We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not live up to the LP review”
Review of Safe House Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safe House Court
Ranked #492 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Does not live up to the LP review”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We chose this place because of the stunning review in Lonely Planet, but the internet was very poor and staff at reception unhelpful, bordering on rude. The kitchen/eating area was different - the staff were very nice and the food excellent. Our room was ok but a poor layout and they had lights on outside all the time, which made it very bright and hard to sleep sometimes. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    19
    18
    4
See reviews for
3
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Good location, food not bad. Room upstairs and close to road (205) v noisy. Staff are lazy and unhelpful. When we asked where we could rent a bike they say down the road to the right. A laundry, same directions even though there were places across the street! We wanted a bottle of water thge guy says go to 7-11 even though the fridge was right there, closed unfortunately...what a load. So many better places to go, try Diva guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I don't usually write reviews but the staff at this hotel are beyond rude. A simple request was greeted with a sigh, grunt or a wave of the hand. Never in Thailand have I experienced such unhelpful and hostile behaviour! Anyone would think they didn't want your business and I would recommend anyone thinking of staying here to go elsewhere. The beds are hard and our room was so close to the road it was very noisy at night. In the land of a thousand smiles there was not one here!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The guesthouse was very basic but very clean. Hot water shower was a plus. A little more on the expensive side but worth it for safety. They were open very early and were had no problems holding onto your bags. As a solo female traveller I felt very safe.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place was highly recommended by lonely planet so thought it would be a good stay. Overpriced at 550 baht for a room with a terrible bed and near the street. The location is a good hike to the city center. When we checked in at 11am she said our room would be ready in 2 hours so we had a meal in their restaurant. The food was average at best and then we had to nag the office about getting the key when they saw us in the restaurant waiting on them. The front desk people are extremely unhelpful and rude and also wanted to charge 10 baht a minute for a local phone
call. Also the wifi was down
for they said it was broken. Probably has been for months.You have to tell them if you want your room cleaned instead of them just cleaning the room. What a concept. Find a better place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our stay here was quite pleasant in this guest house inside the wall. The first night there were no rooms available with air conditioning, but we made do with a fan. I would suggest specifying ac.the rooms are quite basic, clean and adequate and very reasonably priced. The staff were always pleasant and accommodating although the language gap made some conversations mutually humorous. The bar next door was fun with a minimum, selection of fare but a great place to relax after a day of trekking etc. the were also quite friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its Lonely Planet status (which has never failed us before) but I wish we'd never come. On arrival, when asking for a room the receptionist was extremely rude, and ignored us. When we asked again she sighed and shouted for someone else to show us a room. The room looked adequate, so we accepted, but when we went to have a shower, the water came out black then turned off completely. I went down to tell the receptionist where I was met with the same attitude as before. When I asked if we could change rooms to a fan with a working shower, she laughed in my face and told me that I should've asked for those 'specific requirements' when wanting a room!!!! The bed was also rock hard. The only reason we stayed was because we would've been charged for one night, even if we'd left (at $17 as well!!!).
It's such a shame that this place has gone so downhill since it received lonely planet status, and we will not be returning. Please take your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flozzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#230 of 381 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#103 of 381 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#104 of 381 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Uncle Bear's Home
Uncle Bear's Home
#244 of 736 in Chiang Mai
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sculpture Hostel
The Sculpture Hostel
#366 of 826 in Chiang Mai
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#206 of 736 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safe House Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safe House Court

Property: Safe House Court
Address: 178 Ratchapakhinai rd., Sriphum Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Safe House Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Safe House Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing