We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Safe House Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safe House Court
Ranked #509 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The place is good enough and clean. Bed and bathroom are basic and simple. Cleaning is daily. Free WiFi is available. The food in the restaurant is good, diverse and low priced. The terrace is in the cool shade of a large tree. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jack2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Safe House Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean rooms, although old furniture Balcony in third floor overlooking little houses and temples. Working old aircon.
Situated behind Thapae Gate, close to streetfood markets and several temples. Restaurant makes good ricesoups.
Unfriendly staff with bad English skills. Because my boyfriend suffered from food poisoining, we ended up getting picked up by my family living close to chiangmai . When asking for half a refund (we used the room for about 3hrs and there were heaps of other rooms available for other travellers, so they did not lose money by having us a room booked) we did not receive any.
Really no idea why lonely planet recommends this place. Just around the corner are way better guesthouses, worth the equal amount of money (550baht per night)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina_B2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this guesthouse for a couple of nights... It is located to the old town which is quite nice and handy to go around to the main attractions... However the room itself was dirty.. The mattress was hard as a rock... The airco was noisy.. And the sewage was rather smelly...last but not least the owners did not really care much...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I live in Thailand and stayed at this guest house 3 times before I discovered Agoda! It's a great location, within walking distance to the Sunday night market as well as a few pubs, pharmacies, a bottle shop, restaurants & a 7-11 in the other direction.
I would book and stay in an aircon room (the machine would be circa 1982) and if you paid extra, you would receive the remote control to operate. The rooms are very, very small, with a caged 'balcony' with no view. The showers were terrible & needed updating.
The staff however, spoke excellent English and can organise any tour you desire.
I have found many preferable lodgings through online booking sites, and will never stay here again, considering there is much better value out there.

Room Tip: Any room near the reception desk will be noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H00chie_Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We chose this place because of the stunning review in Lonely Planet, but the internet was very poor and staff at reception unhelpful, bordering on rude. The kitchen/eating area was different - the staff were very nice and the food excellent. Our room was ok but a poor layout and they had lights on outside all the time, which made it very bright and hard to sleep sometimes. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Good location, food not bad. Room upstairs and close to road (205) v noisy. Staff are lazy and unhelpful. When we asked where we could rent a bike they say down the road to the right. A laundry, same directions even though there were places across the street! We wanted a bottle of water thge guy says go to 7-11 even though the fridge was right there, closed unfortunately...what a load. So many better places to go, try Diva guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I don't usually write reviews but the staff at this hotel are beyond rude. A simple request was greeted with a sigh, grunt or a wave of the hand. Never in Thailand have I experienced such unhelpful and hostile behaviour! Anyone would think they didn't want your business and I would recommend anyone thinking of staying here to go elsewhere. The beds are hard and our room was so close to the road it was very noisy at night. In the land of a thousand smiles there was not one here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#220 of 777 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarind Village
Tamarind Village
#16 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safe House Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safe House Court

Address: 178 Ratchapakhinai rd., Sriphum Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £10 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Safe House Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safe House Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing