We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in every regard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
UAE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in every regard”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Great location on the river. Very well kept gardens. Rooms were tastefully decorated and well serviced. Staff were fabulous and did absolutely everything to make our stay an absolute delight. Great spa services.
Next time we'll try to stay in one of the White Elephant suites because of the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwd325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    207
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
334
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The rooms are spotless, modern and spacious. Very tastefully decorated. Nice quiet location though a bit from the center of the city. (just a short, cheap, tuk tuk ride away) Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Grounds are beautiful and tranquil. A nice breakfast included.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Set against Maepin river and detached from the adjacent noise.Savouring early breakfast by the river is an amazing experience.The rooms are well designed and extremely well maintained.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yujeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Down Under
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

2 weeks here and we felt like we were living in our own private Mansion. Only 5 minutes in tuk-tuk to the busy Old City (about 60 Baht) meant that we could do all the Tourist-y bits without the grime of living amongst it. The Hotel is absolutely serene, a feast for the eyes, and brilliantly located on the river, with huge sacred trees on the other shore. There are 3 sizes of rooms, deluxe ground floor have patio, upstairs more natural light, take your pick. Elephant (very spacious) and White Elephant suites (river views) are fabulous, worth the extra, ask for rate and availability. Pool is Italian glass mosaic, shallow, luxurious, perfect for laps and chilling in (can be a bit cool during Dry season). Restaurant area is open, breezy, stylish, with lovely staff, everyone. Food is affordable, mix of Thai and Western. Breakfasts are simple and coffee is really good :) There is a separate pavilion, The Tearoon, that was used for a small conference whilst we were there, hopefully it will be available to relax in next time. The overall feeling is like your own private residence, not at all big, impersonal, brash. Aruntara is a favourite venue for Chiang Mai socialite weddings by the way... We are returning in April, having searched around Chiang Mai for something comparable - not at this price! Oh, and make sure you get a massage from ?Mat? at the Spa - an ex-kick boxer, she will make you brand new!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistaKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We had a small work retreat at the Aruntara in Feb with about 41 adults and 12 children. We were there for 5 days and everyone had an amazing time, even the kids! The staff were beyond helpful and did extra things for us at every turn.

Most importantly---do not leave the hotel without getting a massage at the spa--it is first-rate! I have had many Thai massages before but none came close to the ones given by the women at the spa (ask for Noot, who used to be a Muay Thai Boxer and is really strong). I had 3 while I was there and was not disappointed by any of them. Several of our people had the aromatherapy and oil massage and absolutely loved it.

The food was excellent and their fresh squeezed juices every day were wonderful--they had a good variety of breakfast foods and always had a chef on hand to make fresh omelets and bacon for us.

The rooms (which I saw the majority of in the hotel since we took up almost the whole place) are all unique and beautiful. If you can, I highly recommend upgrading to an Elephant suite-you won't regret it! Room 211 is where I stayed and, by the end, didn't want to leave :-)

I have had multiple experiences with Chiang Mai hotels and usually go for the cheaper places--however, this was my best experience by far and if I'm ever back in Chiang Mai I will be staying at the Aruntara.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetreatOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed at the Aruntara for 6 nights during a tour of Thailand - by far the best hotel we stayed in. From the start the service was exceptional. We arrived at about 11pm after a very long journey and the staff were waiting with a welcome drink. The room exceeded expectations - of a standard you would expect in a five-star hotel. Throughout our stay the hotel was immaculate and the staff always happy to help.
The food at the restaurant was of a very high standard and reasonably priced. We enjoyed a good breakfast every morning and evening drinks over-looking the river were a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai.
The pool area and gardens were pristine and very tranquil.
Although the hotel is located slightly outside the city centre, the staff were always around to organise a tuk tuk for us, which took less than 10 minutes to the city centre and 5 minutes to the Night Bazaar. We felt that the quieter location of the hotel was actually a huge advantage.
We would definitely stay at the Aruntara again and could not recommend it highly enough. Superb value for money.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamGOEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

A boutique hotel with rooms that face into an inner courtyard. We got a great rate online and it was worth it. It's a little outside of town and walking to the night market is about 45 minutes to 1 hour...so you do rely on tuk tuks (but the staff easily helps you to get one). Free internet on communal laptop in the lobby (none in rooms/no hook-up or wireless). Didn't use spa. Restaurant has great food...is under-rated/utilized by guests, but we had some of the best soups there in all of Thailand--and their Thai sausage is great--better than some of the "recommended" restaurants in town. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. A great place for a honeymoon-or just to unwind.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank India_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,034 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
936 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing