We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a few amenities shy of Excellent.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside House
Ranked #42 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just a few amenities shy of Excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Riverside House probably couldn't be better situated for striking out into Chiang Mai.

It's just a few minutes stroll from both the night market and the old town and has an extensive supermarket and a 7-eleven about half a block away.

There aren't as many local food stalls around as I had hoped for when I booked the place...but they're there if you go looking.

The hotel itself has very spacious rooms and free breakfast which is...pretty limited but sufficient if you don't mind toast and jam and coffee etc.

There are really only three downsides to this place...and neither warrant dismissing the notion of booking here.

1. The front desk closes at 6pm. They give you a key for the side-access, but you have no access to safety-deposited items between 6pm and opening time the next morning...plus if you need anything after 6, you're more or less on your own. I guess this is really only a problem if you are a slightly paranoid individual who doesn't want to carry their valuables everywhere...and I likely wouldn't have even mentioned it as an issue if I hadn't been traveling with my wife. Fortunately for her, she has a pack-mule to carry everything around for her O_o.

2. The guest house is expanding and, like many hotel locations around Thailand in this, the off season, it is under construction. Expect some noise during daylight hours until October 2014.

3. The showers. Now, I think of myself as a fairly seasoned traveler who has spent a fair amount of time in this part of the world over the last 10 years and so I do understand just how lucky I am to a) get a shower at all and b) get a hot shower. That said...compared to other Thai hotels I've stayed in (and the expectations gleaned from those experiences) i was unimpressed. I'm pretty sure that the shower heater contraption on the wall, combined with the showerhead itself contain more technology between the two of them than the entirety of the Voyager space craft (it certainly seemed to contain more buttons, knobs, levers and dials). That said, it still only offers you a choice between adequate pressure and adequate heat. The shower head has two buttons and a dial on it. Don't touch them. Any of them. You won't like the result. And lastly, I have resigned myself to the fact that showering in southeast Asia is a whole-room experience...wet floors and toilet seats are inevitable no matter what you do, but this hotel features a calf-length floral print shower curtain which seems, despite its ostensible purpose, to just make matters worse...likely because it was designed for a bathtub (this may have only been my room).

That said...the above negatives are certainly first-world problems, purely cosmetic and in no way detracted from my ability to enjoy my stay here. I would definitely book here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    102
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
52
92
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emu Plains, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just out of town across the Iron Bridge over the Ping River this place is easy to miss.
....but it's certainly worthwhile to find.
It has a lovely little pool and nice pool area, good-sized rooms, 24 hour security, a simple but ample buffet breakfast, and it's only a short walk into town.
We were here 3 nights and loved it.
Bus Bar just across the river on the way to the Aussie Sports Bar and the Night Market.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipL1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just across the Iron Bridge it was about 10 minutes to walk to night market or 20 minutes to Thaphae Gate. Lovely pool, nice simple breakfast and very comfortable room - this place had all we needed for our 3 night stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love this place! The manageress and the senior staff once again have greeted me with such genuine friendliness. And there are yet more improvements happening. The earthquake in May meant one whole section of accommodation had to be demolished but they are rebuilding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz_hentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple nights here. Our room was with swimming pool view was ok. However in the room and in the hotel there are many ants, also a few cockrouches. Breakfast was not special, there was only toast with jam. Our last night, after the trekking, we got a different room. This room was really nice, very big and new, soft bed, but cold shower. WiFi did work.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arletta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent two days at the Riverside House. Our room was spacious and clean. Our kids enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was light- which was perfect for us! Well located for the night market. And the ladies at the front desk were incredibly helpful. They called to find out when spas opened, and helped us figure out our schedule for the day. Reserved transportation for us to the Maesa Elephant Camp. Offered to reserve elephant rides. Arranged transportation to the airport. Provided us loaner umbrellas for the day. Kept our groups very complicated key and room situation straight. Pleasant to the end! Couldn't beat the prices, either!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are spacious and have a mini-fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTPDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Riverside House is a really nice place to stay in convenient distance to chiang mai night markets (5min by walking) and the city centre (10min by walking). The staff was always very friendly and helpful and can organize everything for you in the flick of an eye.
Breakfast is included which was a nice bonus (tea and coffee, toast, jam, butter and fruits).
The room was spacious and clean. The pool area was nice and quiet away from the street - ideal for relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Ing Ping
Baan Ing Ping
#62 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#54 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#61 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#4 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Property: Riverside House
Address: 101 Chiang Mai - Lampoon Rd. | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing