We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous evening! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rachamankha

The Rachamankha
Ranked #183 of 2,029 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$47
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a fabulous evening! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner last night and I cannot fault one thing. Everything from the food to tableware, service and decor were spot on. We sat in a wonderfully atmospheric courtyard and were treated very well. Probably the best night and food so far in Chiang Mai. By the end of the night we joined another group having dinner and had a sing along which just put the icing on the cake for us. Would truly recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Bracken50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    19
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best thing in Chiang Mai! An oasis of serenity ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel and restaurant. We didn't stay .... But ate in restaurant - in the courtyard. Delightful ambience, traditional lute player and full moon. It's a smart place, worth booking - and I thought the food was excellent .... Flavoursome, rather than Thai spicy. For the standard, it was great value at £65 for two, inc a bottle of Sauvignon blanc. No-where else in the world could you match that! If you arrive by car there is ample parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience but very disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Beautifully designed hotel and restaurant but on our visit the food was very tasteless, especially as we chose Thai food. The fried mushroom salad had no mushrooms. The Thai curries lacked any hint of spices, the lamb was very tough and the rice was tepid. We complained and were given a small bowl of chilli powder! This is unacceptable when better food can be obtained in the street market outside.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovigo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at this nice restaurant. We sat in a lovely courtyard and during dinner a musician played a mellow music. The food was good and not expensive. It was a nice surprise. It is an ideal place for a romantic dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam77Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor dining and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Booked here for a nice meal in Chiang Mai and were not disappointed. Beautiful outside space, very romantic, great service, delicious food, and a nice bottle of reasonably priced Sancerre. Can't go wrong. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rachamankha also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing