view on the river and the very attentive staff makes up for this. The spa was also excellent.

The location is within walking distance of the center and night market, but a tuktuk is far more convient and cheap. So don't let the distance from the center keep you away from this little gem!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing