We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I am currently lying in bed in my room at Aruntara. Makining use of the free wi-fi and generally marvelling at how well things can be done when people try.
The rooms are designed to make you feel as if you are experiencing something special. Flat screen TVs, a sliding door between bed and bath. Marble and stone everywhere.
What makes it even more special is the staff.. A common feature in Chiang Mai (see my Rimping Village review). They aim to please and seem proud of their ability to make you feel pampered and 'special'.
I am travelling for business and have found this hotel probably meets the needs of the business traveller better than Rimping Village, while somehow still being a great potential choice for holidaymakers. I arrived sweaty and very dirty after 2 weeks of walking through the jungle, but they still treated me like I had breezed off a private jet in my linen suit.
My only complaint so far is that room service is limited and ends at 10:30pm. Pretty petty quibble bearing in mind everything else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rastadaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

This hotel is outstanding. It is located about five minutes by cab/tuk-tuk from the downtown mayhem

The staff could not do any more for us. The room was great - bed a little hard, my only gripe.

Excellend free breakfast. Free internet (not common in Thailand)

Late check out was granted without question.

The best hotel I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyboyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I stayed in Chiang Mai for 4 nights, 2 at Aruntara, 2 at Le Meridien right by the night market. I wished that I stayed the whole time at Aruntara - not that there was anything wrong with Le Meridien, it's just that Aruntara blew them out of the water with their service and relaxing setting by the river, all for about 75AUD per night.
It's a bit of a walk to the night market but you can get a tuktuk for 80THB if you can't be bothered walking. Found the bed to be quite hard, but the whole experience was so nice that I it didn't bother me that much.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Great location on the river. Very well kept gardens. Rooms were tastefully decorated and well serviced. Staff were fabulous and did absolutely everything to make our stay an absolute delight. Great spa services.
Next time we'll try to stay in one of the White Elephant suites because of the balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwd325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The rooms are spotless, modern and spacious. Very tastefully decorated. Nice quiet location though a bit from the center of the city. (just a short, cheap, tuk tuk ride away) Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Grounds are beautiful and tranquil. A nice breakfast included.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Set against Maepin river and detached from the adjacent noise.Savouring early breakfast by the river is an amazing experience.The rooms are well designed and extremely well maintained.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank yujeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

2 weeks here and we felt like we were living in our own private Mansion. Only 5 minutes in tuk-tuk to the busy Old City (about 60 Baht) meant that we could do all the Tourist-y bits without the grime of living amongst it. The Hotel is absolutely serene, a feast for the eyes, and brilliantly located on the river, with huge sacred trees on the other shore. There are 3 sizes of rooms, deluxe ground floor have patio, upstairs more natural light, take your pick. Elephant (very spacious) and White Elephant suites (river views) are fabulous, worth the extra, ask for rate and availability. Pool is Italian glass mosaic, shallow, luxurious, perfect for laps and chilling in (can be a bit cool during Dry season). Restaurant area is open, breezy, stylish, with lovely staff, everyone. Food is affordable, mix of Thai and Western. Breakfasts are simple and coffee is really good :) There is a separate pavilion, The Tearoon, that was used for a small conference whilst we were there, hopefully it will be available to relax in next time. The overall feeling is like your own private residence, not at all big, impersonal, brash. Aruntara is a favourite venue for Chiang Mai socialite weddings by the way... We are returning in April, having searched around Chiang Mai for something comparable - not at this price! Oh, and make sure you get a massage from ?Mat? at the Spa - an ex-kick boxer, she will make you brand new!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistaKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 388 in Chiang Mai
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,191 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £52 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing