We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touch”
Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside House
Ranked #48 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Not only was my room key waiting with the night watchman when I arrived late one evening, there was also a personal welcome note from Poom (a key staff member) attached. It has been so good to be staying at Riverside House again. It is like coming home. And the improvements to the facility continue. Even as I type, the owner is doing some running repairs in the dining room, and his wife is offering me some fresh fruit. That's all part of the service at my favourite guesthouse in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz_hentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and good location. For the price it would be hard to beat. Its not high end but its by far the nicest place ive stayed in for $20 a night for a double. Had problem with a tour booked elsewhere but staff helped fix problem even though it wasnt their tour. Would stay in again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewsa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at this B&B for 20 plus days in Dec.12/Jan/13. When I went off to Chiang Rai staff at Riverside kept my large bag in a lockup till my return. I would rate highly the location, quality of housekeeping and service at this property. Poom, a key deskperson at the property was unfailingly knowledgeable and helpful regarding local sites, options, tours, etc. She was especially pleasant always and had excellent English communications skills. The rooms ( I was in three over the period of time) were always very clean, breakfast was adequate, and the property itself was overall quiet as it is on the east side of the Ping river, adjacent to the Iron Bridge. It is an easy walk to the night market and the Andussan Market, and a nice 15-20 minutes walk to the town centre. Internet access was excellent in two rooms I was in 203 and 110. Rm 110 is a large beautiful room and if budget allows I would recommend this or other of the rooms at the rear of the property. It was a pleasure to stay at this well maintained property which is family owned and operated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phylltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Although we only had one night here it was a comfy sleep with a good breakfast. We had a dip in the pool which was refreshingly salty. Good value and great location with nice western bars nearby and night market within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed 2 times, one time in the deluxe room, 2nd time in the standard room. The deluxe rooms are more quiet and bigger and a little newer.
A littel outside the town, but with a basic breakfast, next to TAT and a very very friendly staff. Also the complex is secured at night. Realy not much to complain about, very good for its price and if you want to be a litte walk outside the centre really worth a stay.
I think the swimming pool is brand new, small but nice.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are a bit more axpensive but they're in the back of the garden, further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bram D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

All you need when on a budget. Very helpfull and friendly staff (Poom), clean rooms and bed linnen, beds too hard (and I do like a hard mattress), hot shower, breakfast is VERY basic, swimming pool is small and charming and very salty, great gardens, close to the best Khou Soi in Chiang Mai and to a brilliant 'western' supermarket. Will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellibelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed in the gust house for 2 nights... The room was very large clean and tidy.. The house booked all my tours for me at a very good price,,, the room price was also very good which included breakfast 900 baht a night.. The only thing that bothered me about this place was the noise of the neighbours surrounding the guest house let very loud banging fireworks off all night.. They were still going off at 0430.. This this was not the fault of the guesthouse owners,,,I just this was very selfish at that time of the morning. I know they use the fireworks to thank the spirit for the rain to grow the rice,, but there was no need for them to do it all through both nights.... Ne t time I will be booking away from the locals.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave sleep quality average is not because of the guest house,, as the rooms are pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Glur Chiangmai
Glur Chiangmai
#55 of 389 in Chiang Mai
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 784 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 784 in Chiang Mai
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#5 of 907 in Chiang Mai
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#6 of 784 in Chiang Mai
93 reviews
2.7 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#11 of 784 in Chiang Mai
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Address: 101 Chiang Mai - Lampoon Rd. | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £19 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing