We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay”
Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside House
Ranked #47 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South west WA
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The staff here are so accommodating, we booked numerous trips with them and had prompt pick up, and on return the staff had time to chat and enquire about one's day. The girls who do the rooms are excellent and the brekky provided always fresh and tasteful. The addition of a cook to do meals up to 5pm is fantastic and all meals delight the taste buds for a very reasonable cost. I could re-iterate all below but those who have stayed here know the value of this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    103
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
93
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Riverside House is by far my guesthouse of choice in Chiangmai. For the last 9 years I have travelled to Chiangmai on an average of twice per year and now don't bother to look for other accommodation. This family run guesthouse is quiet and clean. Although not top of the market it is very economical and value for money. What sells it for me is the genuine friendliness, helpfulness and good humour of the staff. The manageress goes out of her way to help guests and I get the impression that running this guesthouse is not only a business but a delight to her. The guesthouse is constatnly being upgraded and in the last few months a swimming pool has been added. During my stay this time internet routers have been installed so now the free wireless internet service is available in all rooms. More power outlets have been added to the breakfast area due to increased demand of guests using their own laptops. Whenever I had a problem with the room (eg a blown light bulb) the staff were quick and efficient in solving the problem. Now, I'm off to make my booking for the next visit ...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz_hentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Our room was very dirty, especially the bed. The sheets, pillow cases and pillows were absolutely filthy ! We just couln'd sleep on this bed, we had never seen something so bad. So we asked the night staff for fresh sheets, but nobody was able to provide us with other sheets ! We had to call the owner who lives on site, this lady was extremely rude and not willing at all to help us to sleep on a decent bed. She put the blam on the houseman without any apologies, she gave us two sheets and one pillow which were supposed to be fresh but were actually as filthy as the others !
The next day we were hoping for a good housekeeping service, but we were very disappointed to see that the dirty sheets we had left on the floor were still there when we came back to our room !
Overall our experience is this hotel was terrible : very noisy, we could hear all the conversations next door and upstairs, noisy street, very poor customer service. On top of all the tour desk booked us a terrific transfer by bus to the lao border : instead of a bus, we had a minivan without enough seats for all the passengers with their backpacks, we travelled 7hours in terrible conditions, without a proper seat for each, all packed on the others and seating between the backpacks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroomeShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.B.Bangi, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Riverside House is really a good place to stay. I would recommend it to all. ROOM - everyhing is very clean, air-conditioned, equipped with TV and telephone. Guests have to remove their shoes, so that's good. PRICE - the room rates are reasonable and value for money. There are a few types of room that you can choose. Breakfast was provided from 7.00am - 10.00am. PLACE - the rooms are located behind the office, thus away from the noise coming from the street. The hotel has good location in front of the Ping river and next to the Tourism Authority office. There are many restaurants & sundry shops nearby. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk to Chiang Mai city and 15 minutes walk to the mosque and muslim restaurants. You can walk or take the local taxi or took-took to go anywhere you like within the city. After a walk, guests can relax at the little garden and the swimming pool (next to the breakfast area). SERVICE - is excellent !!! The staff were friendly and assisted me on directions, tour bookings, Khantoke dinner, etc. I arranged for airport transfer to/fro, and they were very punctual. Wi-fi was available free-of-charge. TOUR - I enjoyed the group tours & dinner arranged by the hotel very much !!! .. I went to many nice places and learned about the history, culture and religion of Thailand. I wish to say special thank you to Mr Noi, Nok and Thor for making my holiday so enjoyable. I hope to come here again in future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darulnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at Riverside for a week in December 2010. It was the best week of our 3-week vacation.
Mr Noi's family and staff of Riverside House were amazingly helpful and very friendly. They helped us book tours and looked after us very well.
The place is lovely (albeit the mozzies which is a feature all over Thailand), serene and very well maintained. Although it's just off the main road, the rooms are quiet and peaceful and they are tucked away behind the office and driveway which form the 'shopfront' of the guest house. It's a hidden treasure! Just gazing at the garden and pool area gives one a sense of calm and tranquility. It has a homey feel and we felt really comfortable.

The rooms are of good size, airconditioned and very clean with shiny floorboards (we had to remove our shoes in the room which was a good thing). The only problem we had was the awkward position of the shower in our room which was inches from the wall. They provide 2 complimentary bottles of water in the room daily and there's a water cooler at the breakfast area which is available 24 hours. Would be nice if they also provide hot water or kettle in the room for a cup of tea.
Overall it was a great place to stay. But I think what would bring us back is the wonderful people who run it! They make a 3-star feel like a 5!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac-theRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We booked three nights at Riverside House and ended up staying for 8. We can't think of one bad thing to say about this accommodation...

The staff were great, really helpful and friendly. Expescially the night security guard who is the smilest person we have ever met. We a couple of the eight days we stayed here just relaxing by the pool and the staff were always cleaning the property. The reception staff spoke great english and were very knowledgeable about the local area and tours. One day we wanted to visit Tiger Kingdom and they organised a scooter to dropped at the hotel for us to rent.

Breakfast was delicious and complimentary. The rooms were spacious and spotless, with great air conditioning. There is free wifi in the dining area which you can just about get near the pool, although it becomes a bit temperamental, alternatively you can pay to use a computer in the lobby.

Its location is great because it is a 5 minute walk away from the night bazaar, or a 20 minute walk to the city centre meaning at night it is very quiet.

We would recommend Riverside House to anyone and everyone visiting Chiang Mai, and can't wait to come back ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniMachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

While transitioning to Thailand, the Riverside became our first home in Thailand. We stayed in the deluxe rooms in the back so they were quite large, very nice and quiet. The whole facility was always very clean. There is a brand new pool which is great but there is a big tree covering it so it mostly in the shade. I’m sure that is great during the hot season but in October the water was quite brisk. Morning breakfast was a delight. The free food is fruit, toast, coffee or tea. They do offer great smoothies, espresso coffees, eggs and other items for very reasonable prices. If you want to do some tours the girls up front are great. I’ve checked around since we’ve left there and there prices are hard to beat. I’ll use them when we have friends come just because they were friendly and helpful. Wifi is available at good speeds in the breakfast area and around the pool. Not available in the rooms in the back. Right on the river which is nice and only a 5 minute walk to the famous night bazaar. All in a great guest house that made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekerofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
2.7 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
1.0 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#59 of 747 in Chiang Mai
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#55 of 747 in Chiang Mai
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glur Chiangmai
Glur Chiangmai
#59 of 383 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 840 in Chiang Mai
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Property: Riverside House
Address: 101 Chiang Mai - Lampoon Rd. | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing