We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Glur Chiangmai(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Green Lodge(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Silver Place(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galare Guest House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
132
112
24
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
112
24
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiron bridgenight markethard boiled eggsping riversmall poolthai dishrimping supermarketthe breakfast areaarranging toursaway from the roadguest houselaundry servicefresh fruitdeluxe roomswould stay here againfried ricebusy road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the first week of August 2011.
The hotel is located just a five minute walk from the night market.
Rooms are very nice and clean.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, the same goes for the at the hotel located travel agency.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms in the new building are surely the best option.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Nice rooms with everything you need (a/c, wifi). Ideal location, just walk over the bridge and you are at the night bazar. Paid 500B/night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hjegberink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Very nice. We got a older room at first. Not so good but cheap. Noisy and claustrophobic for a couple and a kid. After first night we upgraded to a newer room. The new rooms were big and fresh. TV and refrigerator and a small balcony. Staff was very helpful and nice. They even stopped a minitaxi and get us a VERY good price. They have a lot of "trips" but never annoyed us or tried to convince us to take one of them, like other guesthouses in Chiang Mai seems to do.
The male generator seems to be a real energy-pack. U feel energized just by looking at him working in the garden and occasionally swimming in the coooooold pool with his wife.
Not everybody do, but I like it with the cold pool. Very refreshing in the heat!
Definitely coming back. All so friendly. All guests as well. Whole family loved it.
Is the manager an old MuayThai boxer? He seems to have very strong legs.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are newer/nicer but more expensive
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaulNaapanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

First of all if ur not the backpacker type avoid this hotel . I paid 500 bht which is really cheap but expect the usual things in these small guest houses such as stained bed sheets , mosquitos in room , small shower & really stained towels . The place itself has a lovely small pool & although they advertise b'fast it only consist of tea/cofee, toast and some water-melon/bananas. As i said for 500 baht its quite worth-it but some reviews here are misleading . Location is far from night market and center areas but i always enjoyed walking to reach them.....around 20/30 minute walk. If ur planning to staying here avoid the taxi arrangement by staff themselves . They charge me 200 baht for one way but i saw 100 baht changing hands of taxi driver & receptionist on my arrival!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baksy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Although right next to busy traffic, the rooms are on the behind ,surrounding a small garden and a small swimmingpool.., so a quiet place to stay in city center. It is informal and friendly with different types of backpackers, families and solo travellers.. Nice people all around you, but not crowded.. Tour easily arranged at the desk. I booked a 2 day trekking tour- so saved the cost of one night at the hotel. Actual price for the trip than only 50 dollars- incl of meals, transport- sleeping in village on straw mat, trekking, bamboraft, whitewater raft and elephant riding- of course everything simple in an old jeep- simple food etc.- if you want air.con busses and bigger trips with "services" pick a more expensive trip , - a question og preferences-- but I enjoyed it although for several days after my legs were killing me !!. So nice to befrindly treated without feeling like a VIP, as I did at the more expensive places I stayed

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews